We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant but Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pheasant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pheasant Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant but Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We have eaten many superb lunches here over the years and decided to have a 3 night break recently. The bar is full of atmosphere and I have no problem at all with the locals using it, as some people have complained about! The lounges are warm and cosy with log fires and the new Fell Restaurant is tasteful and comfortable.

We did find the bedroom was very average and rather faded and in need of decor, even though we didn't have the basic room. We have stayed in far better for less money, although the bathroom was first class. Although the inn is very old, if the bathrooms can be upgraded to that standard surely the bedrooms can be as well. The bed itself was very comfortable however.

The food in the Fell Restaurant was absolutely superb on the first evening, with little interesting tasters provided before our meal. However, the menu never changed on the 3 evenings we were there, apart from a couple of minor details. It was completely meat based, apart from one fish dish each on the starters and main course menus. I had to have the same thing on 2 of the evenings, as it isn't always possible to like everything and there was no vegetarian option should you be a vegetarian. The portions were small and as for vegetables.... forget it! I certainly did not get the recommended amount of greens during my stay. One night there was a tiny stem of broccoli and a tiny baby leek. Another night there was one baby carrot and a parsnip. Everything was arranged on the plate as it was served, so no opportunity to have more vegetables. Although we had booked dinner, bed and breakfast, it turned out that only £35 was allowed towards the dinner. Considering the excessive price of each course, we always had extra to pay. Two scallops for £10? They were ingeniously cooked and full of interesting flavours, but extremely insubstantial. I can't imagine staying for a week if the menu doesn't change in that time and it would certainly cost more than we bargained for in the extra cost of food.

The breakfasts were only average and what you expect and the help yourself starters were very poor and limited and you couldn't even help yourself to fruit juice, which is what I like to start breakfast with. It had to be ordered and would come eventually, depending on how busy the staff were.

All in all a pleasant stay in an atmospheric inn, but overpriced.

Room Tip: Go for the superior, although not worth the money, better than standard and classic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cybersurfer45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    153
    48
    25
    15
See reviews for
98
274
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

What a marvellous find!!! So fantastic we ate there twice in 3 days. Quaint with super food and helpful professional staff. Can't speak too highly of this lovely place. Such a mouthwatering selection of food in the most exquisite surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaineamymcfeeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We visited after a walk and booked for that evening in the Bistro. At this earlier time we enjoyed a tea/coffee in the Lounge which is very cosy with great views of the gardens .Lucy the bar manager was very helpful and remembered us later when we returned. While dining early always carries the risk of the place being quiet which is was when we arrived, within 30mins the place was much busier. I imagine that when fully booked the place could get a little crowded as there isn't that much room between the tables but overall the food was excellent as was the service. We have been before which inspired this visit and I would be happy to eat there anytime again.

Room Tip: To be sure of a table you had better book one !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

A very special place to stay. Wonderful atmosphere great food lovely furnishings great staff who were so courteous and helpful. Would thoroughly recommend. A great spa not too far away. The food in the bistro was excellent.

Room Tip: Overlooking the back garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed here for a weekend break. The hotel was cosy and full of atmosphere with log fires burning in the lounge. Breakfast was well cooked and used local produce where possible. At night we ate in the Bistro rather than the more formal Fell Restaurant. The service was good and the food delicious. We ate early because we had a long drive and were hungry. This was a bit of a mistake as there were 3 families in with very young children so it was a bit like being in nursery. I would suggest eating later to have a quieter experience.

Our room was large, spacious and scrupulously clean. The bed was large and comfortable with good quality bedding. It overlooked the front of the hotel but the car park outside wasn't particularly noisy, and as the last cars had gone by 11.30 , sleeping was not a problem. The rooms at the rear of the hotel are quieter so if you are exceptionally noise averse go for one of those. We have stayed in Fellside (front) and Caldbeck(rear)- both were very pleasant.
The hotel is situated well away from the busy road so noise from there was not an issue. There was a nearby nature trail which was ideal for an after breakfast stroll. It is ideally placed for walking and visiting Keswick.
I think there is a rolling programme of redecoration taking place as some of the bedrooms are in need of a little TLC eg wallpaper lifting at the corners and a couple of chips out of the cast iron bath. If you are particularly fussy that may be an issue for you.
We didn't use the hotel bar so can't comment on its size or service .

All in all I found it a lovely experience and would recommend it to couples for a weekend break.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotabroad_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We had enjoyed a lovely lunch with friends at the Pheasant a couple of years ago so on this visit to the Lake District we decided to try it for dinner. We decided against the formal dining room, preferring the look of the Bistro from the website.
When we booked we asked if we could order from the restaurant menu in the Bistro but were told we couldn't - a shame really.
The Bistro would be fine for lunch, but for dinner it was over lit, noisy and cluttered - should have gone for the restaurant! The food was fine but not particularly memorable and the service attentive but a little clumsy at times.
Watch out for local 'gentry' (tweed breeches and long socks) who dominate the bar, swearing away and generally acting like they own the place and getting in the way.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndyDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We have just spent two nights at the Pheasant for a small birthday celebration with friends. We couldn't have picked a better place to stay. The bedrooms, public rooms, bar, restaurant and bistro are full of charm and character. We ate in the bistro both nights. The four of us chose different dishes and they were all excellent. Breakfast in the lovely dining room overlooking the garden was a treat. The Pheasant is in a perfect location in the quiet area of the northern Lakes. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly as were the locals in the bar. The only small complaint was that our lovely bedroom was above the kitchen and the rather loud extractor fan was switched on at 7.50 both mornings. We will certainly return for another stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
1.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
2.3 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
3.6 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
8.4 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Inn

Property: The Pheasant Inn
Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA13 9YE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pheasant Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to the 17th century, this former haunt of the famous huntsman John Peel has been entertaining guests for the past 300 years in the traditional Cumbrian manner with stunning food and refreshment and good old fashioned values. With an abundance of unique period atmosphere and a sense of timelessness with the clever mix of luxurious, contemporary comforts provides The Pheasant a well deserved national and International reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Bassenthwaite
The Pheasant Inn Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing