We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food but a tad expensive.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pheasant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pheasant Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Lovely food but a tad expensive.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Had a meal here and thoroughly enjoyed it. Had to book two days in advance as it was busy with it being half term. We ate the cod, chicken and leek pie, plaice goujons and sausage chips and beans from the kids menu. We all enjoyed our meals and the service was good. Reason for saying it was a bit pricey is that some meals (including the cod) required an additional side order making the full dish between £15 and £20.Really I do think a main meal should come with potatoes and vegetables without having to pay extra for them! The menu is also quite limited. Overall though we enjoyed it, just dont go expecting a cheap bar meal.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Zoe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    153
    48
    25
    15
See reviews for
98
274
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mo Bay
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

The Pheasant has been consistently good over the years and this latest visit didn't disappoint. The menu was uncluttered, the food was fresh and delicious, the service friendly and efficient despite being a busy night. All in all It was a lovely meal rounded off with coffee in the lounge overlooking the beautiful gardens. We always make a point of dining here when in the Lake District and will continue to return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We have just returned from a much needed break at the Pheasant Inn, we received a warm welcome, and were shown up to our spacious & attractively furnished room with a lovely view of a pretty garden. The Staff were superb, extremely friendly but not obtrusive, and with a good knowledge of places to visit. We dined in the bistro, which had a 'buzzy' atmosphere with an enticing menu, all our courses were well presented and tasted delicious.

Thank you to all the Staff for making our stay with you such a pleasurable experience.

Room Tip: we choose a superior double, there was also the opportunity to use the spa facilities of a nearby ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Visited for lunch while touring the Lake District. No staff around when we went in and a ridiculous number of signs pointing to the bar and the gents (but not the ladies).
No bell on the bar but someone eventually turned up and took our drinks order (no ice offered for OJ & lemonade but the beer was good and well kept - and cheaper than the OJ & lemonade!). We were offered a table in the bar (overwhelming smell of lilies) or the "bistro" (it's a restaurant) so we chose the bistro.
The staff were quick enough to provide a menu and water but then they disappeared. The room wasn't busy; eight tables occupied and four members of staff. We eventually managed to place an order for fish and chips which arrived quickly, was hot, well-battered and very tasty but really didn't make up for the wait.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

A wonderful place with peaceful surroundings and great views. Being so close to the only lake in the lake district something i discovered on my recent trip here. Restaurant was average but the food more than made up for the average service. All in all a very good trip

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Declan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I had been to the Bistro a few weeks ago for Sunday lunch and was a little dissapointed. This time I booked the restaurant for a birthday meal, it was a second choice as the first choice didn't open on a Tuesday. The sevice was excellent and the meal very good, it was unrushed, clearly freshly prepared and very pleasant dining room. There is a £2.50 cover charge for the dining room partly because of the fell views but not from out table. The overall cost was somewhat higher than might be expected hence the 4 rating. Would go back again for a special occasion.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alfred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limerick
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

well iv been coming here for 35 years off and on and this was the worst performance yet !, the meal was in the back room not bistro , the starters were ok i had the scotch egg it was nice but laden with a herb that over powered it a bit but quality was good , the main corse was beef it was not pink and my sweed mash think was laden with pepper and everyone left it , the meat was sirlion and was not greatly tender further it was nothing like the quality of 8-30 years ago when we got tender roast rib of beef that melted in your mouth and was silver served to you , the sweets were fine the service was fine except the coffe came and they forgot to put the water in , it was all a bit of a shambles and little attention to detail even the sugar did not turn up , the chocs were fine and the head waitress delightful . if id knows the quality of the beef and the niggly detail was lacking id have gone to the Borrowdale hotel or the Borrowdale gates. the pheasant is turning into a GASTRO PUP fine as the Bistro is good whenever iv been! but for gods sake wake up in the back resturaunt there was hardly any silver service and the beef looked almost boiled in the bag the gravy was like water and i had to complain about that as well 3/10 ! O and the staff did not know what melba toast was i asked for some and got normal toast it was a total shambles and not a credit to lord inglewood or creseda whose family own it but what a great old inn and its history i !! symon g brown connoisseur of fine wines and food righter on jancis robinsons wine forum - Always in search of the finest !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itstheblimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
1.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
2.3 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
3.6 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
8.4 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Inn

Property: The Pheasant Inn
Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA13 9YE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pheasant Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to the 17th century, this former haunt of the famous huntsman John Peel has been entertaining guests for the past 300 years in the traditional Cumbrian manner with stunning food and refreshment and good old fashioned values. With an abundance of unique period atmosphere and a sense of timelessness with the clever mix of luxurious, contemporary comforts provides The Pheasant a well deserved national and International reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Bassenthwaite
The Pheasant Inn Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing