We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous - Room Food Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ravenstone Manor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2010

Would stay again. Room & bathroom very clean, food and service ecellent. Cannot undertand why this Hotel is showing as only 2 star - we had 4 star service.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

995 - 1,001 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2010

We have just returned from a fabulous stay at this hotel.Thouroughly enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere of the hotel and the accommodation. Very comfortable bed and everything catered for. Andrew and Debra go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The food is first class and cooked to the highest standard. I can certainly recommend the creme brulee - wonderful. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppy040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstonehome, manager at Ravenstone Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2010

Glad you enjoyed your stay and the creme brulee. Come and visit us again soon.
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

Our 2nd visit which was better than the 1st. The service in particular was excellent, nothing was too much trouble. The room had been refurbished and very enjoyable. I would have to nit pick to find anything to criticise, and the criticisms would be more to do with personal preference rather than negative comments of the hotel. We will definately be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MolariLondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2010

A pleasant and quiet location, away from the crowds but with easy access to all areas of the National Park and the mountains.. Very friendly and efficient service with excellent food. A very relaxing experience in comfortable surroundings. and well kept grounds with easy parking. Quiet card games by the open fire in the bar with the snooker table available in the adjoining room added to the relaxation.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwrgwyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstonehome, manager at Ravenstone Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2010

Glad you enjoyed the peace and quiet
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

We wanted to take a short break for my Husbands Birthday and didn't want to drive too far so we booked Ravenstone Hotel in the Lakes as the reviews i had read all semed really good. We had a fantastic stay, the food was extremely good, the staff really friendly and helpful and the hotel just had a lovely, friendly, warm feel about it. (Lillian's homemade marmalades and preserves served at Breakfast are gorgeous!!!) We booked with late rooms and got a complete bargain. I would highly recommend this hotel. A big thank you to everyone at the Ravenstone for such a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lelwuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstonehome, manager at Ravenstone Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2010

Thankyou for the review. Come again and try some more of Lilli's jams and marmalades. She also makes chutney and picallili
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

this is the sixth or seventh time I have stayed at the Ravenstone over the past few years and I have always found a friendly and warn welcome, excellent food and most certainly value for money. Over the year the owners have worked hard and very effectively to constantly improve the experience while not losing the essentially 'familiar' atmosphere which they have created.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CuthSem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstonehome, manager at Ravenstone Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2010

Thankyou for the review. Hope to see you again soon. Hope you enjoyed the quiz nights.
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

You know you read those hotel descriptions which say "warm welcome, friendly staff etc"
Well, on this trip I was travelling alone and without my wife for company I was more alert to it than usual. I cannot commend the staff too highly for their friendly attentive service. Well done!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank climbergb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstonehome, manager at Ravenstone Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2010

Thank you for the review. It is most appreciated.
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.1 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
586 reviews
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#6 of 22 in Keswick
578 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
3.9 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenstone Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Manor Hotel

Address: | Keswick, Bassenthwaite, Keswick CA12 4QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Price Range: £68 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenstone Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Manor is a delightful 19th Century Manor House set within 3 hectares of grounds, situated at the foot of Skiddaw, looking across the valley to Bassenthwaite Lake. Rich in Cumbrian history, our 4 star Manor House has spectacular views of the Lake, the neighbouring Fells and Cumbrian countryside. We are fully dog friendly and ideally situated for walking, hiking & biking in the stunning Northern Lakes, Within the beautiful stone walls, you will find 20 charming en-suite bedrooms, a beautiful lounge, dining room and bar. Fed by the waters of Skiddaw, the Manor boasts its own fresh spring water that has quenched the thirst of its guests for over 50 years. The Dining Room serves a menu highlighting the freshest local meats, cheeses and produce. Open to residents and non-residents we offer a good home-cooked menu. Breakfast from 8:15 - 9:30am and evening meals from 6.00 till 8.45pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ravenstone Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Manor Hotel Bassenthwaite, Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing