We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ravenstone Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ravenstone Manor
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

I needed a place to stay for one night only to attend a local event. After seeing the reviews of this hotel and the photos I decided to try it. I was more than pleased with my stay and will be back with my husband in the future. The house is an interesting old manor that is small enough to be intimate but large enough not to feel stifling. My room was comfortable, impeccably clean and quiet. The service is outstanding, something that seems a rarity these days. The Olympic torch passed thru the area that day and the chef had tied little surprises to the evening menu to celebrate the event. The dinner menu choices were adequate and the food was lovely. Breakfast was made to order and everything was fresh and of quality. It definitely was good value for money, as well. A first rate experience all around.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
We know how hard it is to find a place just for a night on a short break, but we are so pleased that you felt comfortable and welcome here. We definitely want to see you come back again and hope that you can bring your husband next time as well.

Kim, Cherin,. Adam and Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    241
    35
    17
    10
See reviews for
87
718
30
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

My wife and I have returned from a wonderful break in the North Lakes. The Ravenstone Hotel was a real find, very comfortable and friendly, good food, and basically a place we will return to. You are looked after really well, book up with confidence for a great place to holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robb186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
We appreciate your kind words and look forward to having your here for a longer break next time. So much to see and do in the area, a short stay can never cover it all!

Tina, Adam, Kim and Cherin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

The hotel is a lovely old manor house in a quiet location overlooking the lake. It is full of character has very friendly staff and wonderful food what more could you ask! The games room had snooker table, pool table, table tennis, and every board game you could think of. The rooms where clean and comfortable, we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letty10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
So glad that you enjoyed the facilities. We have all the games because of the changing weather here in the Lakes and want people to something to do on those rainy days when the beautiful walks are just a bit damp. Come back and enjoy the hotel and the surroundings soon again.
Adam, Tina, Kim and Cherin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

We booked the spa upgrade after finding a KGB deal for this hotel. As soon as we arrived we were impressed. The hotel looked very cosy and warm, with antique furniture and decor everywhere. There were two fireplaces blazing and the whole place just looked like the perfect place to stay after walking and driving around all day. The room we had came with a jacuzzi bath, four poster bed and a lovely view from the window.

We initially felt the dinner was a little overpriced, particularly when we were not given much of a choice (no a la carte menu). However, after tasting the food, I must admit I changed my mind. Very well cooked, I am told with local ingredients. You can tell the chef takes great care in his / her cooking, and the hotel staff make a huge effort to make sure your every food requirement is met.
Now to mention the ONLY reason why I am even writing this review - you MUST try the sticky toffee pudding - it is simply divine. Made with a recipe they will keep secret despite my efforts to get it out of them. The texture was perfect, and the size was just a bit better than perfect... you could leave one bite... feel satisfied... but then there was one more good sized bite to eat. YUM!

Right, back to the review now then.

We had booked two nights here and after eating here the first night we cancelled all plans to go out for a meal the next evening. I have already returned and based on my recommendations my sister has booked in to stay here with her husband next month.

In the evenings after dinner, we usually went to the bar area to relax over a drink, a cuppa and a game of chess, cards or any of the several boardgames scattered near the fireplace.

Another bonus is the games room which had table tennis, Pool and a snooker table!

The bed was comfortable, plenty of pillows and bedding, we both had two great nights of sleep.

I simply cannot find a flaw with this place. We came by car so were not too bothered by its location, which I would say is not close enough to Keswick town to walk. That is the only niggle I had as it was advertised to me on KGB as being in Keswick but it was actually a good 3 or 4 mile drive away. Not much of a big deal if you have a car as the roads are empty and we are talking a 5-10 min drive.

I highly recommend this place, one of the most memorable places I have stayed at and with the tastiest food too!

Room Tip: Ask for a upgraded room, they are more in character with the hotel and location. We had the spa room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niaz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
It is so wonderful how much you enjoyed your stay here! We are glad that we made you feel comfortable and at home with us. The only catch is you have to come back again to enjoy it all with sticky toffee pudding again! Sorry, the secret is safe with us.

Kim, Cherin, Tina and Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland Tyne-and-Wear
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed here for two nights and we didn't want to leave. The food is fantastic,amazing in fact. (Just wish i could have eaten it all !!!) The staff are super fantastic,friendly,helpful,caring and always willing to help. The views are beautiful and so is the Hotel. Clean,comfy and cosy. Thank you for everything. See you again soon. Colleen and Maria :) :)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kollqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Colleen and Maria,

So happy to have had you here with us and that you had a good time. We hope to see you again soon. The Lakes walks await you!

Tina, Adam, Cherin and Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull,East Yorkshire,England.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Excellent food, comfortable rooms staff and management friendly, courteous and couldn't do enough for you, made the stay most enjoyable. Will be back again but the next time will be for longer.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PS430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We are looking forward to seeing you again for a longer spell next time.

Cherin, Kim, Adam and Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

A wonderful hotel to stay in. Intimate without being intrusive, Comfortable , clean, wonderful food ( accommodates for all dietary needs) Helpful towards my elderly parents in everyway.The decor and rooms supply all you could wish for and the views are stunning. So conveniently situated for visiting the Lake District. The owners are all so warm and welcoming and we hope to return soon

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izziejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We are thrilled that this family vacation went well for you for food and comfort. We try to make sure that whatever the dietary needs are that everyone is catered for equally. When on vacation, one shouldn't have to worry about food, just be able to enjoy it!

Kim, Cherin, Tina and Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.0 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
2.3 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenstone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Manor

Property: Ravenstone Manor
Address: Bassenthwaite | Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#4 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenstone Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Manor is a delightful 19th Century Manor House set within 3 hectares of grounds, situated at the foot of Skiddaw, looking across the valley to Bassenthwaite Lake. Rich in Cumbrian history, our 4 star Manor House has spectacular views of the Lake, the neighbouring Fells and Cumbrian countryside. We are fully dog friendly and ideally situated for walking, hiking & biking in the stunning Northern Lakes, Within the beautiful stone walls, you will find 20 charming en-suite bedrooms, a beautiful lounge, bar and games room with snooker and pool tables. Fed by the waters of Skiddaw, the Manor boasts its own fresh spring water that has quenched the thirst of its guests for over 50 years. The Dining Room serves a menu highlighting the freshest local meats, cheeses and produce. Open to residents and non-residents we offer a good home-cooked menu. Breakfast from 8:30 - 9:30am and evening meals from 6.30 till 8.30pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ravenstone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Manor Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing