We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay....but.....!”
Review of Link House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Link House
Leicester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Okay....but.....!”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Indeed nice food, comfy bed, clean with delicious breakfast and completely deserviing of their high ratings. Here's our but......we felt the owner should have pointed out at the time of booking or made it clear on his website that if one is a large person then room 4 is not for you. It's shower cubicle is TINY! I was able to squeeze my size 16 body into the tiny space but my stout husband had great difficulty. Hence we only had one shower during our three night stay. Fortunately the weather was not too hot and there was just enough space to have an all over wash. The toilet space was extremely limited too. We asked Rowan the owner if he'd ever had a shower in our room, he said no and pointed out that the room was having an ongoing refurbishment which would in time include a bigger shower! Not our problem Rowan. For £229.50 for our three night stay we would expect a higher standard of bathroom.
We also found that breakfast being served from 8am to 9am was a very narrow window considering that we were on holiday. We were told in no uncertain terms that if we arrived one minute late the kitchen would be closed!!

Room Tip: Don't have room 4 if you are 'of a size' I'm not fat by any means, I'm 5ft 8&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montyshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atkins21, Owner at Link House, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
After your comments we measured the shower. It's a 760 mm square tray with a corner opening which is an industry standard size. I am a size 18/20, my husband is 6 foot and over 15 stone and we have no problems getting in and out to clean it and no other guests have said they had problems fitting in the shower. The bathroom is clearly shown on the booking site you used.

You paid £76.50 per night which included a 15% mid week late booking discount which we consider very good value for the standard of accommodation and breakfast provided.

If you want large bathrooms and late breakfasts then maybe you would be happier in a modern, soulless, chain hotel not an owner operated Victorian Guest House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    13
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
30
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We highly recommend this very well kept house in lovely country. We were met by Judith for a friendly tour and advise, A lovely spacious room with a view. Particularly welcomed seeing sheep in the field when we drew back the curtains. Waited on by Rowan for a very good healthy breakfast, with local produce especially free range eggs. Get the recipe for the healthy granola , missing it already.
The location is handy for fishing and is within easy reach of all the lakes and the coast special mention for the clean, well kept beach at St Bees.
The whole lakeland area is well mantained and welcomes all forms of amatuer sporting activities.
Thank you Judith and Rowan for making us so welcome and a lot of lovely memories.

Room Tip: Take a room at the front to watch the sheep in the field opposite adorable happy well fed sheep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This place was a well located, very clean and comfortable B & B. Upgraded to a superior room at the front to have a lovely view. Also had bottled water and biscuits every day. Large towels and dressing gowns also included. Room had been recently refurbished. The beds were a little on the firm side but comfortable enough although our backs were aching by the end of our 5 night stay!
Free wi-fi connection was a bit hit and miss though!
Good points: Very nice breakfast, freshly cooked with lots of choice. Thoroughly recommend the home made granola with the Greek yoghurt. Fresh milk in fridge for coffee in room any time of day.
Bad points: E-mail confirmation only 2 weeks before we stayed there mentioned a package half day booking with the local spa for £10 - this was unavailable. According to another visitor the chance to have an evening meal, if booked the day before, had also been discontinued.
The owners very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Front of house worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canterbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Link house is an immaculate guest house situated within walking distance of Bassenthwaite Lake. Upon arrival, even though we were early, we received a warm welcome and were shown to our lovely spotless twin room with breathtaking views of the surrounding countryside. We had our own private en-suite as well which was a real bonus. Breakfast in the morning was delicious, the Full English was cooked perfectly and there was also a wide range of cereals, jams and juices. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and definitely recommend this excellent guest house.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carltrinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is a terrific place to stay. The rooms we booked (one double en-suite and one single en-suite) were clean and smart and, we believe, recently refurbished. Beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was a particular highlight with freshly cooked, local produce used. The owners have a genuine interest in making the stay enjoyable and pay lots of attention to detail; a previous reviewer who commented about price should take this into account since many chain hotels do not always provide genuine, personal service.

Room Tip: Phone the owners to discuss your particular requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffordSkippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

From the booking this place was amazing. They were so helpful and friendly. We were only there one night wish it could have been more. The rooms were well apointed and very clean and worth the money. The breakfast was worth it alone, a full cumbrian is highly reccommended along with the home made grenola. Will stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: The front rooms have a view although the others very nice. They also have singles which is very use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleSH1574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Booking was easy and finding the hotel off the A66 was equally fine. We were glad to have booked dinner up front on our first night. Pre dinner drinks served in the lounge followed by a tasty dinner - we were the only guests eating in that night, but that was fine. Mr Atkins was attentive but not constantly hovering around, so it felt very leisurely. The food was lovely - we can recommend the home made salmon terrine! Do ask for the wine list if you fancy more than 187 ml bottle. Breakfast was delicious and catered for lots of tastes. The berries, yoghurt and granola mix was a great start to the day. The owners were very helpful when I felt ill (nothing serious). Fresh milk for the room is wonderful! A really great idea, as is the downstairs PC giving out the weather forecast. Very useful, given the vagaries of the British summer! The room was well equipped, with trouser press, hairdryer, extra blankets etc, complimentary water, tea and coffee tray. We felt valued and looked after but not in a pushy, overfamiliar way. It was a lovely stay. I think that owners really tried hard to make us feel welcome! Other points - the Pheasant Inn is very nice but pricey (a nice treat) - only a five minute walk away and don't be put off crossing the A66. Equally, visit the Silver Meadows nature reserve.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a great view of the fell in front of the hotel, but can be a little noisy. We kept the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
0.8 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,625 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#4 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
526 reviews
1.7 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
463 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Link House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Link House

Property: Link House
Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA13 9YD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Link House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Link House is a late Victorian Country Guest House, situated on the edge of Bassenthwaite Lake, near the Cumbrian towns of Keswick and Cockermouth, with stunning views of both forests and fells. Traditionally built in the late Victorian age, this country house enjoys stunning views of the forest and surrounding fells including the 3046 feet Skiddaw. The sunny aspect gives a warm and comfortable atmosphere in which to relax and feel at home. We are situated almost half-way between the towns of Keswick and Cockermouth, birthplace of William Wordsworth and the oldest town in Cumbria, just off the A66 at the northern tip of Bassenthwaite Lake. Link House is easy to find. In the quieter part of the Lake District National Park, yet with access to many interesting places to visit such as the Whinlatter Visitor Centre where the Ospreys who nest nearby each year, can be viewed. A peaceful location for the serious walker or for touring by car: everyone claims that — but here it’s true! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Link House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Link House Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing