We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Well what can i say ?? EXCELLENT This was our 2nd stay at RAVENSTONE LODGE within 6 months The staff are excellent, The food is excellent, The view is excellent, I would like to thank you all at the lodge for YET another lovely stay, We will defo see you all again, Weve never been looked after so much, If you want a lovely, quiet, weekend away book this lodge and you will love it, ALLAN & MANDY OF SOUTHPORT

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love-Footy-and-Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    107
    26
    8
    4
See reviews for
47
405
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

What drew us to pick the Ravenstone Lodge? The reveiws on Tripadvisor! This was backed up by an excellent two night stay. We were welcomed by the owner and looked after by Mike and his staff for 48 hours. The bad side is, we will now have to compare all our future hotels to Ravenstone! The food is outstanding, Thanks Rab! The waiter Anthony is polite and considerate and therefore worthy of an award for service. Parking is unrestricted. The ratio of facilities to guests is almost 1:1 (tables, seats in the conservatory etc..) Excellent for walkers (try the Walkers Breakfast) as right behind the lodge is Skiddaw - Ullock Pike, Long Side, Carl Side and Dodd walks (climbs!). This gives you an excellent view of Keswick as a whole and Derwentwater. Also, a strange minituarised view of the lodge car park from about 800ft. Most of the rooms would not suffer from road noise (2 and 1 for sure) although the road past the lodge is not all that busy anyway. Altogether a VERY enjoyable stay with a welcomed personal touch. We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkTortworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2011

The Ravenstone Lodge, not to be confused with the Ravenstone Hotel across the road, is a beautiful place were you are made to feel very welcome. On arrival we were greeted by Mike the owner and unlike many places we have stayed he didn't want to get us checked in and shown to our room but instead wanted to show us the facilities and provide a brief history of the place.

We stayed in Room 7 and enjoyed 2 nights of fantastic sleep in an ever so comfortable bed, awakening each morning to beautiful views. Excellent quality bedding and fluffy towels compliment the room. Our bathroom in fairness didn't match the quality of the room in that although being perfectly adequate wasn't shiny and new but this detracted in no way from our stay.

We stayed for evening meal both nights which had the owner of the Ravenstone Hotel across the road not of been so churlish on our mutual mistaken attempt to check in would have gained our custom on one evening out of curiosity and close proximity to the Ravenstone Lodge. Maybe this was to our benefit though as the food at the Lodge is excellent, enjoying mallard breast and venison on one evening and very succulent steaks the second. I understand food is locally sourced, its certainly well selected and the menu well chosen.....we would have happily eaten any of the dishes as they all sounded good.

Breakfast is really so very good with 3 sizes of a cooked breakfast to choose from - opting for the medium size both morings it really set us up for the day and we certainly ate nothing again until our evening meal..............I'm not a great bacon fan but I can honestly say this was the best bacon I have tasted. The quality of produce is certainly not scrimped upon......please Ravenstone Lodge never change your bacon supplier! Cafetiers of coffee also greatly appreciated and much nicer than the normal filter coffee you come to expect from hotels.

You can't review this place without mentioning Anthony, Ravenstone's waiter...............a lovely young lad who has the confidence to let his personality show which is a rare quality to be found in the hotel industry were waiting staff seem to be from the same charcterless mould.

Everyone here is friendly, even the chef says a cheery 'Goodnight' to guests when he finishes for the night, walking passed well fed guests relaxing over their drinks in the conservatory.

There is a lovely terrace available for alfresco dining or just relaxing with afternoon tea whilst enjoying the views and when we visit again in the Summer we certainly hope we are blessed with the weather to do both!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gruffalo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We booked a last minute weekend break at the Ravenstone Lodge hotel and had a wonderful weekend. All staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, which made a very enjoyable stay. We stayed in room number 1, a superior room with a fourposter bed, we had lovely views across the fields and peaceful.The hotel was very clean and warm ... too warm at times. Excellent breakfast is served. Hotel is just 4 miles away from Keswick and there's plently of nice walks on the door step. Good valve for money. Would go back again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daroberts61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Moved frm the Borrowdale valley and tried a new location at the back of Bassenthwaite.Arrived at the Ravenstone Lodge.Arrived around 3.00 pm and given the superior room 6. Shown round but the room was bitterly cold. Request made for a space heater which was delivered but feel the heating should have been switched on and the radiator checked for air pockets, which it was eventually was. Difficult to contact staff as there is no formal reception but a mobile phone number is supplied and is probably the best way of reaching the General Manager.

Bathroom is poor and shower is only reasonable

Good choice at breakfast but difficult to speak to staff because they all disappeared. Recommend but like to see some changes.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england north east
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2010

me and my boyfriend both 23 yrs old decided to hit Ravenstone lodge for the first weekend in December for an anniversary getaway upon arrival we were greeted by adam the manager he was extremely friendly and welcoming he showed us around and then to our room which was extremely cosy warm and just what we needed with an en-suite attached

Saturday evening we had our dinner in the lodge restaurant we had the most amazing lamb we have both ever tasted and a beautiful apple and cinnamon crumble we were stuffed!!

the whole stay was so wonderful we are already making plans to return next year!

a huge thank you to Adam and Roz and the rest of the team for making our anniversary that little bit extra special

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammi1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2010

It was a cold, wet, blustery November evening as the two weary and wary travellers arrived at an establishment that looked like a farm building in the middle of nowhere. Had we made a ghastly mistake? It was too late to change now so, in some tepidation, we stumbled inside. We didn't actually see the wand move, but, within seconds, the magic had started to work. Far from striking a rock, we had actually struck gold! Charming, friendly and competent staff; interesting fellow-guests; a comfortable room well furnished and well equipped; a proper English breakfast; easy parking; WIFI that actually worked and a big flat TV. This was real luxury at a very reasonable price. The location? Well, it is where it is and if that's where you want or need to be, it's a great location. And is the magic real? The magician is actually the new owner whose imaginative ideas on what a small hotel should be like not only pervade everything, but also work. And he's an accountant, not a dreamer, so this magic is well thought out and well costed. Our only real criticism was the lack of mirror in a well lit part of the bedroom. And of course it's a bit of a shock for townies like us to find a mountain lurking right ouside the bedroom window in the morning, but that won't stop us coming back. Unless, like Brigadoon, the Lodge has vanished again into the Lakeland mist. We do hope not.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthonyrobindavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
22.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,052 reviews
3.8 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,626 reviews
3.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
530 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenstone Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Lodge Hotel

Property: Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Address: Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenstone Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Lodge is a converted 19th Century stables & lodge with many original features including the stables themselves which are now the bar. Situated at the foot of Ullock Pike close to Skiddaw with views towards Bassenthwaite Lake and the Northern Fells we are perfectly positioned to explore the Northern Lake District.Ravenstone Lodge is a privately small hotel with just 9 bedrooms and because of this we can provide a uniquely personal service and when you stay with us you are not just a room number but are our guests in the true meaning of the word. Because of this many return time and time again, maybe requesting their favourite room or that a particular dish be put on the menu. Food is very important to us and our philosophy is very simple, top quality locally sourced ingredients cooked to order by our resident chef with sufficient choice to satisfy all tastes.We look forward to welcoming you to Ravenstone Lodge.Mike Cornish - Proprietor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Ravenstone Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing