We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Break Delight”
Review of Ravenstone Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ravenstone Manor
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We arranged very late on for a few days in the Lake District & chose the Ravenstone as it was in an area of the Lakes we had not been to before and the evening meal inclusive deal looked too good to miss out on. We were not dissappointed! The food was excellent, the owners & staff friendly and welcoming, especially as we were delayed in getting to the hotel until late in the evening on arrival.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank No-Dabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstonehome, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

We love this area of the lakes so we are pleased that you like it too, thank you for the review, we are honoured that you were delighted with your stay with us. We all look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,090)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

773 - 779 of 1,090 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

A lovely location with great walks and views from a traditional lake district hotel. The new owners are putting their individual stamp on the hotel and you can't fault their effort. We arrived to be disappointed by a tired room with a feeble shower and an even more tired decor. We smiled and asked for an upgrade. This weekend was a gift so it felt uncomfortable to ask. A much better room was available for not much more money so we moved and were happy. Dinner the first night was wonderful as were drinks in the small bar and tea in the lounge. Breakfast was average compared to dinner but we were still full from last nights dinner (with an excellent wine list and very reasonable prices too) . I

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstonehome, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, especially as it was a gift. We are also glad that we managed to move you to a room more to your liking. As you know we are going through a programme of refurbishment here at the Ravenstone, so in the future all the rooms will be perfect (as most of them are already!!). Thank you for your positive comments and all the feedback, it really helps us to improve. We have a new breakfast menu so when you visit us again, we can add breakfast to the great feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The 'new' owners are much friendlier than the old one's. When we stayed here previously the old owners appeared alooof and lacking interest in us, their guests. That has all changed with the friendly welcoming atmosphere. The service is truly excellent the food superb and a view to die for. The food was exceptional, we stayed for three nights bed, breakfast and evening meal and we had no complaints throughout. This was the get away from it all trip that we were looking forward to. Thank you.

Room Tip: Superb views from higher in the hotel, although the room had a shower not a bath this was more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstonehome, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Glad you were able to have your getaway that you wanted/deserved! We loved meeting you and hope that you can come away again.

Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We had a lovely few days stay at the Ravenstone Hotel, we were made very welcome from the moment we arrived to when we departed, excellent food, everything was also very clean and tidy. The bar area had a lovely open fire place that extended into a games room, with a snooker table, pool table, table football and table tennis and nearly every board game imaginable,(which came in very hand with a 7 year old). Overall an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Room 2 had a bay window with an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstonehome, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Thank you for your fabulous comments, we are very happy that you and your family had a great stay with us for the bank holiday. Look forward to seeing you again for the next bank holiday?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We visited Ravenstone Manor for two nights in April. Upon arrival there was a warm welcome from Adam.
After a drink & being shown our room we were offered canapes and a menu - which looked fabulous. The way in which our hosts made us comfortable & allowed us to take our time was very well recieved.
Wine - fantastic & VERY reasonably priced.
Food - simply marvelous & extremley good value!
Generally the hotel is very well fitted in the common areas. There was a lovely atmosphere & pleasant conversation between guests. We played pool, had drinks & looked forward to the rest of the weekend.
Our room (17) was very comfortable. Nice large bed, under floor heating in the en suite, plenty of storage, flat screen TV, clean fluffy towels & a nice touch was the bubble bath. All these comforts are in addition of the stunning veiws!
Breakfast is quality with plenty to choose from including local meats & eggs for a full English, fish dishes, cereals as well as strong coffee & juices etc.
All the staff were very pleasant & helpful by suggesting nearby walks, helping with Taxis etc.

So in summary I'd reccomend this place with no doubt - there really is no down side to this very well run, traditional Lakes Hotel.

Thanks guys & all the best. Hope to see you again, Chris & Cat.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VAG-hag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstonehome, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

So happy to hear that you had a wonderful time. We love taking care of our guests and adding the little things that make your vacation special. Looking ofrward to seeing you again.

Tina and Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We arrived Friday afternoon without much expectations, and we were in for a surprise.
The beauty of the scenery, and the view from the hotel/manor is invigorating.
The fresh air, amazing scenery, cosy comfort were just the things we were longing for.
The rooms were clean and to very high standard and the food was cooked superbly.
The friendly owners went out of their way each and every time to satisfy our requests.
They even had the chef make a loaf of bread for me to take home (that’s how much I loved it).
I think it has been our best weekend away so far and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AriolaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

A big thanks to the whole team of Ravenstone Manor.. Came here for a bank holiday weekend with a small kid. Location was very good, room size was standard, clean and the most important thing was hotel stuff. They were very friendly, well behaved and always helpful. As a vegeterian, breakfast option was also good and food quality was super. I stayed in big big hotel in the past, but my experience with them was really good. We never felt that we are staying in a hotel, its like home. Great stuff.. Definitely see you shortly.. Aariz, Akhi & Marbin

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AarizMarbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstonehome, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you back soon with your family. As far as the menu, we do strive to accomodate everyone's tastes and diets and will continue to do so. Please check our site for other offers during the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.1 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
566 reviews
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,702 reviews
3.8 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
505 reviews
3.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenstone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Manor

Address: Bassenthwaite | Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Price Range: £70 - £495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenstone Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Manor is a delightful 19th Century Manor House set within 3 hectares of grounds, situated at the foot of Skiddaw, looking across the valley to Bassenthwaite Lake. Rich in Cumbrian history, our 4 star Manor House has spectacular views of the Lake, the neighbouring Fells and Cumbrian countryside. We are fully dog friendly and ideally situated for walking, hiking & biking in the stunning Northern Lakes, Within the beautiful stone walls, you will find 20 charming en-suite bedrooms, a beautiful lounge, dining room and bar. Fed by the waters of Skiddaw, the Manor boasts its own fresh spring water that has quenched the thirst of its guests for over 50 years. The Dining Room serves a menu highlighting the freshest local meats, cheeses and produce. Open to residents and non-residents we offer a good home-cooked menu. Breakfast from 8:15 - 9:30am and evening meals from 6.00 till 8.45pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, LateRooms, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ravenstone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Manor Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing