We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lake district keswick great getaway”
Review of Ravenstone Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ravenstone Manor
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“lake district keswick great getaway”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Me and my girlfriend stay in Ravenstone hotel beautiful place and location. Thank you to Kim and Shoran who always make you feel welcome. I would recommend this place to anyone. The food and services is awesome.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    742
    246
    36
    17
    11
See reviews for
92
742
30
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, lovely owners, great staff, friendly service, amazing food and great value! Defiantly recommend this hotel, brilliant position on bassenthwaite, great walking and cycling! Love the hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine5375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A welcome you would normally expect when arriving at a family gathering, Cherin, Kim and all their staff went out of their way to ensure your stay, no matter how long, would be a memorable one. The bedrooms were clean, modern and well appointed, the lounge was big but cosy comfy with deep sqidgy sofas to sink into with a well earned drink after a long day out sightseeing. To start the day with their version of a full English breakfast set you up for the day and to come home, because that is how it felt, to a dinner perfectly made with fresh ingredients and portions that would challenge any seasoned foodie leave you wishing that maybe just maybe your holiday wasn't yet over. "Thankyou" to you all for allowing my wife and I to enjoy your hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This little hotel has lots of pleasant surprises: fresh milk in the room; a bottle of Radox by the bath; a bath long enough to stretch my legs; a lovely sunlit grassy terrace for evening drinks.
The lounge is much brighter than my last visit and is the better for it. Food is unfussy and freshly prepared;staff very welcoming. I've booked again.

Room Tip: Room 18 (my last visit);4 poster bed;huge whirlpool bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hem0116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford england
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This was our fifth visit to the Ravenstone Manor but our first as a family of three. There have been reassuringly few changes since our last visit 30 months ago, and we were pleased to see that the new owners were as welcoming (or even more so?) as the last. We stayed for one night and were upgraded to a larger room to accommodate the cot for our toddler. Everything was provided, all we had to bring was ourselves! We had dinner, bed and breakfast and were a little concerned that with a small child we might disturb other diners. Before we had our daughter we wouldn't have really been impressed with a toddler accompanying our 4 course luxurious dinner, but thankfully she was on best behaviour. She was served a special menu tailored to her tastes, and devoured her home made garlic bread and pasta tubes. Sticky toffee pudding was ecstasy for her. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. We will definitely be back, though if we can escape for a night away without the Girl all the better!

Room Tip: We have liked all of the rooms we have stayed in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnio_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

With fabulous views (especially from room #3), professional and personal service, great food and a homely atmosphere, Ravenstone Manor is the place to stay in the northern lakes. Friendly, helpful staff make this a break to enjoy, whether you take advantage of the games room with its full-size snooker table, or simply relax in the luxurious lounge and read the paper. At mealtimes, you'll find Ravenstone's breakfast simply delightful and the evening meals delicious. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigNeil2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We went to the hotel 10 years ago, although the food was good,there was no atmosphere then. This time it was al lot better, much more friendly with the new owners. Enjoyed our stay over the weekend. The staff who serve breakfast and dinner were lovely. We had a good view from our room, even though it never stopped raining. Altogether we had a good break.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.1 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
525 reviews
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
527 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
2.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenstone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Manor

Property: Ravenstone Manor
Address: Bassenthwaite | Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#4 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenstone Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Manor is a delightful 19th Century Manor House set within 3 hectares of grounds, situated at the foot of Skiddaw, looking across the valley to Bassenthwaite Lake. Rich in Cumbrian history, our 4 star Manor House has spectacular views of the Lake, the neighbouring Fells and Cumbrian countryside. We are fully dog friendly and ideally situated for walking, hiking & biking in the stunning Northern Lakes, Within the beautiful stone walls, you will find 20 charming en-suite bedrooms, a beautiful lounge, dining room and bar. Fed by the waters of Skiddaw, the Manor boasts its own fresh spring water that has quenched the thirst of its guests for over 50 years. The Dining Room serves a menu highlighting the freshest local meats, cheeses and produce. Open to residents and non-residents we offer a good home-cooked menu. Breakfast from 8:30 - 9:30am and evening meals from 6.00 till 8.00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ravenstone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Manor Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing