We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Maryport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top place to stay”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Well me and my Girlfriend have recently stayed here for the Valentines weekend break and we have loved every moment of our experiance. The hotel was awsome, very clean and comforting. The staff were top notch and the room was unbelievable. I would like to pass on my thanks to the whole staff and the managment for a great experiance and we will be looking forward to staying there again very soon in the future

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleInnManager, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for the feedback, i am happy you had a great time at the Hotel over the Valentine's day period.
alongside the entire team, i wanted to also thank you for the kind words, it has been warmly received. We look forward to seeing you again.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    308
    113
    60
    50
See reviews for
173
506
11
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed for two nights and were delighted with all aspects of the hotel and service. Our room was great with all facilities expected, large comfy bed, very clean, with good heating that was easy to control. Free wifi was a huge advantage. The hotel bar, restaurant and lounge offer lots of nice areas to sit and relax. The afternoon tea and scones were excellent. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Food was great. An ideal location to explore the surroundings. The pool was great too. Overall, we would come back happily.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helloholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleInnManager, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thank you for the review, i appreciate you taking the time to express how you feel about your recent stay at the Castle Inn.
We look forward to hosting you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed one night mid week on business.

The hotel has undergone major refurbishment and as a result appears on the surface to be very plesant indeed.

The staff are warm and friendly, the bar area is inviting and the food is excellent.

My room was in the old building and was large, clean and spacious.

It is difficult for me to comment on location as I arrived late and left early, but my impression was that is was in a scenic area.

Would I stay again, Yes, no worries at all on that.

ONE THING TO REMEMBER: DO NOT USE THE POST CODE TO FIND IT WITH A SATNAV!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spiderdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleInnManager, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Many thanks for your review and i do hope you will have more time to spend with us and explore the beautiful surrounding next time. Again thank you for taking the time to write about the castle inn and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My partner and i Stayed here for 3nights in oct 2011,and had the most amazing,memorable time that will stay with us for a lifetime...the views were overwhelming,spa and swimming pool were lush,the rooms were clean and apt,restaurant for breakfast was fine,in particular eggs benedict was amazing :-)dinner was good slightly over priced for what it was,& room service was v.good too..staff are polite and helpful.. When we return to the lakes we will definately consider returning.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobahnmillsmissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleInnManager, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Thank you for the post, I have passed on the great comments to the staffs. Breakfast Dave and Rene in the kitchen appreciate the feedback about the eggs Benedict. Give them a shout next time you are staying at the hotel I am sure they will love to say hello.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

My partner and I have just throughly enjoyed a 3 night stay at this wonderful hotel. From the first moment we walked in to a very friendly welcome from your very efficient receptionists, 'til the moment we left, I could not find any fault with hotel whatsoever!
We booked an executive room for our stay. We were totally amazed by the room allocated to us. It was fantastic! The space we had was just unbelievable. We had a lovely comfy sitting area, settee and chairs and a huge flat screen tv. A fridge was a real bonus. The bedroom boasted space and luxury, another tv and lots of storage space. The bathroom was also huge! Not only was there a lovely big deep bath, but a separate shower too. The bathroom was immaculately clean, in fact, the whole room was absolutely spotless. Being a lover of gadgets, I was particularly pleased to find two hairdryers in the room!!! One in the bathroom and one by the dressing table area. The room was just lovely.
The food was beautifully cooked and prepared. We ate in the bar twice, the surroundings of which were contemporary yet cosy. Jackie on the bar was a real gem!! There was plenty of menu choice plus a 'specials' menu.
Breakfast was again superb. So much choice, to suit everyone. It was cooked to perfection. The restaurant staff were very friendly and so helpful.
Overall, I could go on about this lovely hotel for hours. It is a wonderful place, in stunning surroundings. We would definitely recommend it to any traveller looking for a relaxing break. Thank you for making our stay memorable! Try it!

Room Tip: For space and luxury book an executive room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleInnManager, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Thank you for the great review, I have shared your comments with the entire team and on behalf of the staffs would like to let you know that it is very much appreciated. Jackie say Hi, and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Quality of bedroom and bathroom was excellent for a hotel in this range. Great shower and bath. No evidence of peeling paint, threadbare carpets etc. that is becoming so common in mid-range British hotels these days.
Really friendly staff and restaurant food was good, although the menu is not particularly extensive nor exciting.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strudwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleInnManager, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
I am happy to read that you find our rooms excellent, I will also passed on the great comments to Pete and Kevin, my maintenance team who will really appreciate the mention. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Booked a break with my girlfriend and everything was great during our stay. Room was huge so we could leave all our outdoor equipment in lots of space rather than in cramped conditions as so often happens. Easy to find and friendly helpful staff who knew the area well. Dinner was lovely after relaxing in the pool from our walking. Will be bringing our bikes next time as secure cycle storage so we can explore Whinlatter Forest.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleInnManager, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Great review. Thank you for taking the time to share with others about how you feel about your recent stay with us. Definitively take the bikes with you next time we have some cracking surrounding to explore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
18.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,638 reviews
24.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
718 reviews
2.9 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
468 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Address: | Near Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#4 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Castle Hotel Bassenthwaite
Best Western Keswick
Best Western Castle Hotel
Best Western Bassenthwaite
Bassenthwaite Best Western
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel Bassenthwaite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing