We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break”
Review of Ravenstone Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ravenstone Manor
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Very welcoming on arrival, given a tour round before going to our BEAUTIFUL room which overlooked the lake, and was SO QUIET. Fantastic meal first night and very plentiful, catering for gluten free which was brilliant for me!! ALL STAFF could not have done enough for us, WE WILL DEFINATELY BE BACK!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,091)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 1,091 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed on Weds/Thurs 3/4 April. We were made to feel very welcome on arrival and shown to our room. The hotel is in a fantastic location, lots of character, well maintained and all rooms have a view of the lake. Our room was lovely and comfortable. Plenty of tea and coffee with complimentary biccies too which was a nice touch.
We were on a LivingSocial deal which included breakfast. We dined at the hotel on our second night and the food was delicious - staff very friendly and attentive and nothing was too much trouble. All local produce - 4 courses and bottle of wine for £55 for 2 people - what more could you ask for. Just one wee disappointment for me was at breakfast time. I like to have fresh fruit salad with my yoghurt but alas, there was only grapefruit segments or prunes on offer and I am not a fan of any of those. However that is just a very very minor thing. We would definitely return again and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottishLassieLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We've just come back from a lovely relaxing stay at Ravenstone Manor and hope to return. We were there for a two night break. Everything was perfect.....from a very friendly welcome right through to when we left. We were even offered fresh milk to take to our room! We had a beautiful meal on the second night. The hotel will cater for all types of taste and diet...be it vegetarian, gluten free etc. Everywhere is spotless and very comfortable. If you want a beautiful old manor house with good traditional values and lovely food, this is for you. Thank you to the owners and staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandraandbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Had an excellent 3 night stay in early April 2014. Staff extremely welcoming on arrival and introduced the facilities available. Given a room at the front of hotel overlooking lake, with a shower room (no bath) which appeared to have been recently refurbished to a high standard. All staff around the hotel were extremely helpful and friendly, with the owners constantly in attendance and always willing to offer any assistance when requested.
We dined in the restaurant each evening and were very impressed with the menus and quality of dishes served both in the evenings and at breakfast time, and particularly liked the assurance that all foods served were gluten free. Having a grandson who is on a gluten free diet we know the problems which can arise when selecting suitable meals.
Could not fault the hotel in terms of standard of fixtures and fittings or cleanliness in all areas. Ample parking facilities and the availability of wi fi throughout the hotel are added bonuses.
I am sure that we will be returning before too long.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the lake, although there may be slight traffic noise this is more than co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Our daughter & son-in-law bought this as a Christmas gift & oh what a cracker it was! The view from the room on the top floor was fantastic, the food plentiful with excellent choice. The owners couldn't have been more helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely be booking another visit to this gem of a place.

Room Tip: High floor rooms give excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireJetsetters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This was our second visit to Ravenstone Manor and was just as good as the first time. Great food (with lots of little special touches) and the staff were really friendly and very helpful. Comfortable rooms and lovely bar, lounge and games room. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HPF2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Being sited in an old country house,dining room,lounge and bar are beautiful and full of character:the lounge also contains a full-size snooker-table.Our room,in the more recent extension,was of adequate size with a roomy bath.All in the hotel is very clean and well-maintained.Service and attention are first-class,impressed that we were shown round the hotel on arrival.For a small hotel,choice of food at breakfast and evening meal are excellent(special diets well catered-for),quality also excellent.Easy to find the hotel,as it's on a main road,and views are beautiful as you'd expect in the Lake District:parking is also adequate.All staff very welcoming,easy to understand why so many return here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.1 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
567 reviews
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,703 reviews
3.8 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
506 reviews
3.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenstone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Manor

Address: Bassenthwaite | Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Price Range: £70 - £493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenstone Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Manor is a delightful 19th Century Manor House set within 3 hectares of grounds, situated at the foot of Skiddaw, looking across the valley to Bassenthwaite Lake. Rich in Cumbrian history, our 4 star Manor House has spectacular views of the Lake, the neighbouring Fells and Cumbrian countryside. We are fully dog friendly and ideally situated for walking, hiking & biking in the stunning Northern Lakes, Within the beautiful stone walls, you will find 20 charming en-suite bedrooms, a beautiful lounge, dining room and bar. Fed by the waters of Skiddaw, the Manor boasts its own fresh spring water that has quenched the thirst of its guests for over 50 years. The Dining Room serves a menu highlighting the freshest local meats, cheeses and produce. Open to residents and non-residents we offer a good home-cooked menu. Breakfast from 8:15 - 9:30am and evening meals from 6.00 till 8.45pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ravenstone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Manor Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing