We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Lake District Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing Lake District Weekend”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Check in was an easy experience and were allocated room 14 which was very nice until we retired for the evening and there was a constant dripping of water from a light in the bathroom. Mentioned it next morning and the lady on reception changed our room to No 33 which was a 4 poster suite of which we were very impressed. Restaurant & Bar facilities were excellent along with the staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pleewells, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review. My sincerest apologies about the water noise, I know my maintenance team have now resolved this issue. I am glad that we could accommodate you in one of our four poster suites as a gesture of goodwill and hopefully this made up for the inconvenience caused.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best wishes


Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    301
    107
    58
    48
See reviews for
167
497
10
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
jarra
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

excellent 2 night break, massive room with 4 poster bed, double bath and shower, nice steam room / pool, eat twice in the bar, was nice and well presented, staff all ok, pool was ok, sauna good but small, if you want a nice quiet break, this is the place to be. nice walks

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank ashyJarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pleewells, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Room 34 the four poster suite is one of my personal favourites, with the great views of the gardens, comfortable lounge area and huge Victorian bath..what else do you need.

I will pass on you great comments to the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards


Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I recently visited this hotel with my partner. the customer service was fantastic and by surprise we had been upgraded free of charge on arrival. the food and drink was excellent, reasonably priced, the room was excellent and very hygienic and clean...already looking for our next stay here for longer!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pleewells, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest

We really appreciate your positive comments about your recent stay with us at the Castle Inn Hotel. The team work really hard to ensure every aspect of the guest stay is memorable and I will pass on your comments to the team.

Thank you once again and I look forward to you visiting us again in the near future.

Best wishes


Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perthshire
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Lovely hotel ,lovely staff,minor problem re heating dealt with immediatly. Setting nice and rooms very comfortable. Resturants within hotel ,both very good as there is nowhere else within walking distance. Leisure pool is a good length and immaculate,steam room good too but fan noisy. Overall super stay - would definatly go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank LADYLINDAHILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pleewells, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on tripadvisor. It is great to see such positive comments, although my apologies about the heating but glad it was quickly rectified. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best wishes

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester England
Level Contributor
206 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Every year I organise a walking and golfing holiday for around 25 people in various parts of the UK and believe me it is rare that I don't get any complaints about something in the hotel. In fact it hasn't happened before we came to the Castle this March. That despite the fact we had horrendous wet weather on the Thursday.
The food, service and rooms were excellent. Paul the manager was exceptionally professional and set a high standard that his staff followed. The reception staff were friendly and extremely helpful. They all helped to make the position of group organiser easy and positively enjoyable.
The hotel is well located in a picturesque area.

Room Tip: The suites though at the extreme end of the hotel are worth the consideration of an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seebeforeigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pleewells, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for the recent review on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to look after your group last week and I am glad that you all enjoyed yourselves. I will pass on the great comments to Paul and the team.

We host a number of groups such as yourselves who are on a golfing break and we have the advantage of being so close to Cockermouth Golf Club, Keswick Golf Club 10 minutes drive and Siloth on Solway Golf Club 20 minutes, so the Castle Inn Hotel makes a great base to play at all three these courses and with the added advantage of relaxing in the leisure facility after a hard day on the course!

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best wishes

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,606 reviews
18.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
24.8 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
518 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Address: | Near Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#4 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Castle Hotel Bassenthwaite
Best Western Keswick
Best Western Castle Hotel
Best Western Bassenthwaite
Bassenthwaite Best Western
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel Bassenthwaite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing