We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet Another Relaxing Visit”
Review of Ravenstone Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ravenstone Manor
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This was our 4th visit to this hotel and still a very relaxing stay. Constant improvements have been carried out in both the hotel and restaurant. We felt pampered and nothing was any trouble. If you want to have a quiet and peaceful break we recommend this hotel to anyone. The sites in and around the hotel are fantastic. Cherin and Kim are very good hosts and we wish them every success in the coming years and we both look forward to returning to our second home sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toonarmy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,088)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

Lovely old hotel with plenty of character. Rooms clean and comfy with lovely views overlooking lake.
Cherin and Kim are welcoming hosts and very pleasant
We enjoyed a lovely weekend deal which was excellent value. Breakfast and evening meal, wide variety and well presented. I left my iPod I. The room and they very kindly posted it on. Will watch for more deals in the spring.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank CarolandPaul_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Had a lovely new year at this amazing hotel so much so we booked a extra night cherin & Kim were absolutely delightful throughout our stay.all the staff very pleasant could not do enough for you we love our food and it was excellent spoilt for choice in fact we are booking for march and cannot wait so see you soon and thanks again

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coynee56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Our second New Year at Ravenstone and another delight! We were greeted and treated like friends and made to feel at home immediately. The food and service were excellent again and this year we had the added bonus of a murder mystery. The staff are excellent and Kim and Cherin put their heart and soul into making people's stay extra special and always go the extra mile to make you feel at home, happy and relaxed.The rooms (and we had four between us - rooms 9, 10 11 and 14) were really clean, warm and comfortable with plenty of storage space and fantastic views over Bassenthwaite Lake. The bar and lounge area are great places to relax and meet other guests, with a warming fire and very comfortable sofas. The games room is excellent with a full size snooker table which kept the male members of our family amused for hours! Would have no hesitation recommending this hotel and have booked a return visit for next New Year.Thank you Kim, Cherin and all the staff for another fantastic New Year. Nothing is too much trouble for you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJayneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my boyfriend for our anniversary/new year celebration and it was the best hotel we've ever stayed at. The new years eve celebrations were amazing we wouldn't have changed a thing, so many extras, from a surprise murder mystery to fireworks. We will remember it forever!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank clesleywilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night break at the Ravenstone Manor and it was absolutely fabulous. we have been going to the Ravenstone for 12 years and since Cherin and Kim took over it just gets better and better. The welcome you get is so warm and they really do go the extra mile to keep their guests happy. New Year was the best ever the food was just amazing and beautifully served and the entertainment was first class which just made it that extra special. We were so pleased that it was dry at midnight for the firework display. they have really turned the place around and deserve to be successful. Thank-you so much to Kim and Cherin and all their wonderful staff for making our New Year so so special.

Room Tip: We have stayed in room 6 room and they are both lovely,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GWYNETH M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I searched for well over a week before booking Ravenstone Manor. What 'swung it' for me was the coeliac friendly menu. Normally, when my husband and I stay at a hotel, he has to struggle with a menu that does nor cater very well for his gluten intolerance. Ravenstone Manor was a breath of fresh air! I have not seen my husband smile so widely, when perusing a menu, for a very long time. He was quite simply speechless at the choice, variety and quality of all three courses. Imagine! More than one gluten free dessert, and not just ice cream. You should have seen his face when he had a choice of sticky toffee pudding or cheesecake. So..having considered London, Tenerife, Lanzarote and our apartment in Spain to celebrate my big 50 (oh goodness); I have just booked another 5 nights in February in the 4 Poster Room. The staff here are fabulous, very efficient, friendly and hardworking. They just could not be more helpful and accommodating. They wanted you to relax and feel at home and that is exactly how we felt. We were in the twin room and the beds (made up into king size) were very comfortable indeed. The rooms were spotless and the radox for the bath was very thoughtful. Just typical of the service in this hotel really. Honestly I could go on with the superlatives, but I want to write another review after my February stay! Can I end with a HUGE thank you though to the owners, staff, cleaners and kitchen team for the best NEW YEAR's EVE we have ever experienced before. Blooming heck, I better reserve my room now for next year! This place is gonna be full - don't really want to reveal this little gem, but it would be churlish not to - ho hum!

Room Tip: The Premium twin room (4) was fabulous - such a comfy bed, but we are trying the 4 poster next!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.1 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
553 reviews
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,678 reviews
3.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
546 reviews
23.8 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenstone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Manor

Address: Bassenthwaite | Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#4 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range: £84 - £501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenstone Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Manor is a delightful 19th Century Manor House set within 3 hectares of grounds, situated at the foot of Skiddaw, looking across the valley to Bassenthwaite Lake. Rich in Cumbrian history, our 4 star Manor House has spectacular views of the Lake, the neighbouring Fells and Cumbrian countryside. We are fully dog friendly and ideally situated for walking, hiking & biking in the stunning Northern Lakes, Within the beautiful stone walls, you will find 20 charming en-suite bedrooms, a beautiful lounge, dining room and bar. Fed by the waters of Skiddaw, the Manor boasts its own fresh spring water that has quenched the thirst of its guests for over 50 years. The Dining Room serves a menu highlighting the freshest local meats, cheeses and produce. Open to residents and non-residents we offer a good home-cooked menu. Breakfast from 8:30 - 9:30am and evening meals from 6.00 till 8.00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ravenstone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Manor Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing