We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected treat!”
Review of Ravenstone Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ravenstone Manor
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An unexpected treat!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We were in the lakes as an escape for myself having just buried my lovely dad....we rang the Ravenstone Manor whilst in the area and from the first phone call we felt cared for...
Alison on reception was so welcoming and warm in her approach I felt like I had made a friend..she talked us through the offers of bed and breakfast and showed us sample menus for an evening meal.We had the choice of two rooms both of which were nicely decorated,very clean and with lovely mountain views.Some other members of staff that need to be mentioned are..Tyne,Laura and Liza..they were equally as caring and pleasant as Alison..
Our evening meal was superb and started with pre dinner drinks in the lounge appreciating the view...appetisers were delicious..Thankyou to all at Ravenstone for your caring...Elaine and Chris

Room Tip: Obviously the rooms with the views are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crankcavernsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    724
    244
    35
    17
    10
See reviews for
87
726
30
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was our second visit to the hotel following an enjoyable stay 12 months ago.
The staff were excellent, all very welcoming. I booked by telephone rather than email and this enabled me to chat to the owner and eventually sort out a better deal.
It is good to have the bed breakfast and evening meal as the dinners are first class and not many alternative restaurants around, other than driving to Keswick, about 5 miles.
We stayed four nights, lucky with sunny weather. A one mile walk along a trail took us to Dodd Wood visitor centre and then a 400 yards uphill walk to the Osprey observation post where there were good views of Bassenthwaite Lake, but more importantly our first ever live view of an Osprey, courtesy of the helpful people at the observation post and their loan of binoculars and
Telescope.
From the hotel there was also a nice walk across meadows to the lake.
I enjoyed sitting out on the lawn of the hotel where there were tables, chairs and benches. There were house martins wheeling round (three nests above our bedroom window), a resident baby rabbit on the lawn and then a red squirrel ran right by me and across the lawn. It was very tranquil putting my feet up and gazing across the lake-why feel obliged to dash about everywhere.

Room Tip: Rooms looking over the lake give you,the chance to,enjoy the wonderful,views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Enjoyed every minute of our time at Ravenstone, the accomodations were excellent, the room spacious and well appointed, the food, both morning and event excellent, and the location very convenient for the northern Cumbria area. If there was one complaint, it was the creaking floors above from the owners or managers quarters, who apparently had to rise early to attend to breakfast for some early departers. If you choose a room, request one of the many others without anyone above you. Otherwise excellent, and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank golfnut1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We recently got married close to Ravenstone Manor and some of our guests stayed here over the course of the weekend. We arranged to have a BBQ the day after the wedding so that we could spend some more time with our guests in a more relaxed setting. To say that they went beyond our expectations is an understatement! The quality (and amount!) of food provided throughout the afternoon was incredible. We also stayed over that evening and the room was very comfortable. Also, a bottle of fizz and a congratulations card was left in the room which was a really nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ioan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just returned from a Living Social offer this weekend. Excellent value for money. Would return and pay full price (its that good!) We stayed in a room at the front on the second floor in a standard room which has everything you would expect in a 4* hotel. The view from the window was amazing. The hotel itself has history, charm and is an old country house (think Downtown Abbey on a smaller scale) There is a file giving the family tree of the house that I believe was researched by a previous guest which was lovely to read on one of the many settees while you wait for your evening meal. There is a small terraced covered veranda along the front of the hotel which was great for sitting out under and it will be even lovelier once the roses are fully grown. We ate at the hotel and it was truly one of the best meals we have ever had, good sized portions and very tasty and met colieac dietry requirements not the we needed it or noticed.. We have high standards where food is concerned....The staff were all friendly, approachable and helpful. We arrived late and were shown to our room and given a small jug of fresh milk. A kind touch instead of being pointed in the direction of the room. Cherin and Kim are very down to earth owners who obviously care about their business and if you are enjoying your stay. Discretely checking that everyone staying is happy. There is also a garden with plenty of seating. We would love to return during winter and take advantage of those open fires!

Room Tip: Front rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay using a living social voucher and it was a very pleasant stay. Our room was small but very clean, I found the bed and pillows too soft but for two nights it didn't really matter. Hotel itself was very well presented, extremely clean but quite dark as it was Edwardian in decor. We had one evening meal included in the deal I enjoyed my lamb very much but my poor hubby could not believe they did not have chips!!! This was eased as they agreed to give him wedges so decent on their part. The staff were lovely always helpful and cheerful. Hotel is a drive from Keswick but it is not too remote. We used hotel as a base to drive out from and this was ideal. I don't know if I would return without a voucher but if you can get a deal it is well worth it- go.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariemacLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just returned from our second delightful stay - again with four close friends - and the Ravenstone lived up to our high expectations. While Cherin and Kim are very much hands-on owners, their presence and that of their lovely staff is never intrusive - just warm, welcoming and efficient. Nothing is too much trouble for them and the little touches (eg. the offer of fresh milk in our rooms, gluten-free bread, the drying room for our walking gear) meant a lot. The cuisine is excellent and beautifully presented and served. Our rooms and bathrooms were most comfortable and very clean. We were again lucky to be able to soak up the evening sunshine on the raised grassed lawn whilst enjoying our canapés and pre-dinner drinks before a superb view. It's a real gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PigsonTour2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.1 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
2.3 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenstone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Manor

Property: Ravenstone Manor
Address: Bassenthwaite | Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#4 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenstone Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Manor is a delightful 19th Century Manor House set within 3 hectares of grounds, situated at the foot of Skiddaw, looking across the valley to Bassenthwaite Lake. Rich in Cumbrian history, our 4 star Manor House has spectacular views of the Lake, the neighbouring Fells and Cumbrian countryside. We are fully dog friendly and ideally situated for walking, hiking & biking in the stunning Northern Lakes, Within the beautiful stone walls, you will find 20 charming en-suite bedrooms, a beautiful lounge, bar and games room with snooker and pool tables. Fed by the waters of Skiddaw, the Manor boasts its own fresh spring water that has quenched the thirst of its guests for over 50 years. The Dining Room serves a menu highlighting the freshest local meats, cheeses and produce. Open to residents and non-residents we offer a good home-cooked menu. Breakfast from 8:30 - 9:30am and evening meals from 6.30 till 8.30pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ravenstone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Manor Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing