We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay & excellant facilities and service!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Leicester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb stay & excellant facilities and service!!”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My wife and i and our 9 year old son booked this with the groupon org and we had a fantastic time and stay. It was our 30th anniversary and we travelled from the midlands but wasn`t disappointed one bit even though its a long trip for us.
We upgraded to a family room and had room 21 which overlooks lake Bassenthwaite & was superb. Lovely & clean & very spacious. The hotel facilities were first class & we would recommendend it this hotel to anyone. We ate in the main restaurant on the Sunday night and the meal was first class, as was the breakfast each day too.
We ate in the bar one evening and equally the food and service was first class!
The pool and spa facilities were also excellant and the big games room was brilliant for our son to kill a few hours. I haven`t played table tennis for years and it was great!!!
Congratulations to all the staff and management for a first class hotel.
Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and would stay there again & again & again..............

Room Tip: If you want a large and spacious family room ask for room 21 & you will not be disappointed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    301
    107
    58
    48
See reviews for
167
497
10
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed here with a groupon deal and we thought it was lovely. We upgraded for only £15 a night to room 21. It was a really large room with two large windows overlooking the lake and the hills. Simply stunning. Staff were very friendly and always very helpful.
There is a big pool with spa jacuzzi sauna etc. These facilities were great although the changing rooms, a bit like some of the common areas were dated. I also used the small gym-also very good.
The hotel is very isolated which did not trouble us in the slightest. It is a short walk from Bassenthwaite Lake which is small and idyllic.
Really lovely and hopefully will return soon.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Zeki-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Booked this hotel as a birthday treat for my daughter's birthday & myself. To advertise this hotel as having spa facilities is somewhat misleading. Jacuzzi was out of order and the 'spa' facilities were disappointing and dated...more akin to a local authority leisure centre...The executive room I booked had not been cleaned properly so when I returned home & also discovered I had been billed for a newspaper I not received I wrote to the owner directly and received a very condescending reply. I have used a number of Best Westerns but it is apparent their standards are definitely slipping and their regard towards their customer's grievances basically contemptuous. The staff were very friendly...management could learn from their example. Needless to say my next break is now booked with Premier Inns...excellent rooms, value for money and customer service.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleInnManager, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Rosina S,
It is disappointing to read negative review, and i am apologetic if you feel our standards are not at the top level, but i am a strong believer in using this kinds of feedback to make our team and hotel better. I would be happy if you could contact me with more details about your stay, with further information i'll be able to conduct a full investigation and rectify, if possible, the area we faulted on this occasion.
Thank you for taking the time. Kind regards,
Yann, Deputy General Manager
yann.besombes@castleinncumbria.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The hotel is situated about 6 miles away from Keswick. It is aimed at the family on a walking holiday and the wedding reception market. Plenty of free parking available

The location is only an issue when it comes to eating of an evening and you want an alternative to the hotel. I ate in the hotel bar and found the food to be of good quality and generous portions, but a touch expensive for a family of 4 e.g. Burger & Fries was £10.

My room was an executive double, and was modern, smart and clean. Comfy bed and great shower and bathroom.

There is an excellent leisure club; great pool, jacuzzi and a small sauna room made for a great way to finish the day. A refundable £1 coin for the locker is needed.

My experience of the reception & bar staff was of them all being people from the local area who were pleasant, happy to help and accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T7PDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleInnManager, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear guest,
Many thanks for the comments, I am glad you enjoyed the facilities and we are looking forward to welcoming you and you family back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester u.k
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Excellent hotel with spa and indoor swimming pool, set in beautiful location in the lakes, Perfect for a weekend break. The rooms are very nice with a modern cottage decor the hotel has a bar and restaurant great place relaxing break would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigst4r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleInnManager, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear reviewer,
Thank you for the comments, Good to hear you had a nice time at the Castle Inn, we look forward to you return. Again many thanks. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My husband and i stayed at the hotel for 4 days in march.All the reviews are correct. From the staff on reception to the room maids all so very helpful ! And now the food, we have done
cruises , but this was some of the best food ever!! They upgraded us to a suite which was lovely . Just like to say thanks, you have a great team.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maureen075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleInnManager, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Great review, thank you very much for the post.
I have shared your comments with the staffs and Chef and his team were delighted with such fantastic review. We look forward to welcoming you again. Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Family room 40 has no view but this did not matter much. The room is excellent with 2 separate rooms and 1 en suite. Very clean and comfortable with plenty of space and 2 TV's. Beds are very comfortable. Nice pool. Bar meal left a lot to be desired, not very nice at all, service extremely slow and had to go in search of seating for tables with no chairs. (Should perhaps have tried the restaurant!) Staff were very helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Good price on line as we booked late.

Room Tip: Very quiet room but no view-room 40
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleInnManager, Deputy General Manager at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time and express how you felt about your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed the set up we have for families, and also, i appreciate the great comments regarding our staffs. I am aware that the Laker's bar can get very busy at time and we are now creating extra seating area and hope it would reduce any delay we may have at extremely busy periods.
Regard,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,608 reviews
18.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
24.8 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
519 reviews
2.9 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Address: | Near Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#4 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Castle Hotel Bassenthwaite
Best Western Keswick
Best Western Castle Hotel
Best Western Bassenthwaite
Bassenthwaite Best Western
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel Bassenthwaite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing