We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & Peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, clean room, comfy bed, perfect setting.
Set in lovely gardens.
The jacuzzi spa pool at this hotel hadn't worked on my last 3 visits! They do need to look at fixing this?? It's been out of order for the last 6 months that I know of.
Food and service great.
Hotel comes highly recommended

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank SuzyCordell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

520 - 526 of 968 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

we found this hotel via Trivago and got a very good deal on a standard double room, On arrival we were very happy to discover that we were upgraded to a suite. The staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful.... The pool and fitness room were excellent. One minor drawback, is that the jacuzzi was out of order and hasn't been for some time, however this did not detract from our enjoyment. We thoroughly enjoyed our two night's at this lovely hotel and would happily recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank janices660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Beautiful location, at the top of Lake Bassenthwaite in the north of the lake district. We found this area so much more peaceful, easy going and with far fewer tourists than down by Windermere. Well positioned for some wonderful trips with fantastic scenery: Honister Pass, Whinnlatter Pass, Derwent, Buttermere, also fairly close to the seaside resort of Whitehaven.
The hotel itself had nice rooms and a good restaurant. Our only complaint - bearing in mind that we had found ourselves in the Lake District in the middle of a heatwave - was that there was no air conditioning or fridge in the room. But in all, a great stay and would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Our room was handy for the car park, but close to the road - but don't worry, there's little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank ROBERT R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The hotel though on a main road is very far from the town centre so its best if you want to spend time at the hotel or going around near by. The facilities promised by the hotel like tennis courts, wifi are non existent. The room decor is a tad old the bathrooms are very basic for the price they charge. In fact the common bathrooms were much better off the in room bathroom.
On the positive side, they have a zoo/ animal park right behind them so its a nice stroll down. And for vegetarians like my family and me, we had dinner the last day we stayed there and were blown away. The pasta and lasagna was mind blowing and so was the cheese cake.
Another plus is they have a huge parking!!!!

Overall not a place for a tourist from abroad to stay but good for some one looking for peace and quiet and for that Ravenstone down the road would be better if you don't have kids.

Tip: The bar and the owner of Ravenstone down the road are not to be missed!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chow78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pleewells, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent feedback.

I am not sure what happened to the Tennis Court and Free WiFi but they do exist together with the 15m swimming pool, sauna, steam room, gym, putting green, games room, croquet lawn and many walks and trails from the hotel.

The hotel is situtated in the beautiful northern lake district area overlooking Bassenthwaite Lake and Skiddaw Mountain and approximately 8 miles to Keswick or Cockermouth.

I am sorry that you though the decor was a bit dated, but if you look on our website at the photo gallery you will see that the hotel maintains a traditional but modern feel to the decoration.

We are glad that you enjoyed the other parts of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes


Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Situated in the north lake district, much quieter than southern Lake District, hotel was lovely, clean, small bedrooms, great views, nice garden to walk round. Lovely breakfast, best eggs Benedict (even without the bacon} great choice for breakfast. Lots of walks round about plus easy access to Keswick and Whitehaven. Great little interactive museum "The Beacon" in Whitehaven too.

Room Tip: Not sure which was best room, we were on west and saw lovely sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pleewells, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your recent positive feedback on tripadvisor. We are luckly to be in such a great area in the beautiful unspoilt northern lake district close to Keswick, Cockermouth, Skiddaw Mountain range and Whinlatter Forest but also close to the sea and the lovely marina of Whitehaven and Siloth.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes


Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Castle Inn hotel. The room was nice and clean, the furniture was old and tired, but not a problem after all it does have dogs to stay in it . Bathroom was nice and clean and housekeeping did a good job. All the staff were brilliant. only niggle the WiFi didn't work in that room

Room Tip: We were in Room 70 that allows dogs , it's a nice room even if you haven't got a dog, but do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank pixiewicksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pleewells, Owner at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review about our hotel and in particular room 70. We have two rooms which we allow for dogs, this room and room 17.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes

Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
18.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
586 reviews
0.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
797 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ravenstone Manor Hotel
Ravenstone Manor Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel

Address: | Near Keswick, Bassenthwaite, Keswick CA12 4RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Price Range: £63 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Castle Hotel Bassenthwaite
Best Western Keswick
Best Western Castle Hotel
Best Western Bassenthwaite
Bassenthwaite Best Western
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel Bassenthwaite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing