We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Leisure”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We booked two "Four Poster" rooms on an advanced Dinner, Bed & Breakfast deal. The rooms when excellent value for money both being spacious, very well equipped and comfortable. The dinner and breakfast were both well cooked and delicious. We enjoyed the leisure facilities but would have preferred the Jacuzzi to be working ( a very minor criticism). Great value for money can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pleewells, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for recent review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to read your positive comments and I will certainly share these with the team. We are a family owned and run hotel and we take all comments good and bad seriously so we can celebrate the success and act upon areas that need to be improved.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.


Best wishes


Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    295
    102
    57
    47
See reviews for
160
486
10
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

booked deal via travelzoo for three nights price included dinner on first night. check in efficient pleased with size of room etc lovely bathroom with unusual shaped bath. good choice and timeframe or breakfast. three course meal in restaurant two nights £25 per head little on expensive side for what was on offer and could not opt for fewer courses. meal in bar on one night typical english fayre but again very tasty and edible. did not use leisure faciities although these did seem quite popular. second time stayed in bassenthwaite area very scenic and peaceful. good walking in dodd wood and more so in whinlatter forest just on the opposite side of lake easy access to keswick

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gipster69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pleewells, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for recent review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to read your positive comments and I will certainly share these with the team. We are a family owned and run hotel and we take all comments good and bad seriously so we can celebrate the success and act upon areas that need to be improved. I am sorry that you felt the restaurant TDH menu was a little expensive for the three course meal.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.


Best wishes


Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
173900
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is fab. The staff were welcoming, helpful, polite and friendly. As a treat for my wife's birthday I upgraded to a suite and arranged to have a bottle on ice upon arrival. Perfect. The food was great too as were the facilities in the hotel. The location was a perfect base for excellent walks and exploring the area. We had a great time and felt relaxed and refreshed after our two night stay. Well worth it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 173900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pleewells, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for recent review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to read your positive comments and I will certainly share these with the team. We are a family owned and run hotel and we take all comments good and bad seriously so we can celebrate the success and act upon areas that need to be improved.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.


Best wishes


Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I was on a business trip and was very glad to find this hotel. It is tucked away but it is worth the journey. It had everything I needed, clean well equiped room, free wifi, swimming pool, good meal in the bar. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pleewells, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for recent review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to read your positive comments and I will certainly share these with the team. We are a family owned and run hotel and we take all comments good and bad seriously so we can celebrate the success and act upon areas that need to be improved.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.


Best wishes


Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I booked this hotel as a gift for my girlfriend for Christmas, we stayed for 2 nights. The room was immaculate, Wi-Fi with a bath and a shower. The staff were totally professional and we were were really friendly and helpful. The food was quality and the weekend as a whole was really enjoyable and we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pleewells, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for recent review on Tripadvisor. It is really pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass onto the team your kind words regarding housekeeping and food and glad you made use of the Free WiFi.

Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sherburn in elmet
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Spent the weekend at the Castle Inn this weekend… lovely room and location good for walking. Food was good but very pricey and wine very expensive. Laker Bar was Ok value. Restaurant was over done and felt a bit stuffy. Staff very pleasant - manager tried a bit too hard but then its better than have Basil Fawlty! Would go back but we both agree would probably eat elsewhere.

Has spa facilities but we weren't organised to use them….

overall lovely weekend

Room Tip: Take some wine to drink and consider eating at Armthwaite Hall 10mins on foot from the hotel…..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pleewells, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Amanda s

Thank you for your recent review.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will discuss your feedback with the senior management team. Just as a point regarding the prices, we do constantly check prices with our competitors each year to ensure we are offering the best possible value. For a number of years now, we have constantly found that we are considerably less expensive than equivalent sized 4 star hotels in the Lake District.

That said, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you back at the hotel in the near future.

Best wishes


Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last night in Room 3. Where do I start?! We arrived at the hotel before the check in time. The blonde lady on reception was lovely and went to check if our room was ready early. It wasn't but she said if we wanted to sit in the bar she would come and tell us when it was ready. All of the hotel and bar areas were very clean and looked lovely, especially the roaring fire in the bar! Our room was lovely and after a long wet countryside walk I was happy to get into a very hot shower!

We also ate in the bar, the steak was lovely with real homemade chips!! My partner had the sticky toffee pudding afterwards and it was so tasty! We had to roll back to our rooms after all we ate!

The staff are all so friendly, always have a smile for you and make you feel important. I also like that dogs can stay here and are also allowed into the bar area.

We did not use the leisure facilities so cannot comment on these.

Breakfast again was lovely with a large choice. We would definitely recommend and will be returning again with our dog in tow!

Special mention the the blonde lady on reception with curly hair and I think the manager who served us in the bar area (didn't get names!) You were both lovely and very accommodating!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charlene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pleewells, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Charlene T

We appreciate you taking the time to review the hotel on Trip advisor. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will certainly share and congratulate the positive feedback with the individuals you have highlighted.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Best wishes

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
18.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
18.9 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
2.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Address: | Near Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#4 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Castle Hotel Bassenthwaite
Best Western Keswick
Best Western Castle Hotel
Best Western Bassenthwaite
Bassenthwaite Best Western
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel Bassenthwaite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing