We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid at all cost” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Avoid at all cost”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Turned up without a booking at the pub (not at the £25/head restaurant) and ended up having a saggy meal after fifty minutes wait. The waiteress was so ashamed she disappeared and send a colleague to deal with us. I was with two kids and we ordered burgers and pasta. Avoid! The place is a rip off!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleInnManager, Deputy General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear reviewer,
I am sorry if you had a bad experience during your last visit. As you can see from the previous comments on this site, we normally provide excellent service and it is most regrettable if on this case we did not deliver the level of service we are known for.
I am again apologetic for the delay you experienced, it was due to human error at the time of placing the order with the kitchen.
I hope you will give us another chance to impress you with what we do best.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    283
    102
    54
    42
See reviews for
153
471
10
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We returned to this hotel for the first time since we originally stayed there on honeymoon 36 years ago. We wanted a two night stay in the North Lakes and the Castle Inn ticked a lot of boxes for us. We were very impressed by the helpfulness and kindness of all the staff. We bought a two night dinner, bed and breakfast package. The food was of a high standard and the hotel has been undergoing a period of significant refurbishment and improvement although this appears to be not yet fully completed. On arrival we received an upgrade to a suite and noted in particular the very modern attractive bathroom. Would we return? Most definitely and thank you Castle Inn for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunsearcher55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleInnManager, Deputy General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for this excellent review, i am glad we ticked all the boxes.
It has been a pleasure to welcoming you back at the Castle inn after all this years, we look forward to your return, maybe on your anniversary.
Again many thanks for taking the time and sharing how you feel about us.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed as a couple at the Castle Inn for a weekend break on 30/3/2012 for 2 nights D,B&B. We chose to stay in a Suite Room 32, It was most definitely the room to stay for the views of the mountains and the lake and also the gardens which are very well presented. The Dinners and the breakfasts were extremely good and the service in the main was excellent. Particular note has to be made of Katalain (Ritsons Restaurant) and Laura (Reception) who both showed a wish to please in abundance. The rooms have had a refit recently and whilst they now look fresh and clean, they have not removed the character of the property with the furnishings. The Bathrooms are very contemporary and feel good to be in, however, the build quality seems to have been let down slightly with some of the grout in the floor tiles already cracking and coming out, possibly something that only someone with building experience would notice. Pillows and bedding looking a little tired, had to ask for extra pillows due to being too flat, but supplied without problem with better pillows when asked at reception immediately. Overall it was a very good weekend and all the facilities are what you would expect of a 4 star hotel with the exception of no bathrobes supplied, which when you have a lot of windows in the room it is necessary to cover up when drying hair etc.
Would definitely go again and have been looking at dates in the summer but appear to rise incredibly so may be out of reach.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenlynn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleInnManager, Deputy General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear reviewer,
Thank you for the great feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your week end with us at the Castle Inn. I have passed on your kind comments to the staffs and especially Laura and Katalin who are very happy with the mention.
We all look forward to welcoming you again soon at the hotel.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We have just returned from a two night family break at the castle inn. The family room was very clean and surprisingly large with double aspect views (room 35), lovely new bathroom. Our children loved the swimming pool and games room with TV/Wii games and table tennis. We ate in the bar and the food was fresh and very tasty.

The gardens are a nice place to spend a few hours with drinks and there is a lovely little tree swing and well kept grassy areas for the children to play.

We will be back to this hotel again, a well hidden gem! Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleInnManager, Deputy General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Great feedback,
Thank you to you and your family for choosing to stay at the Castle inn. We are proud to have a wild range of guest staying with us from business travelers to romantic leisure break and, like in your case, family get away. We are extremely lucky to have the perfect setting with our Leisure center, games room, conference center, beautiful beer garden and two dinning option to accommodate all the different needs of our guests.
Myself and the team are looking forward to welcoming your family again soon and we hope you found a home away from home at the Castle Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Called in Friday evening for an unbooked evening meal enrolee our motoring weekend in the area. We thought it looked like a warm and welcoming country pub, which it is. Inside though it turned out to be huge and very modern. Atmosphere was a bit on the chilly side though. Anyway great service and good food BUT if you are dining there beware the misleading menu price. It's published as 23 50 for 3 courses but what it means that it's a set price so even if you go for 2 courses it's still 23 50. This was not mentioned by our server but surfaced when we came to pay. Regrets expressed by the management at our misunderstanding but no offer of any reduced payment despite our rationale protests. You have been warned. March 2012 Phil and Nora Mid Wales

Room Tip: None, we didn't sto
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Visoflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleInnManager, Deputy General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear Phil and Nora,
Thank you for stopping by and dinning with us.
It is nice to hear the great comments regarding our food and service, we are having fantastic reviews coming through recently and this is a credit to our dedicated staffs.
on another note, i am sorry you were not aware about the 3 courses choice menu set up in our Dinning room, it seemed the Laker's Lounge & Bar "a la carte" option would have been the better option for you on this occasion.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are touring the North Lake District.
Regard,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

A warm welcome, we had an executive rioom on the ground floor, lovely size, good storage and plenty of hangers. Bathroom seems newly fitted and was excellent. All the staff were friendly and helpful especially Yann, the Deputy Manager, the food in the restaurant was delicious and there were plenty of relaxed seating areas. Great value for money and will certainly be back

Room Tip: Try an executive room in the old house
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleInnManager, Deputy General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear reviewer,
Great comments, thank you very much for taking the time and sending your feedback regarding your recent stay. I have passed on your praises to Chef and his team and i also wanted to acknowledge the kind mention, thank you very much and i look forward to welcoming you back at the Castle Inn.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benidorm
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed at the Castle Inn at the beginning of March and thought the hotel was very good and the staff very helpful . . . except the manager. He spoiled our second evening (which was a celebration for our anniversary) by being very inflexible. We wanted to eat in the restaurant but only have 2 courses rather than 3 but he would not budge from the set menu of 3 courses. What a ridiculous situation. We were prepared to pay £20 for 2 courses (+£20 for a bottle of wine), rather than £25 for 3 but no, he couldn't possibly let that happen as the directors had decided it was a set menu. (Why they bother having a manager if he can't make decisions I really don't know.) I didn't think I could eat so much and then do justice to the lovely breakfast the next day. In the event, we ended up eating in the bar which was lovely . . . and we had 2 courses. It still took the edge off our celebrations. The room was good, though the Hilton executive rooms are bigger. The bathroom was fabulous - all brand new. We would stay again but be prepared to eat out next time. The remainder of the staff were lovely and so helpful - they really couldn't do enough for you - from the reception staff to the breakfast staff to the cleaning staff - all fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cath54Huddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleInnManager, Deputy General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thank you for the review, some great comments regarding the staffs, and i am also please you had a nice meal in our Laker's.
I am sorry if you felt the dinning room set up was not the best for you, we are constantly listening to our guests feedback's and providing what is the best for our customers.
We are having great comments at the moment about the "a la carte" menu in the Laker's lounge and Bar and the 3 courses choice menu in Ritson's Dinning room. However, i have taken on board your views and will certainly consider changes next time we review our dinning options set up.
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.6 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
18.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
2.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
24.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
Address: Near Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#4 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Castle Hotel Bassenthwaite
Best Western Keswick
Best Western Castle Hotel
Best Western Bassenthwaite
Bassenthwaite Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing