We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellenet in every way”

The Coach House Restaurant at Ravenstone Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$45
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The restaurant is open to non-residents 7 days a week and is situated in a lovely rural setting on the A591 5 miles north of Keswick.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
“Excellenet in every way”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I recently had the pleasure of staying for a week at the Ravenstone Lodge. After dining at the Coach House the first evening, I decided that this is where I would dine for the rest of my holiday. Everything was perfect: the variety of the menu, the service, the wine, the atmosphere, the view - there really was no need to dine elsewhere! The food was perfectly cooked and served, and all around me I heard the expressions of satisfied diners. First class and value for money. Thank you all, especially the talented chef.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    17
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We recently visited the Coach House and were extremely impressed!
From the warm welcome, the service and the sublime home cooked food together with an excellent wine choice it could not be faulted.
Thoroughly Recommended!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful, imaginative food in a tranquil setting”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed at Ravenstone Lodge for 7 nights. We ate in the Coach House every evening.The welcome you get from the friendly and highly efficient staff is first class. The quality of the ingredients and the imagination of the cooking was wonderfuland the variety such that we ate for 7 nights without repeating a dish. The view from the restaurant is true Lake District and worth the visit alone. The breakfast menu is wide and providesan excellent start for a day out in Cumbria.
The reputation of Ravenstone Lodge has clearly been spread as during our visit a number of non residents came out for a meal. A real gem.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
“Delicious food and great service!!!!”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This is honestly one of the best restaurants I have ever been to in terms of quality of food!! A lovely romantic setting with a view of the lake, I will definitely be returning on my next visit to the lake district! I only wish I had asked the chef for his recipes!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roxanne_radcilffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely splendid :)”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I invited my lady for a romantic weekend to the cosy Ravenstone Lodge which was absolutely lovely. We are both very much into simple, fresh and healthy food. Therefore, it was a nice surprise to get such fresh and well prepared dishes. One day we wondered off and had dinner at the Ravenstone Hotel (located above) which was a real disappointment… compared to the restaurant in the lodge.

I assume the chef will be able to get a star at some point in his life (if he really wants to). In the meantime you are welcome to enjoy some delicious compositions at fair prices.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhys P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coach House Restaurant at Ravenstone Lodge also viewed

Bassenthwaite, Lake District
Bassenthwaite, Lake District
 
Bassenthwaite, Lake District
Bassenthwaite, Lake District
 

Been to The Coach House Restaurant at Ravenstone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing