We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“26 Walkers Second Visit”
Review of Ravenstone Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ravenstone Manor
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“26 Walkers Second Visit”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

19 of us first visited in 2012 everyone wanted to go again. This year our Group had increased to 26 staying from the 21/10 to 25/10. Any concerns we may have had about it not being as good a second time were quickly dismissed. The welcome could not have been warmer. Staff, Food, Accommodation and the Drying Room (very useful) were excellent yet again. Already planning a 3rd visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D0r0thy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    742
    246
    36
    17
    11
See reviews for
92
742
30
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed at Ravenstone Manor in early October on business but is in a ideal position for walkers. I would definitley stay again, comfortable clean rooms, great food and warm weilcome. Can highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 184SCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Just returned for a few days break at Ravenstone Manor with a walking group. Would highly recommend this hotel. The food is excellent, first class with very helpful staff, nothing is too much trouble. Hope to stay again next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Low Row, Yorkshire Dales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

A wonderful warm, welcoming, comfortable place with superb food. More like a house party than a hotel, with friendly staff very willing to help whenever needed. Stayed for a week and had clean sheets and towels half way through - luxury. Fresh milk was available to take to the bedroom whenever needed, but also tea and coffee was served as needed in the lounge. We were celebrating our anniversary and Les' birthday, and we were made to feel very special at the evening meal with the table decorated for the occasion. Loved the puzzles around the bar and lounge area, and will be returning especially as we could not solve the mystery of the solataire board!!

Room Tip: Explain your needs to the owners who will do all they can to sort out a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEH45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Our walking group came for a long weekend and had an excellent time. Superb food, nothing too much trouble for the very friendly staff. Excellent bedrooms. Cant recommend too highly. Searching for a criticism the only thing I can think is that they'd run out of Black Sheep - but there were plenty of other beers. And of course its in a simply fabulous location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Fabulous and friendly - even gave us fresh milk for teas in our rooms! Loved the hotel and the way it had been refurbished in keeping with its time.
The food was simply out of this earth and nothing was too much for the reception and bar staff.
Am going to recommend it through all my friends and acquaintances as this is well deserved.
Also well placed for walks in the area.
Cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a lovely hotel just a few miles from Keswick with gorgeous views, some rooms overlooking Bassenthwaite Lake at the front of the hotel. Extremely welcoming with a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The staff are fantastic, really friendly; nothing is too much trouble. I am a coeliac (gluten free) so could relax knowing they have a great gluten free menu, even had sticky toffee pudding (twice) Mmm. I love the Lake District and will definitely be going back knowing I have a home from home with this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.1 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
526 reviews
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
464 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
2.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenstone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Manor

Property: Ravenstone Manor
Address: Bassenthwaite | Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#4 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenstone Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Manor is a delightful 19th Century Manor House set within 3 hectares of grounds, situated at the foot of Skiddaw, looking across the valley to Bassenthwaite Lake. Rich in Cumbrian history, our 4 star Manor House has spectacular views of the Lake, the neighbouring Fells and Cumbrian countryside. We are fully dog friendly and ideally situated for walking, hiking & biking in the stunning Northern Lakes, Within the beautiful stone walls, you will find 20 charming en-suite bedrooms, a beautiful lounge, dining room and bar. Fed by the waters of Skiddaw, the Manor boasts its own fresh spring water that has quenched the thirst of its guests for over 50 years. The Dining Room serves a menu highlighting the freshest local meats, cheeses and produce. Open to residents and non-residents we offer a good home-cooked menu. Breakfast from 8:30 - 9:30am and evening meals from 6.00 till 8.00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ravenstone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Manor Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing