We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Bassenthwaite B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bassenthwaite
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Little Orchard Bed and Breakfast
Bristol
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Bassenthwaite B&B”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Anne and Brian are superlative hosts, welcoming, friendly and full of local knowledge and suggestions. Ideas for walks were particulalrly appreciated because of the medium capabilities of our party. Little Orchard is well appointed and made particularly comfortable by use of the spacious lounge. Breakfasts are really excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomanSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2012

My family and I stayed for two nights at the little orchard, while we attended a wedding at a local hotel. The little orchard is located just down a quite country lane with lovely views across the valley. Our hosts Ann and Brian were like the nicest relatives I never knew I had. I have two young children which were treated by the Reay's like family. My wife and I shared a wonderful double en-suite room with the kids sharing a double room next door. All the rooms share the stunning views. The breakfast was great and the kids were asked if they wanted anything special for the morning after! Which Ann promptly supplied. We visited the local animal park and we ate at the snooty fox which were both excellent. I have stayed in many hotels/b&b's with my job and the little orchard is the best b&b I have ever stayed in. If you don't want peace, quiet, good food and service the little orchard is not the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed at Little Orchard whilst attending a wedding at nearby Armathwaite Hall. The room was lovely, with a fridge and tea and coffee facilities. Brian and Anne were so friendly, even offering to drop us off and collect us from the wedding.
The garden is amazing, and sitting on their swing whilst drinking a cup of tea and looking out at the rolling hills was perfect.
Breakfast was delicious, we couldn't recommend Little Orchard enough, it was worth every penny of the £60.

Room Tip: Our room didn't have en-suite but was just across the hall from the bathroom. There is an en sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Staying at Little Orchard was like visiting close family friends. The Reay's were warm and welcoming. Room was lovingly decorated in the Victorian style with a large lovely window overlooking the Lake District Hills. We were welcomed with refreshments, including our friends who were only showing us around and not staying. Breakfast was in their lovely dining room overlooking the manicured gardens and hills. We would definitely come back again. Try the Snooty Fox for dinner, Brian even drives a cab and can take there and back. The place is a little hard to find but Brian gave us his mobile number and even came out to the gate to great us! Lovely spot, lovely people, lovely night.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fahyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

In a way the website doesn't do this b&b justice. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome, nothing too much trouble and the house, gardens and views are beautiful. Loved the room, the view was STUNNING and all the little touches such as fresh milk in the mini-fridge for our coffee (out of aynsley china) lovely biscuits and fresh bottles of water. It was immaculate.and tastefully furnished. Toiletries were high-quality and nothing overlooked. The bed was divine and the bedding sumptuous...
Breakfast was outstanding. On the table in the cosy dining room all those little touches...freshly cut flowers, fresh fruits, cream, yoghurts, cereals, croissants, breads etc all presented well, with pretty china and lots of silver. We were also offered a full English, which was absolutely delicious!
Can't recommend highly enough...we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vikkinmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
1.1 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,568 reviews
1.8 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,019 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
497 reviews
3.3 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Orchard Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Orchard Bed and Breakfast

Property: Little Orchard Bed and Breakfast
Address: North Row, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bassenthwaite
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Orchard, located just a few miles outside of Keswick in the English Lake District, is an idylic country house Bed and Breakfast. Set in an acre of beautiful gardens with views overlooking the Northern Fells and Bassenthwaite Lake it makes the perfect Lakeland getaway. Rooms are luxurious and a hearty breakfast is included in the room tariff. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Orchard Bed And Breakfast Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing