We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of The Pheasant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pheasant Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

What a marvellous find!!! So fantastic we ate there twice in 3 days. Quaint with super food and helpful professional staff. Can't speak too highly of this lovely place. Such a mouthwatering selection of food in the most exquisite surroundings.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaineamymcfeeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

We visited after a walk and booked for that evening in the Bistro. At this earlier time we enjoyed a tea/coffee in the Lounge which is very cosy with great views of the gardens .Lucy the bar manager was very helpful and remembered us later when we returned. While dining early always carries the risk of the place being quiet which is was when we arrived, within 30mins the place was much busier. I imagine that when fully booked the place could get a little crowded as there isn't that much room between the tables but overall the food was excellent as was the service. We have been before which inspired this visit and I would be happy to eat there anytime again.

Room Tip: To be sure of a table you had better book one !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A very special place to stay. Wonderful atmosphere great food lovely furnishings great staff who were so courteous and helpful. Would thoroughly recommend. A great spa not too far away. The food in the bistro was excellent.

Room Tip: Overlooking the back garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed here for a weekend break. The hotel was cosy and full of atmosphere with log fires burning in the lounge. Breakfast was well cooked and used local produce where possible. At night we ate in the Bistro rather than the more formal Fell Restaurant. The service was good and the food delicious. We ate early because we had a long drive and were hungry. This was a bit of a mistake as there were 3 families in with very young children so it was a bit like being in nursery. I would suggest eating later to have a quieter experience.

Our room was large, spacious and scrupulously clean. The bed was large and comfortable with good quality bedding. It overlooked the front of the hotel but the car park outside wasn't particularly noisy, and as the last cars had gone by 11.30 , sleeping was not a problem. The rooms at the rear of the hotel are quieter so if you are exceptionally noise averse go for one of those. We have stayed in Fellside (front) and Caldbeck(rear)- both were very pleasant.
The hotel is situated well away from the busy road so noise from there was not an issue. There was a nearby nature trail which was ideal for an after breakfast stroll. It is ideally placed for walking and visiting Keswick.
I think there is a rolling programme of redecoration taking place as some of the bedrooms are in need of a little TLC eg wallpaper lifting at the corners and a couple of chips out of the cast iron bath. If you are particularly fussy that may be an issue for you.
We didn't use the hotel bar so can't comment on its size or service .

All in all I found it a lovely experience and would recommend it to couples for a weekend break.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotabroad_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We had enjoyed a lovely lunch with friends at the Pheasant a couple of years ago so on this visit to the Lake District we decided to try it for dinner. We decided against the formal dining room, preferring the look of the Bistro from the website.
When we booked we asked if we could order from the restaurant menu in the Bistro but were told we couldn't - a shame really.
The Bistro would be fine for lunch, but for dinner it was over lit, noisy and cluttered - should have gone for the restaurant! The food was fine but not particularly memorable and the service attentive but a little clumsy at times.
Watch out for local 'gentry' (tweed breeches and long socks) who dominate the bar, swearing away and generally acting like they own the place and getting in the way.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndyDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We have just spent two nights at the Pheasant for a small birthday celebration with friends. We couldn't have picked a better place to stay. The bedrooms, public rooms, bar, restaurant and bistro are full of charm and character. We ate in the bistro both nights. The four of us chose different dishes and they were all excellent. Breakfast in the lovely dining room overlooking the garden was a treat. The Pheasant is in a perfect location in the quiet area of the northern Lakes. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly as were the locals in the bar. The only small complaint was that our lovely bedroom was above the kitchen and the rather loud extractor fan was switched on at 7.50 both mornings. We will certainly return for another stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

...to reach the bar - the way is generally blocked by the local gentry who are usually incapable of sitting (even when all the seats are empty) or standing away from the bar to allow us mere visitors a chance to get served. The hotel boss is equally guilty of this practice. Perhaps it's the two bowls of "free" crisps on the bar that keeps these blokes (always blokes) in the way of service.
Once you've got their attention then there's a most reluctant slight shift to one side accompanied by some naff joke about having to get the pints in if you want serving. I've heard that one at least twice.

Come on chaps, show a little consideration.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Wainwright007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
1.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,706 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#5 of 9 in Workington
267 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,091 reviews
1.6 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Inn

Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA13 9YE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Price Range: £110 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pheasant Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to the 17th century, this former haunt of the famous huntsman John Peel has been entertaining guests for the past 300 years in the traditional Cumbrian manner with stunning food and refreshment and good old fashioned values. With an abundance of unique period atmosphere and a sense of timelessness with the clever mix of luxurious, contemporary comforts provides The Pheasant a well deserved national and International reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Bassenthwaite
The Pheasant Inn Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing