We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The welcome is always warm!”
Review of Ravenstone Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ravenstone Manor
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My second visit to Ravenstone as a solo traveller in the depths of January and was made to feel very welcome and at home. Cherin and Kim go out of the way to accommodate those with dietary needs and had got in lactofree milk etc for my meals and drinks. Breakfast is a feast of local produce and dinner was super each night. I ate the daily specials on all 3 nights and wasn't disappointed by any dish. The bar is super with the open fire and made use of the lounge on this visit which is impressive. Thank you to all the staff for making me feel so welcome and not "so solo".

Room Tip: All rooms on from have a view towards the lake. I've stayed in 8 and 14. I think 8 was a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marvelmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,090)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

505 - 511 of 1,090 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

My wife and I just spent a couple of days at the Ravenstone Manor hotel. We have stayed before a few years ago but there are now new owners. The hotel is spacious and has a cosy feel much as you would expect from a country manor. Our room was at the top of the hotel up two flights of stairs and was adequate in size and comfortably warm. A few touches would have improved things - coasters for drinks and more room in the bathroom for hanging towels.

Unfortunately we were both suffering from heavy colds so our appreciation of the food was dimmed by poor appetite however we both felt that the menu would have benefited from some simple choices to go with the rich sauce accompaniments to many of the dishes.

Overall a good but not outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Booked this hotel via a voucher offer and paid for a room upgrade.The hotel is set up on a hill giving excellent views of Bassenthwaite Lake.
Our room was spotless and very large and the bathroom was very modern with an excellent shower and huge deep bath.the radox in the bathroom was a nice touch.
The owners and staff in the hotel were all really helpful and friendly,nothing was too much for them.They even presented an elderly gentleman guest who staying alone with a birthday card and presents.
We ate both nights in the hotel and the food was of a very high standard.There is also a very cosy bar with sensibly priced drinks and a large comfortable lounge.They also have both a snooker and pool table aswell as numerous board games.
I really cannot recommend this hotel and it's staff highly enough.Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This was our 4th visit to this hotel and still a very relaxing stay. Constant improvements have been carried out in both the hotel and restaurant. We felt pampered and nothing was any trouble. If you want to have a quiet and peaceful break we recommend this hotel to anyone. The sites in and around the hotel are fantastic. Cherin and Kim are very good hosts and we wish them every success in the coming years and we both look forward to returning to our second home sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toonarmy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Lovely old hotel with plenty of character. Rooms clean and comfy with lovely views overlooking lake.
Cherin and Kim are welcoming hosts and very pleasant
We enjoyed a lovely weekend deal which was excellent value. Breakfast and evening meal, wide variety and well presented. I left my iPod I. The room and they very kindly posted it on. Will watch for more deals in the spring.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank CarolandPaul_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Had a lovely new year at this amazing hotel so much so we booked a extra night cherin & Kim were absolutely delightful throughout our stay.all the staff very pleasant could not do enough for you we love our food and it was excellent spoilt for choice in fact we are booking for march and cannot wait so see you soon and thanks again

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coynee56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Our second New Year at Ravenstone and another delight! We were greeted and treated like friends and made to feel at home immediately. The food and service were excellent again and this year we had the added bonus of a murder mystery. The staff are excellent and Kim and Cherin put their heart and soul into making people's stay extra special and always go the extra mile to make you feel at home, happy and relaxed.The rooms (and we had four between us - rooms 9, 10 11 and 14) were really clean, warm and comfortable with plenty of storage space and fantastic views over Bassenthwaite Lake. The bar and lounge area are great places to relax and meet other guests, with a warming fire and very comfortable sofas. The games room is excellent with a full size snooker table which kept the male members of our family amused for hours! Would have no hesitation recommending this hotel and have booked a return visit for next New Year.Thank you Kim, Cherin and all the staff for another fantastic New Year. Nothing is too much trouble for you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJayneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.1 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
566 reviews
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,702 reviews
3.8 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
505 reviews
3.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenstone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Manor

Address: Bassenthwaite | Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Price Range: £70 - £495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenstone Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Manor is a delightful 19th Century Manor House set within 3 hectares of grounds, situated at the foot of Skiddaw, looking across the valley to Bassenthwaite Lake. Rich in Cumbrian history, our 4 star Manor House has spectacular views of the Lake, the neighbouring Fells and Cumbrian countryside. We are fully dog friendly and ideally situated for walking, hiking & biking in the stunning Northern Lakes, Within the beautiful stone walls, you will find 20 charming en-suite bedrooms, a beautiful lounge, dining room and bar. Fed by the waters of Skiddaw, the Manor boasts its own fresh spring water that has quenched the thirst of its guests for over 50 years. The Dining Room serves a menu highlighting the freshest local meats, cheeses and produce. Open to residents and non-residents we offer a good home-cooked menu. Breakfast from 8:15 - 9:30am and evening meals from 6.00 till 8.45pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ravenstone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Manor Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing