We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend without hesitation”
Review of Ravenstone Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ravenstone Manor
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Went for a 2 night stay with some friends,we were welcomed in and shown to our room,we couldnt have been happier,staff were courteous and friendly,room was beautiful with lovely view over the lake,ate in the dining room 1st night..food was wonderful,tasty and good portions too,breakfast was the same,nothing seemed too much trouble,drinks were brought to us and settled up on check out,surprisingly good value too..I would stay here again without hesitation.
You wont be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maccavvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstonehome, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Thank you. it was a pleasure to have you both stay with us. Remeber to keep checking our site for more values throughout the year. Hope to see you both back soon.

Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,090)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

783 - 789 of 1,090 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

From check in to check out we felt so welcome! The staff were so friendly and amenable. The room was lovely, spacious and clean and a view only to be described as fantastic!!
Radox bubbles provided after a long walk was a welcome surprise!!
The bar was cosy by the log fire and the wine and reading books made it so relaxing.
The games room was an added bonus to have a reminisce at playing snooker on a full size table was fun!
The breakfast was delicious and very filling ready to be burnt off on a long walk from nearby the hotel.
The osprey viewing point was a stones throw from the hotel and was well worth the trip.
The evening menu was just delicious, salmon moose followed by duck that was perfectly cooked with potatoes in a scrumptious sauce.
Would definately return to Ravenstone Manor and would recommend a stay here to anyone thinking of a visit to the Lakes.
Thank you for making our weekend extra special it was lovely talking to you guys and listening to your American stories of travel.
Thank you Tina and Adam, Kim and Cherin for a wonderful stay xx

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulzano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The best thing about the weekend we spent at the Ravenstone was that it was a "kgb" deal so excellent value at £99 for two nights for the two of us with breakfast included, but that is not to detract from the fact that it was also a lovely place to stay with great views of the hills and very friendly and professional staff (one of whom kindly took our boots to the drying room after our walk). We had dinner on the second night and this again was very good and excellent value. The standard room wasn't particularly big, but roomy enough with a very nice bathroom and TV. The only drawbacks were being woken at 1am by creaking on the floor above (a resident ghost?) and having to wait until 8.30 for breakfast as we are early birds and like to get out walking before the car parks get full; half an hour earlier would have been ideal. We would certainly consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I know its easy to be sceptical when reading brilliant reviews but I can honestly say this is the most fantastic hotel we have stayed in during our times at the Lakes. The warmest hospitality and the outstanding food are two of the things that made us want to return on our 'mini-moon' and we were not disappointed. They couldnt have made us feel more welcome or more special with the things that they did. This is somewhere that we will definatley be returning to time and time again. A quick note for the management - Thank you so very much for all you did

Room Tip: For the most amazing view ask for room 3. this was a 4 poster bed and the largest window over Basse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was a groupon deal we had purchased, we are so glad we did the hotel was so full of charm and our room (3) had a 4 poster bed and fantastic views!! We had dinner on the first night and it was so good we returned for a 2nd!! Can not rate the staff at this hotel high enough, friendly and welcoming, go yourself and see!!!

Room Tip: room 3 had a fab view and a 4 poster bed!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank remmieEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Went for a relaxing couple of days and it was lovely. The hotel itself is so full of charm and character. Rooms were clean and comfortable with the most wonderful view across Bassenthwaite Lake. Hospitality was so lovely and all the team were friendly and added a personal touch.
We didn't on this occasion try eat the evening meals but definitely would the next time. Breakfasts however, were beautifully presented, served by the most friendly staff and really did set us up for a day out on the hills. Thank you to all of you.
Liz and Linda

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the most perfect view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzybet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstonehome, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Thank you for the wonderful words. We are so glad that you had a great time and that you were able to relax. Next time we will tempt you into the dining room! looking forawrd to seeing you again.
Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We would struggle to pick fault with this superb Hotel, the owners and staff were extremely welcoming and accommodating. The owners are clearly hard working individuals who have dedicated themselves to providing outstanding Customers services; I was particularly impressed by the fact that they employ local people who truly bolster the owner’s efforts in running a fine establishment. I would have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel to anyone who needs to “chill out” for a few days and eat some great food.

Room Tip: Just tell the owners your needs and they will help
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstonehome, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Brian,

Thank you for spending time with us. It was lovely to have you here and so happy that you had a good time.
Thank you for noticing that our staff is local. We try to be as local as possible, from the people to the food.
Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.1 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
567 reviews
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,703 reviews
3.8 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
505 reviews
3.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenstone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Manor

Address: Bassenthwaite | Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Price Range: £69 - £491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenstone Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Manor is a delightful 19th Century Manor House set within 3 hectares of grounds, situated at the foot of Skiddaw, looking across the valley to Bassenthwaite Lake. Rich in Cumbrian history, our 4 star Manor House has spectacular views of the Lake, the neighbouring Fells and Cumbrian countryside. We are fully dog friendly and ideally situated for walking, hiking & biking in the stunning Northern Lakes, Within the beautiful stone walls, you will find 20 charming en-suite bedrooms, a beautiful lounge, dining room and bar. Fed by the waters of Skiddaw, the Manor boasts its own fresh spring water that has quenched the thirst of its guests for over 50 years. The Dining Room serves a menu highlighting the freshest local meats, cheeses and produce. Open to residents and non-residents we offer a good home-cooked menu. Breakfast from 8:15 - 9:30am and evening meals from 6.00 till 8.45pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ravenstone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Manor Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing