We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Night Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pheasant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pheasant Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
cumbria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Night Away”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

we have just returned from a one night stay at this lovely hotel, our room was at the front of the hotel and was so cosy and comfortable with a large bathroom. We ate in the bistro the food was very good and the staff so helpful and friendly, the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in and breakfast first class. hopefully we will be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophieCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    152
    48
    25
    14
See reviews for
97
274
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed the night in this lovely old inn during a four night "fine dining" walking tour in the Lake District. This was a really comfortable, cosy and intimate place to stay with great service and lovely food. We stayed in one of the superior rooms which had a fantstic four poster bed and was very comfortable with lots of nice touches. The bathroom was great with lots of hot water. Having arrived mid afternoon we took advantage of the Pheasant's membership at the Spa belonging to the nearby Armathwaite Hall Hotel. This was wonderful but we were still happy to be staying at the cosy Pheasant Inn and really enjoyed pre-dinner drinks in one of the cosy lounges in front of the fire. We took dinner in the restaurant and had a really enjoyable meal. Given the price the food wasn't absolutely exceptional but was still really good I would definitely go back again. We had a great night's sleep and then had a fantastic breakfast - the full English was amongst the best I'd ever had with a superb black pudding! This is a lovely English Inn and isn't cheap but offers something a bit different to other hotels nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wrecktor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
253 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

My wife and I sometimes call in the Pheasant for a drink and find the small bar very quaint with its lack of modernity and beer served in pint pots rather than straight glasses.
The ales - local beers - are usually well kept but the sparklers on the hand pulls need to be adjusted as the pints are served with massive frothy heads which suggest short measures.
Be prepared to pay over the odds for drinks but enjoy the atmosphere and the service not to mention the free crisps on the bar..

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wainwright007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Great hotel with plenty of character and fantastic food. Fabulous place to visit for a nice relaxing weekend and close to areas around the lake. Staff were friendly and attentive and were on hand to help at all times. The bar is cosy and you feel you are in a local due to the friendliness of the clientele. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lotty09001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We visited the Pheasant Inn recently when in the area to celebrate my birthday, unfortunately we stayed at Armathwaite Hall which was not such a delightful experience, (separate review posted,) really wished we had stayed here..
We used to live just down the road in Cockermouth in the 1980's and this used to be a favourite place to visit on a Sunday afternoon with our then very young family for lunch.
Back then it was such a joy to visit because of the 'old worlde' charm and atmosphere, and lovely sunny gardens at the rear. Inside lay the genuine Olde English Inn experience, with the aroma of open fires , comfy sofas, and an genteel but laid back vibe at a time when these things were not as fashionable as they are now.
Many hotels now try to recreate this, but fail because they have no heart, its just a marketing ploy, not the real thing, like trying to fake antiques , the patina of years of use and love will be missing. Well I am very happy to say the Pheasant is still the real deal, nothing much has changed and the place is richer for it.
The food and staff were excellent then, and I am happy to say,it still is. It did not disappoint with perhaps the exception of the chicken liver pate which is now a parfait, still tasty, but not as good as the famous Pheasant Pate of yesteryear, (and the one which every pate we have had since has been measured against!) , the food was we had was excellent. Indeed, we had such a lovely lunch on Sunday that we returned on Monday as well!
We had a small terrier with us and unlike at many establishments, we were not treated like pariahs or excluded completely, we could sit in the lovely old bar, or the sweet little lounge with its crackling fire, the staff were so kind and helpful.
This Lovely Inn is in a quiet lane, in a quiet lesser known area of the Lakes, and a real hidden gem,. If it relied heavily on tourists it would not have survived the many years it has, this is real testament to a local clientele which is a true measure of quality.
Some things should never change and we certainly hope the Pheasant stays the way it is for many more years to come.

Room Tip: We didnt stay but I could not untick sleep quality, after clicking on it accidently
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheshirecaz59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We had a wonderful stay over the weekend at The Pheasant. Originally booking in for 1 night, we loved it so much, we stayed for 3! Check out the Spring Break offers.

We stayed in a superior room as an upgrade which was kindly offered to us by the owner. The food in the Fell is excellent, although we ate in the lovely Bistro for the remaining 2 nights as it is less formal and the food again is great. The bar is used by locals and has not changed in at least 60 years (according for a reliable local source!).

It is relaxed, the staff are brilliant and offer really helpful advice on great walks and drives in the area. Directly behind The Pheasant is a lovely 2 hour walk gentle walk in the fells with fabulous views over Bassenthwaite. Drive onwards 10 minutes towards Keswick and the walks are in abundance for all levels - we did the Cat Bells which is a definite YES with incredible views over Derwent Water and Skidaw.

We will be back!

Room Tip: Check out their great short break offers before booking. Go for a Superior room overlooking the gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We only booked the Pheasant a few days before our trip, never having been there before. The hotel/inn is extremely comfortable, great open fires, comfy lounges, and excellent food (both bistro and restaurant). The staff were excellent, very helpful and informative, especially Nicki, the manager. Use of local spa facilities, after a very hard walk up Skiddaw in the snow, was very welcome!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil190748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
1.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,568 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
2.3 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
497 reviews
3.6 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
511 reviews
8.4 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Inn

Property: The Pheasant Inn
Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA13 9YE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pheasant Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to the 17th century, this former haunt of the famous huntsman John Peel has been entertaining guests for the past 300 years in the traditional Cumbrian manner with stunning food and refreshment and good old fashioned values. With an abundance of unique period atmosphere and a sense of timelessness with the clever mix of luxurious, contemporary comforts provides The Pheasant a well deserved national and International reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Bassenthwaite
The Pheasant Inn Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing