We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful Hotel and scenery - a little quiet but very homely.”
Review of Ravenstone Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ravenstone Manor
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Ravenstone Hotel for a Friday night romantic get away. We had one of the Spa rooms with the dinner bed and breakfast package. Overall the hotel is a wonderful building in breath taking surroundings. The interior and furniture is all in keeping and there's a very homely feel about the place. Our room was stunning - very tastefully decorated with superb views. Maybe a little chilly when we first walked in but the under floor heating in the bathroom did help. We both really enjoyed the evening meal, good service and very tasty home cooked food. The only comment we would have about the restaurant is that it felt very quiet when we walked in. Being February there weren't a huge amount of guests but a little background music would have really helped the atmosphere. The bar was really cosy and games room a great addition too (both needed a little music though). I would have liked to have stayed for more than one night, especially in that room and I’d definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrotsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstonehome, manager at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2010

Glad you enjoyed your short stay with us.
It is very difficult to please everyone with music being played as it is also lovely to have some peace and quiet some times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,088)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

989 - 995 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2010

Highly recommended. Lovely warm room with all of the facilities required. Lovely evening meal which I would certainly recommend. It was an added bonus to find a games room where there were no charges for the use of the facilities.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnmleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstonehome, manager at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2010

Come and visit us again next time you are in the area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Lovely Hotel. Room and hotel were very cold,but this was more to with the temperature outside as the hotel heating was on 24 hours, I just think it could not cope(both lakes were frozen over). Bedroom could do with updating and there was an awful smell in the shower room. I think it was caused by dampness as they don't have extractors. They did change the curtain for us, but it made no difference. The food is brilliant and the staff are lovely. We would definitely return but would upgrade the room.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylvesterdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

everything about our stay was excellent, the rooms were nice and clean and of good size.
the staff were always on hand and very helpfull and the food was amazing.
the location of the hotel is very picturesque, all in all a great family hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2sips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstonehome, manager at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2010

Thank you for the review. Come and stay with us again soon.
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2010

A friendly welcome followed by first class service and good food in the restaurant. The room was small but comfortable. Pool and snooker table a handy distraction after dinner. Location was quiet but ideal as base especially if you want to climb Skiddaw. There is a trail up just to the side of the hotel (no need to pay in expensive Lake District car parks). A trail also leads down to Bassenthwaite for a quiet uncrowded walk,

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMHNewcastleuponTyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstonehome, manager at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2010

Hope you enjoyed your walk up Skiddaw. Hope to see you again soon.
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2010

This hotel has got it exactly right. The comfort and warmth was excellent. The food was absolutely superb. Staff very friendly, hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendersDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstonehome, Manager at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2010

Many thanks for your kind review, your feedback is greatly appreciated
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

The service was great with really nice staff. Room was brilliant with a spa bath that proved to be just perfect after a days hikiing!! As i am a very fussy eater at first glance the menu didnt seem very big, but when the food came it was fantastic!! Id recomend to anyone wanting a break in a peaceful location!! Thankyou for a wonderful 21st, we'll definately be back!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pingu08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstonehome, manager at Ravenstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2010

Come and visit us again soon when you are next visiting the area
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.1 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
553 reviews
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,678 reviews
3.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
546 reviews
23.8 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenstone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Manor

Address: Bassenthwaite | Keswick, Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#4 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range: £84 - £501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenstone Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Manor is a delightful 19th Century Manor House set within 3 hectares of grounds, situated at the foot of Skiddaw, looking across the valley to Bassenthwaite Lake. Rich in Cumbrian history, our 4 star Manor House has spectacular views of the Lake, the neighbouring Fells and Cumbrian countryside. We are fully dog friendly and ideally situated for walking, hiking & biking in the stunning Northern Lakes, Within the beautiful stone walls, you will find 20 charming en-suite bedrooms, a beautiful lounge, dining room and bar. Fed by the waters of Skiddaw, the Manor boasts its own fresh spring water that has quenched the thirst of its guests for over 50 years. The Dining Room serves a menu highlighting the freshest local meats, cheeses and produce. Open to residents and non-residents we offer a good home-cooked menu. Breakfast from 8:30 - 9:30am and evening meals from 6.00 till 8.00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, LateRooms, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ravenstone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Manor Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing