We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality Good...Value Not So”
Review of The Pheasant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pheasant Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quality Good...Value Not So”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Was staying nearby so walked to the Pheasant Inn for a meal in the Bistro with the family. Lovely Old Pub...very cosy....nice bar area. The bistro was quite busy for a Monday Night. The menu choice is not massive but Ok.....with a few specials. The food we ordered was good.....can't knock the quality and the price is on the expensive side but not too bad. However, the desserts are overpriced in my opinion and the quantity very meagre. The big rip off is the cheese board, I thought at £9 my wife & I would share it as at that price thought it would be quite a large helping....I couldn't believe the helping....5 crackers & 2 small pieces of cheese with a little garnish. Terrible. I would certainly have drink there as it's a very nice quaint pub but certainly won't eat there again.
2 Adults & 2 Children.....4 Main Cources, 1 Dessert & 1 Cheeseboard, 4 Drinks, nearly £100.....very expensive for what we had. Not surprisingly, no families dining...apart for us

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    155
    48
    26
    15
See reviews for
99
281
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We spent one night here to break our journey and the experience did not disappoint. The facilities in the room were excellent, including a cafetiere to make real coffee and fluffy bathrobes, and it was a good size. We enjoyed a couple of beers in the bar before a lovely meal in the Bistro where the staff were happy to make adjustments to the menu to accommodate our 13 year old daughter. Breakfast next morning was absolutely superb - fresh fruit including fresh figs, porridge and smoked salmon with scrambled eggs and a large pot of tea and toast - wonderful! The Inn hasn't changed that much in the 12 years since we last visited, apart from the Bistro which offers less formal dining. We definitely won't leave it another 12 years before we return!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank earthqueen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

To celebrate a milestone event of a friend, we travelled from 4 points of the compass to Bassenthwaite, and stayed at Riggs Cottage (see seperate review).

The week commenced with what can only be described as a lovely, no in fact beautiful meal at The Pheasant Inn. A pre booked meal away from the restaurant, with pre dinner drinks, attentive staff, made for a great evening.

Things to consider, should you go all out to celebrate a significant event, if you wanted to top your meal with a bottle of Port, the mark up is £55.00 a bottle, we ordered at the table, and should have asked. We expected perhaps £20 - £25 at most. The Cheese board at £10.00 a go is scant to say the least. However on balance - great meal.

Where the Pheasant Inn did not meet our expectations. As a party of 8, away for a weeks walking we needed some where local, friendly, and welcoming.

Having come down from the hills a couple of times, to the Inn early evening we were told the pub didn't open for 20 minutes or half an hour, yet staff were behind the bar.

In recognising opening hours, staffing and the current 'austere' times - simply saying 'relax, take a seat, what would you like' would have made a significant difference.

Albeit it has 'The Pheasant Rambler' as strap line on the internet, I am not convinced it's a walkers pub, just so your aware...

The Embleton Spa Hotel however in stark contrast, a little further down the A66, was most welcoming when quenching your thirst.

All said and done The Pheasant Inn is 'gastro' and I would highly recommend it for a celebration meal.

The rating is based on the meal and evening, and not the ramblers 'pub' expectation.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klick4nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We booked a 2 night stay at The Pheasant Inn in November 2012 as we were visiting the Lake District for a friend's wedding. The reviews that we read online sounded very positive and since many of the other hotels in the area were a similar price, we decided to book a Classic double room for the weekend. Unfortunately, there were a number of issues which arose during our stay that were
a) rather disappointing and
b) not what we expected considering the amount of money we had paid!
Upon arrival, we were shown to one of the rooms in an outbuilding at the back of the hotel. The first thing to notice was the strong smell of Wet Dog. I had seen on the website that the hotel was a dog friendly hotel, however, there were actually only 2 rooms that allowed dogs - we had been placed in one of them. The management had neglected to notify us of this upon booking, and had we known earlier, we may well have decided to book alternative accommodation. When this was explained to the staff on reception, we were told that the hotel was fully booked that night, but they would send housekeeping round later that evening to “see what they could sort out”. Upon our return from dinner, we found that the plug in air freshener had been turned up to the max - a very temporary solution. I had anticipated that mobile phone signal was likely to be an issue in the middle of the Lake District, however I had expected that the hotel would have Wi-Fi for the guests to use. It transpired that Wi-Fi was available in the main building but not in the outbuilding where our room was situated. This proved extremely inconvenient when trying to make travel arrangements for the wedding the following day, as we had so leave the room and sit in the bar in order to make calls or send text messages. A little more thought on the part of the hotel could have easily sorted this out. Upon our return to the hotel after the wedding on the Saturday, we were disappointed to find that the room had not been cleaned particularly well. Only a few of the dirty towels had been replaced, there were no new toiletries and the water glasses from the bathroom were not cleaned or replaced. We were also rather alarmed to find that the bedroom window had been left wide open by the housekeeping staff. Since it was a ground floor room, it would have been extremely easy for any passer-by to get in and steal our valuables! Other points about the room - The flask of milk on the tea and coffee tray smelled most suspicious, if not off, and I most definitely would not have put it in any tea or coffee made! Although the room was generally clean-ish, there was a significant amount of dust and cobwebs behind the mirror and in the bathroom. The 'do not disturb' sign was nowhere to be seen, and we had to resort to jamming the doorstop behind the door to prevent the housekeeping staff from walking in on us when we were getting ready to go to the wedding.
We encountered a number of issues at breakfast time. My partner is on a gluten-free diet and we had notified the hotel of this well in advance on the booking request form. Unfortunately, upon requesting gluten free toast, the waitress looked puzzled said that she would 'have to see what she could find' in the back. On the first morning this was not a problem. On the second, we were told that there was none left and when asked what they could offer as a replacement we were told there wasn't really anything! Although the food was nice, there seemed to be many unexplained missing items - an English muffin instead of sourdough toast with the Eggs Royale, no potato cakes or hash browns with the 'Full English' on the second morning - this was all without any explanation whatsoever. Items such as the tea strainer and pots of jam were missing from the table and I had to scavenge these off neighbouring tables. Considering that most guests would want some sort of breakfast in the morning, it does not seem too unreasonable to expect the kitchen to have an adequate supply of the items on the breakfast menu!
All in all, a very disappointing stay. The rooms were horribly overpriced, there were many small things which added up to a mediocre experience. It was also extremely difficult to get a taxi from the hotel – many companies will charge from the location of the taxi office as the hotel is so far out of the way. Had we paid half as much for the room, this may have been a perfectly acceptable hotel to stay in. Upon our departure, we voiced our concerns to the staff member on reception. He assured us that the manager would be in touch - we have heard nothing from them as yet.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank medstudent2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

My Wife and I were treated to Sunday Lunch at the Pheasant. The occasion was a significant anniversary, my starter was prawn cocktail which may seem somewhat retro, but if executed to the Pheasant's standard is very good indeed. Beef was the main course, unlike the regular Sunday lunch rubbish, this was proper melt in the mouth beef accompanied by Yorkshire puddings that were fresh, not the usual blackened soggy affairs and a very good gravy. Sweet was also super, could recommend to anyone, a very very good effort from all concerned.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertBTopliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warkworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Having visited this hotel on and off for drinks and meals over 40 years, we decided to stay for a couple of nights. It continues to amaze us how this beautiful hotel manages to employ such lovely, friendly and competent young staff. The welcome and service is second to none. The food is excellent. The room we stayed in was a treat. The hot water was plentiful and the heating was perfect all over our very cold weekend. The bar is just an absolute delight with a super ambiance and three good real ales. We can't recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: The Colebeck room overlooking the back garden is spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluesman17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We visited for tea to please an elderly relative during the new year holiday. The inn has a lovely quaint charm, particularly the bar, almost dickensian in it's loveliness. There were blazing fires in the lounge and tea was composed of melt in the mouth sandwiches and cakes that my companions wolfed with gusto. The inn reminds me of a perfect country cottage run by staff for one's pleasure. Better yet we could take our small dog rather than feel guilty about leaving her forlorn at home. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
1.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
2.3 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
3.6 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
8.4 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Inn

Property: The Pheasant Inn
Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA13 9YE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pheasant Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to the 17th century, this former haunt of the famous huntsman John Peel has been entertaining guests for the past 300 years in the traditional Cumbrian manner with stunning food and refreshment and good old fashioned values. With an abundance of unique period atmosphere and a sense of timelessness with the clever mix of luxurious, contemporary comforts provides The Pheasant a well deserved national and International reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Bassenthwaite
The Pheasant Inn Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing