We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but service needs improvement.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
2 reviews
“Good hotel but service needs improvement.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

We usually stay at the Lodore Falls Hotel which I would recommend but is rather expensive; we thought we’d give this one a try.
Some confusion on our arrival as we had rung and added an extra room, for another family member, to our reservation but this had not been booked; luckily they did have a spare room – a suite with superb views down the lake.
Our family room was huge with 2 flat screen TVs, a large bathroom, ample wardrobe space, a fan (excellent idea, we usually bring our own) and plenty of seating. It was beautifully clean and newly decorated though some of the furniture was a little shabby. The beds are obviously new and rather hard. Our tea and coffee weren't topped up and we had to ask for more.
Breakfast on our first morning was not a good experience; no glasses, milk or fruit juice on the buffet table and we had to wait 40 minutes for our cooked, food making us very late setting out for our day of walking, consequently our tea, coffee and toast were all past their best when it finally arrived. We fared better on the second morning but on asking for more toast were provided with 4 triangles for our table of 5 and my husband had to beg at the kitchen door for more, it duly arrived (most of it was nearly toasted some still warmed bread!) and was plonked down by a rather surly waitress. As this breakfast cost £14.50 –that’s £72.50 for our party - we felt we had not really received good value.
We enjoyed the Lakers bar and chose to eat in there on an evening. Good beer, great friendly attentive staff and lovely food, though again the kitchen struggled with some very long waits for our main course. I imagine that if the children were smaller this could be torture, we left ours playing the Wii (top idea) and table tennis in the Leisure Centre and called them up when food actually appeared on the table.
We all used the pool and it’s a good size, plenty of room for those playing and those swimming, a nice temperature. There’s a great spa – very hot and powerful bubbles and I’m informed that the sauna and steam room were good too. Ladies with long hair be warned you’re only allowed one towel so need to bring a hair towel of your own particularly if the hair dryer isn’t working, as one on occasion when we swam. There is an abundance of notices printed off by the Leisure Centre staff instructing you on dos and don’ts (a pet hate of mine) and I don’t think that the pool and changing rooms have been upgraded yet but other than that it was lovely.
All in all a good stay but not quite 4 star service and attention to detail.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane_565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    287
    102
    56
    46
See reviews for
159
479
10
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

Check in was very quick and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Our room looked was very clean with excellent bathroom with a power shower. The swimming pool at the hotel with jacuzzi really added the icing to the cake for us. Towels were provided and once again staff were very helpful and keen to be of assistance. The jacuzzi was lovely and it was so nice to just lie on a sunbed next to the pool and enjoy the peaceful surroundings. We didn't eat in the restaurant though it looked lovely and the conservatory provided a lovely area to have a drink. We did eat in the bar and though prices were a bit steep the food was good. Excellent location for Keswick and we will certainly be making another visit.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

top hotel to get away from it all and relax,food great in the restaurant and in the bar arear .rooms massive and the bathrooms pool steam room great after a long walk or just to relax and use the spa treatments,staff friendly happy to please room service good will go back,

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank everton0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

top hotel to get away from it all and relax,clean staff friendly ,you can eat in the bar pub food or in the restaurant would go again

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank everton0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leics
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

Huge room, beautifully refurbished. Tiny tiny shower room but all new & good standard.
Bar food was excellent value. Breakfast good - only gripe was that all the crockery at breakfast seemed to have not been cleaned properly.
I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susie1962uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whiteahven
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2009

Having stayed at the Castle inn for a wedding last weekend, everything was excellent, from the BBQ we had on the friday to the meal on Saturday night. Really good and friendly staff. Having Travelled through both nights from home to both events the food alone was worth going for well worth a Look for any one who is looking for a Wedding location. Absolutley first class!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo_han_2003_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2009

Just returned from a lovely stay at the Castle Inn Hotel in the Lakes. What a change, went there a few years ago and it's all been upgraded and looks fantastic. My husband & I wanted to get away from the crowds that you get in the towns & other parts of the Lakes and thought we would give this place another try and were bowled over. Our room was huge and all newly furnished and decorated with a brilliant roll top bath. Food was superb I understand the chef has changed, used the bar to eat on the first night excellant full of locals always a good sign, and the restaurant on the second night.
Did loads of shopping in Keswick, which is one of those old market type towns full of cobble stones and alleys but mostly just lazed around the hotel, staff were excellant and really looked after us - well done Castle Inn, see you again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiringBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
18.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
18.9 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
2.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Address: Near Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#4 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Castle Hotel Bassenthwaite
Best Western Keswick
Best Western Castle Hotel
Best Western Bassenthwaite
Bassenthwaite Best Western
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel Bassenthwaite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing