We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab stay at Ravenstone”
Review of Ravenstone Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ravenstone Manor
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Colne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab stay at Ravenstone”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Lovely room 3 at the front with a 4 poster bed and gorgeous view. Clean, bright, warm with fluffy white towels that are actually big enough, unlike some places! Excellent food at Charlotte's View. Good, friendly service by all staff. Cherin and Kim are welcoming, caring hosts and we've already booked a return visit in May. Hope the weather is a bit better then!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosyprimrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    748
    247
    38
    17
    12
See reviews for
93
750
30
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lancs
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

First time we have visited this far north in the Lake District - we were not disappointed! The owner/staff were very friendly nothing was too much trouble for them. Nice small touches regarding my wifes birthday & anniversary, they do make it special.
We booked on a two day special deal which included breakfast & evening meal - you really didn't need any lunch!
If you like walking you can walk straight into Dodd Wood from the hotel (forestry commission), there are loads of walks 1 to 4 miles, leading up to Skiddaw if you fancy something a bit more challenging. Ironically I was looking for a red squirral in the woods for 3/4 hours without success - only to meet one in the hotel's garden!.
Shame my wife didn't play snooker or pool - as they had both on site.
Standard room was great - clean and perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulCWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Just back from a lovely weekend at Ravenstone Manor, the staff are fantastic, the hotel has character and charm. Room 6 had amazing views, immaculate throughout, very large bed and modern bathroom with lots of extras and nice touches (radox, showergel, shampoo, tissues). Breakfast was great lots of options and very good portions, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. I would definately stay again such a relaxing experience, thankyou.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We read previous reviews and decided to stay here based on those reviews. We were not disappointed and had a lovely two nights in the Ravenstone Manor .We have stayed in the area 4 times in the last couple of years and this is the best .The views are lovely and the room had everything we required. The breakfast menu has lots to chose from and the quality was first class.

Room Tip: All rooms seem fine and are front facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flecky2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We can't recommend this place highly enough. We enjoyed our first visit enough to want to go back and this experience was just as good as the first. Lovely welcome as we arrived. Our room wasn't as big as last time but still very nice and the view was fabulous. The beds are really comfortable and the newly refurbished bathroom with underfloor heating was beautiful. The food is delicious and all the staff are lovely and friendly. My husbands birthday was a few days after our visit and our table was decorated and a card given to him. He really appreciated the thoughtfulness. This place really is a home from home and so relaxing. Nothing is too much trouble. We will certainly be back, Thanks again Kim and Cherin.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

After researching lots of eating establishments for a proper (gluten free) afternoon tea experience I came across Ravenstone Manor. The whole experience was truly magical. When we arrived, there was a table all laid up in the bay window of the lounge (including a white crisp tablecloth) with the most amazing views. When the food arrived on 2 large trays and the all important cake stands, it was a feast to behold! Beautifully laid out; sandwiches were stuffed with scrummy fillings, delicious cakes, scones, clotted cream etc etc., The owner truly understands food allergies and was very meticulous about ensuring my wheat and yeast allergy was well catered for. We were made to feel at home and eventfully left the hotel three and a half hours later stuffed to the gunnelsl The restaurant menu looked tasty with fair prices.....Cherin anld Kim....we will be back! ...but this time to stay in one of your gorgeous rooms and indulge in your exquisite food, and friendliness.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katyloula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My wife and I are collectors, we collect afternoon tea, yes seems a little weird but we love nothing more than being spoilt. We love being directed to a beautiful country house style lounge or parlour to see a table laid out with crisp white table clothes, 3 tiered cake and sandwich stands, pots of tea, beautiful flowers, beautiful views and above all good company.
This historic, comfortable, welcoming country house hotel met all our criteria and exceeded our expectations. Ravenstone Manor and it's friendly welcoming staff made for a delightful afternoon, in fact we stayed for more than 3 and a half hours in the end, we weren't rushed, giving us time to soak up the atmosphere of this historic manor house. Good food Good company made for a great time.
What is most amazing about this hotel/restaurant is that it provides a gluten free option where the person with the allergy is centre place not just an after thought, and being able to eat normal gluten based food myself I was amazed to find that my cakes were also gluten free, I had no idea that gluten free food could taste this good.
I heartily recommend this establishment to everyone, whether you eat gluten free or love to eat good food. If we weren't already staying in a timeshare we would have stayed for an evening meal, but to be honesty we were too full from the afternoon tea.
We will definitely be coming here again and will stay in the hotel next time.

Room Tip: We weren't resident at the hotel, we hd afternoon tea, but from what we saw the rooms will be gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
533 reviews
3.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
469 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
2.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenstone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Manor

Property: Ravenstone Manor
Address: Bassenthwaite | Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#4 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenstone Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Manor is a delightful 19th Century Manor House set within 3 hectares of grounds, situated at the foot of Skiddaw, looking across the valley to Bassenthwaite Lake. Rich in Cumbrian history, our 4 star Manor House has spectacular views of the Lake, the neighbouring Fells and Cumbrian countryside. We are fully dog friendly and ideally situated for walking, hiking & biking in the stunning Northern Lakes, Within the beautiful stone walls, you will find 20 charming en-suite bedrooms, a beautiful lounge, dining room and bar. Fed by the waters of Skiddaw, the Manor boasts its own fresh spring water that has quenched the thirst of its guests for over 50 years. The Dining Room serves a menu highlighting the freshest local meats, cheeses and produce. Open to residents and non-residents we offer a good home-cooked menu. Breakfast from 8:30 - 9:30am and evening meals from 6.00 till 8.00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Odigeo, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ravenstone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Manor Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing