We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pheasant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pheasant Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
March, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Having already booked a night at the Pheasant Inn through Secret Escapes I was quite excited to read the favourable review in the Daily Telegraph. We received a pleasant reception on arrival and the room was well appointed. The evening meal however was disappointingly average - The place was packed the service was slow and the fishcakes in particular were rather like cardboard. We had paid in advance for the meal and morning breakfast but my wife wasn't well and she had to forgo both meals. I did order a room service breakfast for my wife for which I had to pay extra. While I appreciate that there is a service charge for room service, as I had already paid for a meal that was not taken I did not think this act aided customer relations! I don't think we will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    153
    48
    25
    14
See reviews for
97
274
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Went to the Pheasant Inn for a 2 night break and it was really lovely. The staff could'nt have been more helpful; they were friendly and the service was excellent. Started our first day off with a fantastic breakfast great Eggs Benedict not something I would prepare at home so a real treat.
The meal in the Fell Resaurant was stunning, the chef knows his stuff..the meat was excellent and we should know as hubby's a butcher! The Bistro is good too but less formal.The rooms are comfy cosy ie not the biggest but spotlessly clean.
It took a little while to adjust to the peace and quiet as the hotel is off the beaten track... once we did we didn' want to leave.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Well worth a visit. Really enjoyed the Corby beer. Great decor, made to feel very welcome.Didn't have a chance to eat, but will certainly be returning.

Well worth a visit. Really enjoyed the Corby beer. Great decor, made to feel very welcome.Didn't have a chance to eat, but will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon1876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

This quirky Lakeland hotel is far superior than it's 3star rating. A fine dining restaurant, quiet lounge and a less formal bistro. All amazing food. The bar is full of character and characters! Fantastic place. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose-anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Spent 3 days at the Pheasant this week and it was fabulous. We booked through Secret Escapes, our first and definitely not last booking with them.
The Pheasant is a 17th century Inn and is absolutely charming. If you like ultra modern it is not for you.
The rooms are very comfortable and welcoming. Bathrooms do have every mod con. There is a formal dining room, but we were booked into the Bistro (which has not been open long) and it was great. The food is fantastic, good choices and freshly cooked. The breakfasts were the best choices I have had in an english hotel. The Staff are friendly, helpful with nothing being too much trouble. You do need a car to stay here as it is not in the centre of Bassenthwaite village and is about 6/7 miles from Keswick.
Drinks in the bar were no dearer than pub prices. Would definitely recommend it and will be going back given the opportunity.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loverofAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stocksfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Spent one night with Dinner, Bed & Breakfast for our 40th Wedding Anniversary as this was our honeymoon hotel 40 years ago. Food was outstanding and the superior rooom was, to say the least, very comfortable, spacious, beautifully decorated and clean. Top class bathroom, towels and bath products etc. Loads of Freeview channels unlike some inns who just have the usual 4 or 5. Very old fashioned inn with great service and superb bar, bistro and dining room. It does cost however and you need to be prepared to pay e.g £240 for one night double + extras (drinks and anything ordered over £35 at dinner). Excellent stay for a special occasion but must cost a fortune over a weekend or a full week's holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

This is easily the best lunch in the Keswick area. I have not stayed in the hotel or eaten on an evening, so can't comment on that, but have eaten lunch on several occasions and it is consistently good. If it is warm, the garden is a lovely setting to eat. If not, the bar is the sort you rarely find these days, with an authentic feel. It is small though, with small tables, but now there is a more modern and airy bistro room (same menu). It is quite an upmarket place, with a calm and rural feel. Most recently we enjoyed excellent queenie scallops in gruyere sauce, fish cakes, linguini with crab and chilli. Twice cooked thick chips. Our daughter enjoyed plaice gujons and chips from children's menu. Fresh, more imaginative than bog standard pub menus, but without trying too hard to be 'modern'. They could maybe showcase more Cumbrian produce as do similar places of this kind in Cumbria ( George and Dragon, Clifton and Drunken Duck are comparable in a if you like those you will like this sort of way). We always enjoy it here though.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fennelseed43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
1.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,568 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
2.3 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
497 reviews
3.6 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
511 reviews
8.4 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Inn

Property: The Pheasant Inn
Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA13 9YE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pheasant Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to the 17th century, this former haunt of the famous huntsman John Peel has been entertaining guests for the past 300 years in the traditional Cumbrian manner with stunning food and refreshment and good old fashioned values. With an abundance of unique period atmosphere and a sense of timelessness with the clever mix of luxurious, contemporary comforts provides The Pheasant a well deserved national and International reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Bassenthwaite
The Pheasant Inn Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing