We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food ...even though it WASN'T as described !!”
Review of Castle Inn Tavern

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Castle Inn Tavern
Ranked #11 of 12 Restaurants in Bassenthwaite
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good food ...even though it WASN'T as described !!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed the food here however, the vegetarian with us, requested a Greek Salad ...which came with chicken !!! When we highlighted this, they did replace it with a non-meat salad. Also the 'Fish, Chips & Mushy Peas' arrived with Garden Peas and NOT Mushy Peas ! It would have been nice if we were told about this, when we placed our order ! This aside, the quality of food was good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    15
    5
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Courtesy and politeness is alive and well here”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel over the Easter break and we were delighted that the friendliness and helpfulness we experienced on the phone when we made the booking was continued when we arrived at the hotel. The staff could not do enough to help us which made us feel very relaxed and welcome after a horrible journey on the motorway. One small point is that the internet reception was rather variable so that we gave up in the end, however, as we were there for a break so we did not mind too much.

We had booked a package which included breakfast and dinner and we have often found that dinner can be rather 'average'. Not here though!! Dinner was of a high quality and the service was professional and attentive. We would certainly stay at this hotel again and I would recommend this hotel without reservation.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rowena h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Always nice food ”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Always enjoy supper at the Castle Inn - great fajitas and quick service, prices about average, would recommend a visit.

Helpful?
Thank 505Travel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just don't”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were very much looking forward to an anniversary meal here during our week away. Menu looked fab if a little on the expensive side but I don't mind paying for quality and the bar looked comfortable and spacious and staff friendly.

All I can say is the bar menu was way over priced and the food disappointing. Rocket salad was wilted, mushroom starter swimming in oil, Lamb shank in Rosemary jus nearly blew my head off, rather than the complimentary whiff of the herb, the whole plate stank of the stuff and overwhelmed the less than completely tender meat and lumpy mash potato. Beer battered onion rings however had only the smallest amount of onion and the steak appeared to be suffering from the same oily death as the mushroom starter. Has to be said the steak was well cooked and tasty though.

Other niggles were incorrect cutlery in the form of side knife and sweet forks rather than main knife and forks. The waiter cleared our starters and asked if we would like to see the dessert menu????

Noticed other guests asking for cutlery and bits of their order which was missing too.

I am so sorry that it cost me nearly £60 for two starters, two main coursed and a couple of drinks for such a wasted night out, we didn't even bother to stay for pudding as it was such a let down.

Only semi consolation was they were so useless they forgot to add my large glass of Pino to the bill. Oh well, champers and the rest of the night in front of the TV it is then!

Sorry Castle, your staff very very pleasant but need far more training!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucky-jo990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good mixture of facilities for conferences, plenty of space and very helpful staff!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We recently used the Castle Inn Hotel for a conference which lasted 4 days.

From our initial contact to the final day the staff couldn't have been more helpful. There are plenty of different conference rooms to choose from for all your needs, the food was excellent and varied, the staff were attentive and nothing was a problem.

Some of our conference guests stayed overnight, everyone spoke highly of the accommodation and the service. They even accommodated one members of staff's dog in their dog friendly room and included a late checkout.

Although the Wi-Fi isn't the best for conference facilities, they have assured us they are looking into this. I think is depended on how many people were using the faciliites at one time.

We would highly recommend the Castle Inn to hold conferences/functions, there is a good mixture of facilities, plenty of space and very helpful staff, including a high quality of food all at a reasonable price and a good location for people travelling from around Cumbria and further afield.

Thank you to the reception staff, especially Allison who was very helpful, and a big thank you to Sarah, Paul, Anna and the rest of the staff at the Castle Inn, they really are a credit to the hotel!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castle Inn Tavern also viewed

Bassenthwaite, Lake District
Bassenthwaite, Lake District
 
Bassenthwaite, Lake District
Bassenthwaite, Lake District
 
Bassenthwaite, Lake District
 

Been to Castle Inn Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing