We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bassenthwaite” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bassenthwaite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

This hotel was very good, and in particular the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Fine location for walks and good amenities at hotel - swimming pool, small fitness room, etc. The only disappointment was the quality of the wireless internet throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    283
    102
    53
    42
See reviews for
153
470
10
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had a lovely Christmas break, so nice not to battle supermarket queues! The hotel is very clean and comfortable. My daughter and I enjoyed the gym, Pool and sauna each day. We all enjoyed the location, our 2 Red setters loved Dodd Wood. The only draw back was that though dog friendly we could only have the dogs in our room and one small area of the bar, probably fine in the summer but in cold conditions they couldn't stay in the car so we were stuck quite a lot of the time.
Food was excellent as were the staff, all very helpful, welcoming and cheerful. Paul French was a great host.

We would recommend this hotel but next time the dogs go on their own kennel holiday!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriHandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights between Christmas and New Year. Faultless service by attentive staff, cosy room with everything we needed and tasty food. I found this hotel to represent excellent value for money and would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepperpig1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We have really enjoyed our two night stay at this lovely, family friendly hotel.
The hotel and rooms were very clean and tidy, we splashed our for the four poster - room 34, wow! What a room, really spacious, huge four poster bed, two settees, two large flat screen TV,s ( his and hers). A really really nice room.
We sampled the restaurant on the first night - the 29th, we enjoyed scallops and guinea foul, along with pan fried salmon. Gorgeous.

The hotel is very family friendly providing a games room for children with table tennis, wii, chess, with lost of other games. The swimming pool was very clean and warm.

The staff are very friendly.

I would recommend this to any family

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pleewells, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent feedback about the Castle Inn Hotel. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

I must agree Room 34 is one of my favourite rooms also and we always have positive comments about this four poster bedroom.

thank you once again for staying with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards


Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Just sent Christmas at the Castle Inn, and cannot remember a cleaner hotel. From crisp clean sheets on the bed, gleaming crockery and cutlery at each meal and a dazzling bathroom, everywhere was spotless. Add to this some excellent food, great location and cask ale for £3 a pint and you would be hard pushed to find better value for money at this or any other time of year, excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pleewells, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest

We are really pleased to read your positive comments on Tripadvisor. We also thank you for spending your Christmas at our hotel. The team work really hard to ensure the hotel is always kept clean and well maintained.

I am also pleased to read that you sampled our ales, we offer local brewer Heskett New Market beer and Theakstons all for £3 per pint, which I think is great value.

Thank you once again and we all are looking forward to seeing you again at the hotel.

Best wishes


Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttoxeter
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Just spent 3 nights here over Christmas. Absolutely first class hotel in a beautiful location. Lovely swimming pool - decent size too.
The hotel was spotlessly clean. The food was excellent with a really good choice - breakfasts to die for,
But above all the staff were friendly, efficient, professional. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
Most especially the restaurant staff were superb.
Throughout our say Paul French and his team made sure that we enjoyed every minute of our stay.
This was not our first Christmas away from home, but was the first that we spent in a hotel; and what a great experience it proved to be.
So, a huge 'thank you' to everyone involved at the Castle Inn - it was a joy to be with you at this special time of the year.
We cannot recommend this hotel too highly - superlative in all respects!

Room Tip: Choose a suite -0 well worth the little extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarikaUttoxeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pleewells, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for recent feedback on Tripadvisor. The whole team take a huge pride in ensuring all guests have a fantastic stay with us. I will also pass on your kind words regarding Paul French my Deputy, who I know will be pleased to see this feedback.

Many thanks once gain and we all look forward to hearing from you in the near future.

Kind regards


Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

My company booked a christmas party night, I didn't stay over at the hotel and so my review is of the food and atmosphere which I thought was pretty poor and uninspiring.

I'm leaving a review because I was so disappointed, Ive been to weddings here before and its been great, but no so tonight. Perhaps they need a change of chef or if its the manager whos insisted on this sad menu/pricing then manager needs to be less focused on low cost high profit and more on quality and respect for those eating the food! We are not fools. I suspect most people there could have cooked nicer more lovingly prepared food at home. I had pork terrine, cold and tasteless, then a turkey dinner which came fully plated up dished out without much care, gravy already on and with bought in prepacked veg..... but the main point being that there was just no taste at all. No extras brought to the table.Then cheesecake, just tasteless cream on soggy crumb base. Quite an achievement to serve up 3 courses so very bland.

The atmosphere was poor also. Over dinner the service was watched over closely by a manager keen get everyone fed quickly, which they achieved, but it ended up like a free for all with waiting staff emerging with panicked looks and saying "soup", "turkey", "cheesecake" and then diners shouting "here, over here" and that's how service went. I think it may work better to have staff dedicated to tables rather then dedicated to the dish - one doing soup, one doing terrine etc and no one apart from the the overseeing manager, who did seem very dedicated checking that each table was fully served. Lastly The DJ ..... gosh.... well he seemed to be asleep during the meal, literally eyes closed up on stage, dozing, poor chap looked very bored and had no rapport or attempt to create an atmosphere by introducing tables or making a few jokes or even welcoming people when his time came!

All in all a Straaaange night. Please do better, you know you can!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10diamonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pleewells, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest

I am really sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your Christmas Party with us recently. Particularly as my Conference & Events Manager spoke to the organiser from your company and they had told us that everyone did enjoy themselves.

If you would like to contact me direct and I would be happy to discuss your points raised.

Kind regards


Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.6 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
18.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
24.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
Address: Near Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#4 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Castle Hotel Bassenthwaite
Best Western Keswick
Best Western Castle Hotel
Best Western Bassenthwaite
Bassenthwaite Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing