We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idyllic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandhills Farm B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bassenthwaite
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandhills Farm B&B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Me and my partner stayed here for two nights. It was in an ideal location for walking and we were offered plenty of advice on the best places to walk locally. The room was lovely: well decorated, clean, well stocked with extras (such as bubble bath, and a drinks flask) and we even received free cake and biscuits! Breakfast was also delicious. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
53
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakworth, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

The landscape is inspiring, the accommodation incredible and the hospitality warm, professional and just right.

I needed to take my partner for a short break to help her relax and this was the perfect place. The rooms are of such a quality...modern, clean, fresh...airy. Simply a delight to be in and the bathroom...brilliant. Breakfast is just the best...as large, or as small as you want with eggs from the hens that wander around the farm.

The rooms are connected to the main house, but separate...and this gives you a lovely sense of privacy.

Keswick is surrounded by majestic fells and the walking is superb...we took the little ferry that runs around Derwent water...getting off at Hawes End to wander up Catbells and beyond. You can wander down to Bassenthwaite Lake just to give you that edge before breakfast and visit St Bega's Church.

This is a lovely place to stay...just lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed here recently for two nights and the food and accommodation was fantastic. The rooms are decorated and furnished to a high standard which matches some premium hotels. However, this combined with the beautiful wooden beams provides great character.

Upon arrival we were treated with coffee and cakes, a little touch but an example of why this is a cut above the rest of any Band B. Secondly the accommodation is detached from the actual living residence of the owners which provides privacy.

The breakfast matched the rest of the hotel and was superb. All in all this is a fantastic B and B which truly deserves the great feedback on here. It is a great example to other B and B's on how to run luxury B and B at a reasonable cost.

A great little find only a few miles from Keswick!

Room Tip: Limousin is a great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flyboy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

This place was really easy to find. Situated close to the stunning bassenthwaite lake. Four miles from the centre of Keswick. We were greeted with tea/coffee and home made cakes on arrival.

The room was absolutely stunning and decorated/furnished to a very high standard (we were in the room calledTexel). The only downside was you could hear everything that was going on in the breakfast room below and the children running around in the main house.

The breakfast was really delicious and plentiful. Nothing was too much trouble. I would definately recommend and we plan to go back next year. I fancy trying the room called Limousin next.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel-y-Craig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

Stayed for one night in June 2012 and thoroughly loved it. Helen is really friendly and accommodating (as well as clearly having great taste in decor and being a fabulous cook). Our room was upstairs and had the beamed roof, simply stunning. Helen had thought of everything, tea and delicious cakes on arrival, with wine glasses in the rooms well as lovely biscuits and a great range of other hot drinks.

The walk down the Lake is wonderful, through the field of sheep and lambs.

Breakfast was scrumptious, using their own free rnge eggs from the chickens wich freely roam the grounds.

It is four miles to Keswick or 2 miles to Bassenthwaite when you want dinner but we never found that a problem and it was lovely to go back to the room a really escape from it all!

Had a wonderful stay and would certainly recommend the Sandhills.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night break, we can't praise this bed and breakfast enough. Helen was amazing, very welcoming and friendly throughout our stay. She went out of her way to make our break perfect in everyway. It was my husbands birthday and as a last minute request she baked him a chocolate birthday cake as a suprise from me. The rooms are done out to a very high standard I noticed everything was from Laura Ashley, they are spacious, light and airy. The breakfast room is also the same and the breakfasts were gorgeous! It is the little touches that make this bed and breakfast special, for example homemade cakes on arrival (the lemon drizzle cake was to die for) and homemade biscuits in the rooms everyday. It is also set in a perfect location, just 10 mins stroll through the farmland to the lake edge which was desserted when we stayed, it was so beautiful and peaceful, just one of the advantages of supporting a local business/ farm rather than an overpriced hotel. We think that this is excellent value for money when everything you get is taken into consideration. Thank you Helen!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Limosine room which had a lovely view of the fields and fells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Fantastic B&B - modern, stylish, spotless very comfortable rooms/bathrooms - a lot of thought has gone into them. Helen was a fantastic host, and very helpful with information on local walks etc. After a long drive, tea and homemade cakes were certainly greatly appreciated. A great place to base yourself for walking in the Lake District, and the location makes it a great relaxing alternative to staying in Keswick.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danielct156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.0 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Highside Farm
Highside Farm
#1 of 9 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.0 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandhills Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandhills Farm B&B

Property: Sandhills Farm B&B
Address: Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bassenthwaite
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandhills Farm B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Sandhills Farm B&B Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing