We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great break,very friendly owners and staff.”
Review of Ravenstone Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ravenstone Manor
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and had a really superb time. the owners and staff were really pleasant helpful and chatty which all made for a very relaxed atmosphere. the food was very nice and the hotel itself was spotless. a beutiful old building in a great situation with superb views across bassenthwaite water and close to some great little walks through dodd wood. we will definatley be returning and would reccomend to anyone. sue and ian

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smudge69chester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstonehome, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2012

Sue and Ian,
So glad you had a great time with us. It was rather fun sitting and chatting with you and hope we can do it again soon.
Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,090)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

832 - 838 of 1,090 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and have a fantastic time. The staff are so friendly and cant do enough for you, they really make your feel welcome and nothing is too much trouble for them. The hotel was very clean and the food was fab, just a short drive away from Keswick and would definatley stay here again and would reccomend others to stay too. Laura nad Ryan

Room Tip: standard double rooms have a very small bathroom, this wasnt a problem for us but if you like a spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1,983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstonehome, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2012

Laura and Ryan,

Thank you for coming to stay with us and we are happy that you had a good time. We look forward to seeing you again.

Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Stayed here for two nights and will definitley go back. The owners and staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. The drinks were reasonably priced and the food was of a very high standard. The hotel is very traditional and beautiful inside and out with stunning views.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstonehome, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We hope to make all stays wonderful and relaxing and are hoping to see you again soon.
Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Had a great 2 night stay, from the moment we entered the Hotel we were greeted by Kim. Family run hotel all the family were friendly mingling with the guests to make sure the were well looked after nothing too much trouble the hospitality is 2nd to none. Food was delicious. Rooms warm clean and comfortable.Roaring log fires .Well equiped games room good atmoshere we will definately be returning. Well reccommened for weekends away.

Mark & Mary

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstonehome, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2012

Mark and Mary,

Thank you for staying with us and are so glad that you had a good time. Looking forward to more chats by the fire next time you come visit.

Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Walk from the hotel to the top of Skiddaw on Wainwright's classic walk. Wander across to St Bega's church perfectly located by Bassenthwaite Lake (see Melvyn Bragg's Credo). Trot through the woods to Mirehouse and the Osprey viewing point. Then return to a friendly welcome, a four poster room with terrific views over to the lake and hills beyond, good meal and a whisky. Worked for me, didn't use the car all weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for 4 poster without spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstonehome, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Thank you so much for your comments, it works for us if it works for you! We are proud to be mentioned alongside Wainwright and glad that our hotel provided you with everything you needed. We all look forward to seeing you again when you come and explore more of Wainwrights walks
We will keep you updated on all specials, but keep an eye on the website for all the exciting offers we are planning through the year!! See you soon

Cherin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed for just one night on a visit to Whitehaven and had a lovely time. The family make you feel very welcome and nothing is too much trouble. Plus there are more games (table tennis a favourite!) than time to play them.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstonehome, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words, we look forward to your next visit, which hopefully will be longer than one night - then you can play more of our other games. We are glad that you had the opportunity to visit family, they would also be more than welcome anytime to come for a meal or to stay.

Hope to see you again soon

Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

My wife and I decided to go on a short break in the Lake District last week and just by chance picked the Ravenstone Hotel. It turned out to be much better than we would have expected.

We were impressed on arrival at the friendly welcome given by Kim and Cherin.. We were given a short tour of the facilities and noted that the hotel had a lot of character with a nice dining room, lounge and bar.

The bedroom was clean and the bed comfortable. The quality of the food was excellent and the serving staff very attentive and friendly. After dinner the comfortable lounge was a nice place to relax with a drink and chat with other guests who all seemed to think that the hotel was a fine place to be.

We were delighted to find that there were a selection of walks starting from just alongside the hotel.and many more within easy driving distance.

The Ravenstone proved a nice change from the many impersonal hotels that we have stayed in. We will certainly visit again and wish Tina, Adam, Kim and Cherin success in this venture.

We also wish Cherin a very happy birthday for Thursday February 2nd, even though she probably thought that I had forgotten that she had mentioned it to me.

Room Tip: Upgrade from a standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstonehome, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Dear James,

What an amazing review, thank you for the comments and for my birthday wishes, it made my day that you remembered. We agree with you that our hotel is a gem, we feel very lucky to own the hotel and love that our guests enjoy their stays with us, it is a pleasure and a privilege to welcome you into our home. It would be lovely to see you both again, we will keep you up to date with all offers and events.

Cherin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.1 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
563 reviews
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,693 reviews
3.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
553 reviews
3.8 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenstone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Manor

Address: Bassenthwaite | Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#4 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range: £83 - £500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenstone Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Manor is a delightful 19th Century Manor House set within 3 hectares of grounds, situated at the foot of Skiddaw, looking across the valley to Bassenthwaite Lake. Rich in Cumbrian history, our 4 star Manor House has spectacular views of the Lake, the neighbouring Fells and Cumbrian countryside. We are fully dog friendly and ideally situated for walking, hiking & biking in the stunning Northern Lakes, Within the beautiful stone walls, you will find 20 charming en-suite bedrooms, a beautiful lounge, dining room and bar. Fed by the waters of Skiddaw, the Manor boasts its own fresh spring water that has quenched the thirst of its guests for over 50 years. The Dining Room serves a menu highlighting the freshest local meats, cheeses and produce. Open to residents and non-residents we offer a good home-cooked menu. Breakfast from 8:30 - 9:30am and evening meals from 6.00 till 8.00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ravenstone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Manor Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing