We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday stop-over.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Holiday stop-over.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Although a lot of people seem to have enjoyed staying here, we were very dissapointed. We booked four nights in an Executive Suite for a nice quiet, luxury break. What we got was an ordinary room with very little luxury, worn furniture, shabby carpets and decoration the was needing some TLC. Must admit the bedding and towels were clean so that was a bonus mark. The Bar and Restaurant menu is very limited and very expensive, breakfast costing nearly £30 for a couple. I asked for a jacket potatoe instead of chips with my meal, and was told I would have to pay £7.50 off the childs menu, plus the full price of the meal on the adults menu. The second evening I was given a jacket potatoe which was a re-heated one and was unable to eat it. I spoke to the waiter and he just shrugged and walked away. We complained to the Reception staff and really nothing was done about it. It is a four star Hotel with four star prices, not worth it! The leisure centre is quite nice, but changing rooms are left untidy with damp towels all over the place. There are much better hotels in the area, try them.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janice61xxx48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleinnDirector, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Guest

May I thank you for taking the time to write your recent review. My sincere apologies if you found some aspects disappointing. Clearly £7.50 for a Jacket Potato instead of chips is not correct and we have made a fatal error in quoting you this price. I need to ensure that further training is given to the junior members of the food & beverage team. The room that you stayed in is an Executive Room which was refurbished to high specifications three years ago. The maintenance and housekeeping team here conduct daily room checks to ensure that the room is ready for new guests and to ensure we are maintaining the high standards set by AA and Best Western.

The two choices of food outlets in the hotel consist of Ritsons Restaurant where we offer a delicious daily changing 5 choice Table D’hote menu. In Lakers Bar we offer a comprehensive bar menu which include 10 starters, 12 main courses and 7 desserts, this is also in addition to the 4 daily changing specials. Also we now offer authentic Tapas on Friday nights, so my apologies if you felt that the menu choice was insufficient.

As always I will review all of your comments with the management team and ensure that the issues raised, are immediately addressed. Hopefully you will try us again and I would love the opportunity to meet with you to ensure that your next stay is a more pleasurable one.

Peter L. Wells.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    283
    102
    54
    42
See reviews for
153
471
10
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Excuse the play on words that is the title of this review but I was so impressed that I felt I just had to write a review at the earliest opportunity.I have stayed in other Best Western hotels and they are generally of a good standard but this is in a different league.A quiet location but not too far from Keswick and easy to use as a base to explore the region.Everyone is welcome - walkers and wedding-goers as well as conferences and exhibitions.We had a suite which was good value for money and had three large rooms on an upper floor.There is a bar at the front with pub prices and excellent bar food - on a short stay there would be no need to use the more formal dining area.Freshly prepared and generous portions.Breakfasts were cooked to order.Use of the leisure facilities is a major benefit - swimming pool/sauna/steam room and gym.If you were being really picky you might say that sound insulation between rooms could be better.Staff helpful and friendly,rooms very clean and well equipped.Overall - very pleased.

Room Tip: Towards the rear of the building helps to eliminate such road noise as there is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luxurygap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleinnDirector, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Guest

May I thank you for taking the time to write your recent review. I will pass on your fantastic comments to the hardworking team here at the Castle Inn Hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Thank you once again.

Peter L. Wells
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
253 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

The Castle Inn can rightly boast top marks for its position, staff and food. Try their new Friday evening Tapas menu - it's very good. However, their leisure facilities are not earning any Brownie points.
Changing room: had to move the clutter left on the benches by other users despite notices on the walls asking customers to use the lockers to free up bench space.
Steam room: erratic to say the least. Members of the club were splashing cold water about in order for the thermostat to kick in or were leaving the door open to get it to work! There was a hint of essence but it did little to mask the dank smell associated with dirty drains.
The Jacuzzi: Closed until further notice. Apparently this ancient machine has regularly conked out over the years. Oddly I couldn't find any reference to a Jacuzzi on the hotel website.
The hotel boasts a large new reception area and car park which makes one expect equally impressive facilities within. Not so. Which is a shame.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wainwright007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleinnDirector, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Guest

May I thank you for taking the time to write your recent review. My apologies that you found fault with some aspects of our hotel. We do endeavour to ensure that everyone who stays at the hotel goes away happy. Rest assured I will investigate the points raised.

Peter L. Wells.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

Location, location, great hotel and great staff! Location, location, great hotel and great staff! Location, location, great hotel and great staff!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JurgenT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleinnDirector, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent great review of our hotel. I will pass on the comments to the team and I will look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Peter L. Wells.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

We stayed in a nearby cottage, came here for a few drinks and to watch the footie (Euro 2012). The service in the bar was OK, the beer was OK, atmosphere OK.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DINKYBoyandGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brighton
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

I stayed here on a work away day and was pleasantly surprised - never having stayed in a Best Western before. The location is lovely, the rooms are very well appointed, staff are friendly and the breakfast included a really good choice. What's not to like?!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimmyBNewBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for kind words about your recent stay at the hotel. I am glad that you chose to stay with us on business and it’s great to see that it was your first time with us and Best Western hotels, although we are independent hotel we work with Best Western to support us in marketing and sales. I hope you come back visit us again. Kind regards, Peter L. Wells Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights in June and had an enjoyable stay. Which picked this hotel as we were using the Tesco Clubcard offer and because of it's location. It's located in a quiet area and is not too far from Keswick which proved very handy.

We arrived early and the staff were very nice and allowed us to check in early.

We stayed in a standard double and were impressed by the room. Nicely decorated with good quality furnishings and the bathroom was huge! Nice big double shower and a large bath too. There are no fridges/mini bars in the rooms, but if you would like to keep a bottle of wine cool you can get ice from the bar, which was handy.

Breakfast was lovely, choice of cereals, cakes, fruit etc and also a menu to order a hot breakfast from.

We didn't eat in the restaurant, but ate in The Lakers Bar. Prices are on par with other local bars, the staff there were very friendly and the food was tasty.

The only thing that was disappointing was the jacuzzi being out of order, and after a whole day of hiking it would have been nice to use this. However we made do with the pool, steam room and sauna.

The one thing that particularly stands out from our stay is the staff, everyone was so friendly and very helpful,

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs_Shakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for kind words about your recent stay at the hotel. As mentioned in previous responses I and the management team always review feedback good and bad to the rest of the team, so we can act upon the issues or celebrate the success. Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Peter L. Wells Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.6 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
18.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
2.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
24.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
Address: Near Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#4 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Castle Hotel Bassenthwaite
Best Western Keswick
Best Western Castle Hotel
Best Western Bassenthwaite
Bassenthwaite Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing