We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food!”
Review of The Pheasant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pheasant Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The menu has changed and it's for the better!
Had a few pints in the best bar in Cumbria without a doubt and then the experience in the Bistro = Excellent...
Starter was scotch egg with a twist...tasty!
Fish & chips main, batter suburb with mushy peas, chips were special...
Partner had Chicken liver starter & Brill for the main, finished with cheese & biscuits...lovely stuff!

This was a top class meal with fantastic service from staff who know exactly what they are doing...well done The Pheasant - an excellent experience yet again!
Thank you to you all....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jchjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

Feared last year this great institution had gone a little off the boil but I was clearly wrong.Stayed for the night before holidaying at Underscar.Rooms both of highest order and food so good that we returned twice during the week.Staff and owner could not have been more helpful.This is still the place to stay in the Keswick area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Timothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We ate in the Bistro early in the evening with our family including our grandson who is under 2 year old. The food was delicious, a real treat! We were especially impressed with the friendly efficient service and the way our young grandson was accommodated. In such a good restaurant we might have experienced intolerance of such a young child but here he was made to feel very welcome and we were able to enjoy our first class meal. Well done Pheasant Inn restaurant!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank GeordieTraveller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Had a meal here and thoroughly enjoyed it. Had to book two days in advance as it was busy with it being half term. We ate the cod, chicken and leek pie, plaice goujons and sausage chips and beans from the kids menu. We all enjoyed our meals and the service was good. Reason for saying it was a bit pricey is that some meals (including the cod) required an additional side order making the full dish between £15 and £20.Really I do think a main meal should come with potatoes and vegetables without having to pay extra for them! The menu is also quite limited. Overall though we enjoyed it, just dont go expecting a cheap bar meal.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Zoe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The Pheasant has been consistently good over the years and this latest visit didn't disappoint. The menu was uncluttered, the food was fresh and delicious, the service friendly and efficient despite being a busy night. All in all It was a lovely meal rounded off with coffee in the lounge overlooking the beautiful gardens. We always make a point of dining here when in the Lake District and will continue to return.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We have just returned from a much needed break at the Pheasant Inn, we received a warm welcome, and were shown up to our spacious & attractively furnished room with a lovely view of a pretty garden. The Staff were superb, extremely friendly but not obtrusive, and with a good knowledge of places to visit. We dined in the bistro, which had a 'buzzy' atmosphere with an enticing menu, all our courses were well presented and tasted delicious.

Thank you to all the Staff for making our stay with you such a pleasurable experience.

Room Tip: we choose a superior double, there was also the opportunity to use the spa facilities of a nearby ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Visited for lunch while touring the Lake District. No staff around when we went in and a ridiculous number of signs pointing to the bar and the gents (but not the ladies).
No bell on the bar but someone eventually turned up and took our drinks order (no ice offered for OJ & lemonade but the beer was good and well kept - and cheaper than the OJ & lemonade!). We were offered a table in the bar (overwhelming smell of lilies) or the "bistro" (it's a restaurant) so we chose the bistro.
The staff were quick enough to provide a menu and water but then they disappeared. The room wasn't busy; eight tables occupied and four members of staff. We eventually managed to place an order for fish and chips which arrived quickly, was hot, well-battered and very tasty but really didn't make up for the wait.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
1.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,692 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,090 reviews
12.2 mi away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#4 of 9 in Workington
262 reviews
1.6 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Inn

Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA13 9YE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range: £113 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pheasant Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to the 17th century, this former haunt of the famous huntsman John Peel has been entertaining guests for the past 300 years in the traditional Cumbrian manner with stunning food and refreshment and good old fashioned values. With an abundance of unique period atmosphere and a sense of timelessness with the clever mix of luxurious, contemporary comforts provides The Pheasant a well deserved national and International reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Bassenthwaite
The Pheasant Inn Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing