We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of Link House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Link House
luton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Very clean!
Rooms are lovely & the breakfast was amazing- a great range of food that was wonderfully prepared/cooked.
A very friendly place to stay - a print out of a suggested trip around the lakes was waiting for us on our table at breakfast - a really nice touch.
Would love to go back

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    13
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
30
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

A great place to stay for our short break to the northern lakes and solway coast. The welcome was brilliant with freshly baked Victoria sponge and coffee provided in the comfortable guest lounge on arrival. We opted for an evening meal in on our first night which was an excellent selection of pre booked local produce (very fresh) and good value wines. Breafasts were first class with home produced granola and full cumbrian setting me up for the day.The view from the breakfast dining area over frosty fields in glorious sunshine was stunning, unfortunately it rained heavily the next day(..... but thats the lake district !!) not spoiling the stay with provision for drying wet gear at the hotel. Will definately visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Room was nice & clean. And the staff friendly too. I would definitely use it again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toppers_LSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Link House exceeded my expectations and proved to be a good base from which to explore the northern areas of the Lake District, as it was located in a quiet village close to the main road between Keswick and Cockermouth. The property was in immaculate condition, having been freshly decorated, and the owners were friendly, professional and helpful. Having a comfortable sitting room to relax in after dinner was a welcome addition, as was the ability to dry out boots and clothing in an external drying room. The wifi connection in my room worked well and the meals were good. I hope to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joughin_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I am staying at The Link House now, for a few days walking the hills. The place is just tremendous. Clean, freshly decorated, well kept. The food is excellent - a varied menu, but they do like the order by 10am so they can be sure to meet your needs which seems very fair for a B+B rather than a large hotel. A very good lounge with a bar. The breakfast is superb...cereals, fruit, homemade granoloa, toast, and either boiled eggs or some or all of sausage, bacon, mushroom, egg and black pudding. All excellently cooked and well presented. There is wifi in the rooms...you have to read the 'hotel information' book to get the access codes...and it is free...and there is a computer downstairs for those who do not travel with one. They are walker and cyclist friendly. There are pubs within walking distance. No-one could do it any better!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NjgelF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night at The Link house, en route to Scotland. We had a lovely room over looking a beautiful tree, meadow and the drive way. The room was furnished very tastefully, and the bedding was of high quality. The ensuite was rather small, and the handbasin was in the corner of the bed room. Wifi was accessible only on the ground floor. There is a very pleasant lounge and licensed bar down stairs. We ordered off the menu, prior to arrival, for our evening meal. Very convenient indeed. We found our evening meal to be adequate, however the breakfast menu was a nice surprise offering a range of innovative dishes that lifts the bar from the traditional full English. Well worth a stay.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Coralfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

A fine hotel in an excellent location at the top end of bassenthwaite lake...which I believe is the only 'Lake' in the Lake District...
The owners are perfectly fine, if not a little old fashioned, but the B&B caters for the older generation to be honest. This is not a slight...merely an observation.
That said...my single room was very small but very cheap so expected. They have an alcohol license too which beats the local pub restaurant across the main road, which is just short of five pounds for a cheap lager.
I didn't have the food at guest house myself but smelt good and no complaints from those eating.
Bad points?...don't stay here if you on a stag do
Good points? Great service, location and cleanliness....
Very good points? The breakfast....served to your request and not an ounce of fat on the plate. All local produce...the sausages were huge and so tasty....one of the best breakfasts i have ever had...and i have stayed in some of Europe's finest hotels....

Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thevontrapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
0.8 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,625 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#4 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
526 reviews
1.7 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
463 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Link House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Link House

Property: Link House
Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA13 9YD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Link House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Link House is a late Victorian Country Guest House, situated on the edge of Bassenthwaite Lake, near the Cumbrian towns of Keswick and Cockermouth, with stunning views of both forests and fells. Traditionally built in the late Victorian age, this country house enjoys stunning views of the forest and surrounding fells including the 3046 feet Skiddaw. The sunny aspect gives a warm and comfortable atmosphere in which to relax and feel at home. We are situated almost half-way between the towns of Keswick and Cockermouth, birthplace of William Wordsworth and the oldest town in Cumbria, just off the A66 at the northern tip of Bassenthwaite Lake. Link House is easy to find. In the quieter part of the Lake District National Park, yet with access to many interesting places to visit such as the Whinlatter Visitor Centre where the Ospreys who nest nearby each year, can be viewed. A peaceful location for the serious walker or for touring by car: everyone claims that — but here it’s true! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Link House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Link House Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing