We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware of contractors”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
GREENOCK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beware of contractors”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2009

Before booking I telephoned the hotel to be assured that there were no problems with flooding in the area only to find on arrival that the B5291 road was closed due to bridge damage necessitating a 20 mile detour.The hotel had a number of contractors staying who dominated the bar area in the evenings making it noisy and busy. Not what you expect of a supposed 4 star hotel at these prices. Overall not value for money and a disappointing experience

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDMGreenock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLEEWELS, General Manager at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2009
Dear Guest, thank you for your recent review.
I am very glad you enjoyed most parts of your stay, but sorry to hear that you had to turn back and use an alternative route. We do have this highlighted on the front page of the website and we are also in close contact with Allerdale Council, they have now put clearer signs to inform motorists. Secondly, as a result of your comments we are now personally informing or future guests to notify them of the situation. I am also sorry that you didn't enjoy the company of the Contractors, as you will be aware they stayed with us because of the devistating floods in the area. I hope you will visit us again in the near future.
Regards, Peter Wells.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    287
    102
    56
    46
See reviews for
158
479
10
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
The Midlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2009

After checking out from the castle inn i felt i had to let people know what a gem it is! we had a lovely stay in a gorgeous suite room in what they call the "house", where we had a king size bed and, making it extra special, in the the bathroom was a roll top bath, very relaxing! we could tell that the hotel has had a lot of refurbishment since our last stay and it has been done very well and really compliments the area. they even have a beauty salon now!(which i used while my husband went for a swim!) treated myself to an elemis facial! we ate in the restaurant this time as it was my husbands birthday and had a lovely meals (it cost a bit extra for the steak but it was worth it, cooked just as he had asked for it) our breakfast was included and we were pleased to see so much available, a good hearty cumbrian full english set us up for the day. we will definitely be returning and would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a break in the lake district, just a stones throw from Bassenthwaite lake and a short drive to Keswick.... absolutely perfect !!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12rach34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLEEWELS, General Manager at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2009
Thank you for your kind words and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the very future, be sure to look at for our up-coming special offers! Peter L. Wells, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2009

Having booked up for a rare, well-earned weekend break we were left feeling more than a little disappointed. Reception upon arrival were curteous and we were directed to our room -the farthest room away at the other side of the building.Now I had booked an Executive room as a treat as we don't get away often, and this is where the disappointment started. I was as I would class a standard roon and certainly not as pictured on the web site. The room had cobwebs from the ceiling down the walls and when you flushed the toilet it continued to flush permanantly.We did have an evening meal in the bar area which although a little pricey was nice.Next morning we tried to shower but it took at least a full five minutes for any hot water to reach our shower. Breakfast was certainly the highlight of our Saturday morning both in terms of service and quality of food , however Sunday breakfast was a totally different experience and it was this that made a lasting impression of our stay. We were directed to an uncleared table and after a long wait it was cleared of plates etc but then the table cloth was brushed clean by hand onto the floor , not what I expected of a so called 4* establishment. The tea/coffee arrived without milk and the waiter was very surly when asked to supply us with some. Also the portions and quality of food was very different from the Saturday morning - less food and seemed to be slapped on the plates!!
The redeeming factors were the pool/sauna facilities which we both used and the Sanctuary therapy which my wife used.
Overall not the service I had expected after paying £125 a night for our rooms and I would not recommend this establishment to family and friends because of poor value for money.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cpn00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLEEWELS, General Manager at Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2009
I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. I have conducted a full investigation of the issues that you have highlighted.

I am sorry that you felt that the allocated room was a distance from reception, but we do have a large hotel, however the furthest bedrooms are indeed a three minute walk from reception, under our continuous development plans which we hope to start shortly, there will be a new reception built at the rear of the hotel near the new car park, this would make the bedroom you stayed in that much closer to reception.

All of our newly refurbished rooms in that area are Executive with brand new bathrooms, beds, soft furnishings and furniture, but I apologise if you did not think it was an Executive room, had we known we would have been happy to upgrade you to one of our suites, which are much larger rooms with an enhanced level of luxury.

The toilet system and the hot water in that area have been checked and all seems to be ok now, but maybe it could have been an exceptionally heavy usage time, although we had no other comments about this issue, we have however analysed the maximum hot water usage in that area and have put plans in place to resolve any possible future issues.

Sunday breakfast is something which the Food and Beverage management team have been made accountable for and I can only apologise for this experience, the guest numbers for Saturday & Sunday were about the same at around 124 guests and as you say your Saturday breakfast experience was good, obviously the inconsistency is not acceptable.

May I thank you for your kind words about Reception, Lakers Bar, Leisure and our Beauty Salon. Once again my sincerest apologies as we constantly strive to achieve 100% guest satisfaction and clearly this didn’t happen in this case and I hope that you would give us another chance and visit again in the near future.



PL Wells

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2009

Stayed here for my birthday and enjoyed every moment- the rooms were very comfortable and spacious, with views over the lake. Didn't use the plasma tv as the stunnings views were more than enough. Very friendly staff who took care of all our needs and excellent spa treaments were very relaxing. The food was excellent-locally sourced and plentifull and the skiddaw ale went down a treat. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarloYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundee
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2009

We had a wonderful time. All the staff were friendly and willing to help at all times. The food was excellent and worth the money you spend. Yes it was a expensive trip away but worth every penny.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DundeeKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2009

Stayed for a weekend with my wife, you know when a hotel is going to be good when its busy and when we pulled into the car park we could see by the amount of cars that this was a good hotel. We had bar meals first night, superb, there was a little wait as it was so busy but we didn't mind as it was so comfortable in the bar. We made full use of their brilliant swimming pool, even found time to have a walk in Winlatter Forest not too far away, not into mountain biking or high wire walking but a lot of people were, definately worth a visit. keswick is a great old fashioned town and a walk to the lake is a must.
Saturday night we ate in the restaurant and I have never had such a great meal, Gordon Ramsey eat your heart out, this was brilliant.
Our room was a standard and huge, if this was standard I would like to know what the executive was like, a separate shower and bath, and a lovely big bed, whoever they got to design this room deserves a pat on the back, although my wife now wants our bathroom done the same way!
All in all a great stay, staff were all brilliant, food was superb and bedrooms immaculate, wll done the Castle, you've got my vote for Best Hotel in the Lakes by far.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alextMalvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2009

We have just returned from 3 night mid-week break at the Castle Inn. The hotel decor is light and airy and the bedrooms had been recently refurbished and were warm. We stayed in a family room, with two separate rooms. We were very surprised at the quality of the evening meals and the friendly service. Good choice of both English and continental Breakfasts.
The indoor swimming pool is lovely, together with Sauna and Steam room.The Hotel is ideally situated for touring the Lake District.
Overall I would say this is probably one of the best 3 star Hotels we have stayed at.

RK

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally4holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
18.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
18.9 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
2.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Address: Near Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#4 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Castle Hotel Bassenthwaite
Best Western Keswick
Best Western Castle Hotel
Best Western Bassenthwaite
Bassenthwaite Best Western
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel Bassenthwaite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing