We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't be disappointed!”
Review of Ravenstone Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ravenstone Manor
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

With fabulous views (especially from room #3), professional and personal service, great food and a homely atmosphere, Ravenstone Manor is the place to stay in the northern lakes. Friendly, helpful staff make this a break to enjoy, whether you take advantage of the games room with its full-size snooker table, or simply relax in the luxurious lounge and read the paper. At mealtimes, you'll find Ravenstone's breakfast simply delightful and the evening meals delicious. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigNeil2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    747
    247
    38
    17
    12
See reviews for
93
749
30
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We went to the hotel 10 years ago, although the food was good,there was no atmosphere then. This time it was al lot better, much more friendly with the new owners. Enjoyed our stay over the weekend. The staff who serve breakfast and dinner were lovely. We had a good view from our room, even though it never stopped raining. Altogether we had a good break.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Very welcoming on arrival, given a tour round before going to our BEAUTIFUL room which overlooked the lake, and was SO QUIET. Fantastic meal first night and very plentiful, catering for gluten free which was brilliant for me!! ALL STAFF could not have done enough for us, WE WILL DEFINATELY BE BACK!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed on Weds/Thurs 3/4 April. We were made to feel very welcome on arrival and shown to our room. The hotel is in a fantastic location, lots of character, well maintained and all rooms have a view of the lake. Our room was lovely and comfortable. Plenty of tea and coffee with complimentary biccies too which was a nice touch.
We were on a LivingSocial deal which included breakfast. We dined at the hotel on our second night and the food was delicious - staff very friendly and attentive and nothing was too much trouble. All local produce - 4 courses and bottle of wine for £55 for 2 people - what more could you ask for. Just one wee disappointment for me was at breakfast time. I like to have fresh fruit salad with my yoghurt but alas, there was only grapefruit segments or prunes on offer and I am not a fan of any of those. However that is just a very very minor thing. We would definitely return again and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishLassieLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We've just come back from a lovely relaxing stay at Ravenstone Manor and hope to return. We were there for a two night break. Everything was perfect.....from a very friendly welcome right through to when we left. We were even offered fresh milk to take to our room! We had a beautiful meal on the second night. The hotel will cater for all types of taste and diet...be it vegetarian, gluten free etc. Everywhere is spotless and very comfortable. If you want a beautiful old manor house with good traditional values and lovely food, this is for you. Thank you to the owners and staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandraandbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Had an excellent 3 night stay in early April 2014. Staff extremely welcoming on arrival and introduced the facilities available. Given a room at the front of hotel overlooking lake, with a shower room (no bath) which appeared to have been recently refurbished to a high standard. All staff around the hotel were extremely helpful and friendly, with the owners constantly in attendance and always willing to offer any assistance when requested.
We dined in the restaurant each evening and were very impressed with the menus and quality of dishes served both in the evenings and at breakfast time, and particularly liked the assurance that all foods served were gluten free. Having a grandson who is on a gluten free diet we know the problems which can arise when selecting suitable meals.
Could not fault the hotel in terms of standard of fixtures and fittings or cleanliness in all areas. Ample parking facilities and the availability of wi fi throughout the hotel are added bonuses.
I am sure that we will be returning before too long.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the lake, although there may be slight traffic noise this is more than co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Our daughter & son-in-law bought this as a Christmas gift & oh what a cracker it was! The view from the room on the top floor was fantastic, the food plentiful with excellent choice. The owners couldn't have been more helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely be booking another visit to this gem of a place.

Room Tip: High floor rooms give excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireJetsetters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
533 reviews
3.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
468 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
2.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenstone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Manor

Property: Ravenstone Manor
Address: Bassenthwaite | Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#4 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenstone Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Manor is a delightful 19th Century Manor House set within 3 hectares of grounds, situated at the foot of Skiddaw, looking across the valley to Bassenthwaite Lake. Rich in Cumbrian history, our 4 star Manor House has spectacular views of the Lake, the neighbouring Fells and Cumbrian countryside. We are fully dog friendly and ideally situated for walking, hiking & biking in the stunning Northern Lakes, Within the beautiful stone walls, you will find 20 charming en-suite bedrooms, a beautiful lounge, dining room and bar. Fed by the waters of Skiddaw, the Manor boasts its own fresh spring water that has quenched the thirst of its guests for over 50 years. The Dining Room serves a menu highlighting the freshest local meats, cheeses and produce. Open to residents and non-residents we offer a good home-cooked menu. Breakfast from 8:30 - 9:30am and evening meals from 6.00 till 8.00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ravenstone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Manor Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing