We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Used tesco vouchers for 2 nights which equated to £289 for the room, I'm just glad I didn't have to pay cash, for a £145 a night room I expect A LOT more than a shower that dribbles water, no power at all, and a basic sprung mattress.
Staff were very welcoming and extremely friendly, pool is nice addition too.
Remote but beautiful location, nice and quiet, not great for small children.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steveo911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pleewells, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay. We always try ensure that every aspect of the stay is enjoyable for all our guests. Please could you contact me direct, so that I can talk to you about the points raised.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (949)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

619 - 625 of 949 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed here on the 23rd November, went for my birthday, and booked the suite, our room was full off dead flies, when we went to tell receptionist they give us another room, which was a lot smaller, when duty manager came to the room 3 hours after, all she was allowed to offer us was a free drink!!! Overall bad experience, an would advise people not to stay there!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kayleigh1987a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pleewells, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Kayleigh

Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Castle Inn Hotel ! and we are all very upset to read your comments.

Unfortunately as we are in the countryside (Lake District) this sometimes does occur. Myself and my Assistant Manager dealt with this issue and as far as I was concerned, it was dealt with immediately by removing the couple of flies, offering an upgrade to our larger Four Poster Suite and as a gesture of goodwill offering you a complimentary drink for the inconvenience caused but we are really sorry if this is not what you were looking for !!

As you will read on this review website, we pride ourselves on being a very good AA accredited 4 star hotel, so hopefully people will take a considered view of all our comments and stay with us despite your views.

Best wishes


Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Great time, very friendly staff, excellent food, comfy rooms will return again soon. Visited after a very bust time at work looking for a relaxing time which the hotel and staff absolutely gave us. So batteries recharged can face life again. Guess it won't be long before we are back!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pleewells, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent positive review about the Castle Inn Hotel. I will share your comments with the team.

We are really pleased that your batteries are fully re-charged and that you had a relaxing time and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards


Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We had a weekend break at the Casle inn hotel in keswick for my birthday. WE took our little dog Daisy with us we were looked after very well. Food was exellent as well as the facilities. I would highly recomend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pleewells, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent positive feedback regarding the Castle Inn Hotel. We welcome dogs to the hotel together with their owners! and we have two bedrooms which have direct access to the hotel grounds in order to exercise the dogs.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best wishes

Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

It was a Sunday so that explains the lifelessness. We were upgraded to a huge suite, which was great. Everything else was just ok really. No issues but no wows. The staff were all nice and friendly, especially the receptionist and the new batman.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLEEWELS, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review.

I'm disappointed to read that you thought the hotel was lifeless and there were no Wows!

We do try our best to ensure that we cater for everyone's needs. We are 4 star hotel with the usual facilities, cosy lounges, roaring fire in Lakers Bar, together with the Leisure Club and Games Room. We over-look Skiddaw Mountain, Whinlatter Forest and Bassenthwaite Lake.

The hotel is slightly quieter at the moment due to the time of year, but for some that can also be a benefit if you would like to get away from it all and relax.

Thank you for your feedback and I hope that you will return and try us again.

Best wishes


Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We had booked this hotel using our Tesco Clubcard vouchers specifically because they allow dogs. The hotel is quite isolated 7 miles North of Keswick, although this wasn't a problem for us.
We were given a lovely room which had recently been refurbished with direct access to outside for our dog. We had a meal in the bar on the first night which was lovely and breakfast on both days was extensive, well cooked and served by very friendly staff. Overall, apart from some really dreadful weather, a thoroughly enjoyable stay and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: The refurbished rooms were the old Beauty Salon rooms that had outside access and wooden floors idea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLEEWELS, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to review the Castle Inn Hotel and it is pleasing to read your excellent comments about our hotel.

We always welcome dogs and have two rooms allocated for this, a well appointed Standard Double and an Executive Bedroom. Both of the rooms have direct access to outside were there is 9 acres of our own land where dogs (and humans) can run around in. Adjacent to the hotel is Messengermire Wood which has lovely walks and trails that stretch for miles.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We've just returned from a lovely two day trip to the castle inn,but strongly feel that the food on the 2nd day of the trip let this hotel down badly.Our first night we ate in the lakers bar and we couldn't fault it it was very nice.Breakfast on both mornings was fine too,but on 2nd day we had our lunch and also our dinner in the lakers bar and they were both really poor not what you would expect from a 4 star hotel.We also had to upgrade our room as the executive suite we booked was very small and with a 2 year old it was a bit cramped.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLEEWELS, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Dawn

Thank you for your recent positive review of the Castle Inn Hotel. My apologies about the inconsistency of the food during your stay. I have since spoken to my Head Chef and we have made some changes to ensure that this does not happen again.

Thank you once again for your constructive feedback.

Kind regards


Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
18.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
24.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,703 reviews
2.9 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
506 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel

Address: | Near Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Price Range: £52 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Castle Hotel Bassenthwaite
Best Western Keswick
Best Western Castle Hotel
Best Western Bassenthwaite
Bassenthwaite Best Western
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel Bassenthwaite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing