We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food in a cosy environment!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pheasant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pheasant Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a cosy environment!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Ate in both the pub side and the restaurant side and the pub was miles better mainly because of the atmosphere (it was extremely quiet in the restaurant). The atmosphere in the pub was fabulous and really cosy. The food was amazing very big portions in the pub and the flavours were great. The service was fine and wine list was also good.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank intheria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    153
    48
    25
    15
See reviews for
98
274
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

We've been going to The Pheasant for 20 years, and have enjoyed many lovely days there. Lovely atmosphere, super food, good service. Went for dinner this evening in the Bistro, and were disappointed. Atmosphere now lacking, food mediocre - especially the roast turkey. Service friendly but slow and haphazard.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Jimunist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We arrived on a very wet December evening and the lady on reception was superb getting us some drinks and sandwiches when the bar was actually closed. We stayed with our dogs and as it was quiet in the lounge the staff allowed us to let them off the lead which was just superb. We ate in the bistro and the food was delicious. The only negative was I thought the bathroom look tired and bath was chipped but it didn't spoil our stay and I will definitely return again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenA036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We have just enjoyed another lovely stay at 'The Pheasant Inn'. We have lost count of the number of times we have stayed here over a period of thirty years. It never disapoints and, whilst there have been changes over the years, with the arrival of the Bistro and the much improved bedrooms, the ambience remains 'The Pheasant'
We (well - me actually!!) always make pigs of ourselves with the homemade crisps but we were wise enough to leave room for the 'vegetable crisps' served with our drinks. Yumeeee!!
Our three breakfasts set us up nicely for days spent enjoying favourite walks, then back for a lovely relaxing time over dinner. I noticed that one reviewer didn't like the Bistro.He should have tried the dining room, where you will enjoy a gentle, quiet atmosphere and a superb dinner.
The staff are all excellent. Attentive without being 'pushy' and very friendly.
I'm going to sign off and book another visit for March. 'The Pheasant' - LOVE IT!!

Room Tip: We have favourite rooms but all are very comfortable. We like to be at the back of The Pheasant as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pheasantfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

We eat here quite frequently and have never had a bad meal and think its great value for money.
We decided to have an early Christmas lunch and what an absolutely gorgeous meal it was.
A turkey dinner with all the trimmings bursting with flavour and well priced.
The food is fresh and well cooked and served by extremely friendly staff.
I fully recommend trying the Pheasant, I'm sure you'll see for yourself what quality is?

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lallokkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Overpriced, indifferently cooked food in a harshly lit, noisy room with too much bustle and not much genuine attention to our needs. We all felt we would have had a better meal for half the price in several of the local pubs.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DavidStanley50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Hotel is in a lovely country setting. We arrived on a lunchtime to a very friendly welcome. We ordered drinks and sat in the bar for a while untill our friends arrived.
We had booked a table in the bistro which was empty . We had our choice of tables and once seated we were given menus. Although not a large menu , what was on was very tempting.
Our order for food and drinks was taken quickly, and while we waited the room began to fill up and get busier.
Our food arrived but not our drinks which we had to ask for again.
All of us thought our food was marvelous and the triple cooked chips were amazing.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEVCO36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
1.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
2.3 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
3.6 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
8.4 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Inn

Property: The Pheasant Inn
Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA13 9YE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pheasant Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to the 17th century, this former haunt of the famous huntsman John Peel has been entertaining guests for the past 300 years in the traditional Cumbrian manner with stunning food and refreshment and good old fashioned values. With an abundance of unique period atmosphere and a sense of timelessness with the clever mix of luxurious, contemporary comforts provides The Pheasant a well deserved national and International reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Bassenthwaite
The Pheasant Inn Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing