We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated, poor food, stressed and over worked staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Over rated, poor food, stressed and over worked staff”
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We were very unimpressed and moved to another hotel The breakfast was transport cafe quality and staff over stretched leaving dirty tables and ignoring patrons. No one smiled. Food in evening was absolutely dire. Leisure club was neglected and the changing room and toilets were municipal standard. It's not the luxury venue the web site makes out. Avoid it.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helgol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleInnManager, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
Dear Helgol,
Thank you for your review. i have read your comments and i am disappointed by how you felt with your stay. I have noticed the poor rating you gave us about our service, it is unusual to have such negative comments about the staffs attitude, as you can see from the numerous excellent reviews we had recently. I am sorry you felt we did not provide the quality of service you were expected on this instance. I have shared your feedback with my departments leader and we hope you will give us another chance to impress you and return to the Castle Inn again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    304
    112
    58
    49
See reviews for
170
502
10
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This hotel has breathtaking views over the lake and surrounding areas; a lovely garden to either relax and take a drink or play mini golf; the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. We ate evening dinner in the restaurant (there is an identical menu selection for anyone preferring to eat in the bar area) and enjoyed our meal which was very good value for money - we both had steak which was cooked to perfection. We had been allocated an Executive Room - these are 15 rooms that have recently been refurbished. They were very tasteful and had everything you'd expect from four star accommodation. There will shortly be a new reception area opening and this looks very welcoming already. There were plenty of car parking bays next to the hotel, and the location was very good for anyone wishing to find their way around the beautiful countryside. We would certainly recommend this hotel and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Our Executive Room had everything we needed, including a new modern bathroom with separate bath and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Halfy1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleInnManager, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
Dear guest,
I have shared your review with the team and chef is particularly pleased that you enjoyed you dinners at the hotel. We are excited about the new reception opening (September), we believe it will enhance our brand new Best Western PLUS status.
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay and we look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, North Lincolnshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This hotel lived up to its 4 stars. We had a beautiful large room with classical decor and excellent bathroom. The facilities were very good, a pool and gym and lovely gardens.
The staff were friendly and helpful and acted immediately on replacing dead batteries in our TV remote. Make sure you are getting a bed and breakfast deal as breakfast separately is £14.50 which I think is excessive.
We travelled all over the area from the hotel each day and it was like coming home to a peaceful oasis each There is a restaurant and a much nicer bar , both serve the same evening meal menu which was reasonable. We ate there the first night but went into Keswick the other 2 nights as there was more variety of eating places and a good atmosphere. Would stay at The Castle Inn again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMG52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleInnManager, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
Thank you for the review!
I have to agree with you, our location is perfect for exploring the North Lake District area. Also, i appreciate the compliment you gave to the staff, as always i will personally make sure the team get a copy of your feedback. Again many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCOTLAND
Level 6 Contributor
398 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

A long time since my last visit to this hotel.....and what a difference inside! Lovely ambiance and surroundings, good selection of food and helpful pleasant service. You might easily pass this hotel by....it sits on a corner and doesn't look all that special from the outside - probably an old coaching inn originally....but definitely worth stopping to explore the bar meals!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celtic-Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleInnManager, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
Dear Guest,
I am glad you like all the refurbishment we have done during the past years, and i know our directors have many more ideas.
Make sure you stop by to see our brand new reception opening in September, it is looking fab and the entire team are very excited about the new feeling it bring to the hotel.
Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Stayed for 2 nights Sunday and Monday using tesco vouchers so a good deal. Room overlooked the garden so nice views, weather was very warm so did need the fan supplied as there is no aircon. We picked the hotel as it is in a good base for walking, Skiddaw and Bassenthwaite, and had a pool/sauna which is something to look forward to relaxing in after a day on the fells. Used the hotel for breakfast and evening meal, quality and service were both good, so didn't feel the need to go elsewhere during our short stay and it was nice to relax afterwards in the garden with drinks whilst watching the rabbits run around.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank offquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleInnManager, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Dear Reviewer;
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I am glad you enjoyed your break with us. I am understanding that we are the only hotel in the Lake District to accept the Tesco voucher scheme, and it was a pleasure to host you at the Castle. Again, Thank you for the post and we look forward to see you again soon. Kindest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This is a very nice hotel which is undergoing further renovation and improvement. The hotel is situated in a prime location of natural beauty ie lakes and mountain peaks close by (Skiddaw) and is very peaceful yet only 5/6 miles from the towns of Keswick and Cockermouth.

Our stay was a very pleasant having been upgraded to one of the 'superior' rooms. The room itself was both spacious and comfortable and to a very high standard. The ambience in the hotel was good and general service excellent. We used the leisure facilities on a number of occasions and found them more than adequate.

The only minor point to highlight (and it was minor) was that the restraunt could have done wih a slightly more 'up market' menu, making it more of a dining experience.

Overall a very posiive experience !

Catchatan

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catchatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleInnManager, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Thank you for a great review, i am happy you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding. we are very fortunate to be located in this fantastic area of the North Lake District with so many activities.
It is good to see again positive comments about our staffs and i will make sure the entire team have a copy of your feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stayed here on a mid week break to the lake district. Nice clean hotel and the staff were very friendly.It was very quiet during our stay though and lacked atmosphere.Breakfast was fab and staff very attentive and friendly during it.Room was very clean and comfortable.

My main gripes were the price for a glass of wine...£6 is just taking the mickey?!!..i would suggest to get more folk in during a recession that the drinks and food prices be reviewed.Other issue was the lack of busses into Keswick,sure there is a rather sporadic bus service but after being out all day walking we discovered that the next bus to Keswick was at 7pm with the last one back to the hotel being 21:22..so hardly worthwhile,which meant we had to use the car to travel into Keswick to eat.Would have eaten at the hotel and enjoyed a drink more but felt it was too expensive.

This hotel is lovely but its location just a wee bit too remote in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MalckyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleInnManager, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2011
Thank you for the excellent feedback you gave us regarding the cleanliness of the room and the attitude of our staff, I believe this is the basic of the hospitality business and I am please we are excelling on those categories.
Regarding the buses from Keswick; we are working closely with the local community requesting adequate timetable from the bus company. Also, we have a selection of local Taxi Company who can provide services at very reasonable price.
Finally, I am sorry you feel the price of the beverage was too high and take the comment on board.
Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
18.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,626 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
464 reviews
24.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.8 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Address: | Near Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#4 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Castle Hotel Bassenthwaite
Best Western Keswick
Best Western Castle Hotel
Best Western Bassenthwaite
Bassenthwaite Best Western
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel Bassenthwaite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing