We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding location, great food and wonderful staff; we will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2011

being ravenstone lodge virgins we approached with some trepidation! however, we need not have worried ,from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, nothing was too much trouble for Adam, Rozz, and their excellent staff.The food was outstanding and the friendly atmos made us feel at home.The view from the terrace was lovely and we enjoyed several pints of lager whilst we watched the lambs gambol and frolic in the field!
We had a very relaxing 3 days, obviously helped by good weather and we will definitely be back. The only downside was the bed was not as comfy as we would have liked, but we did book late on and it was the only room available, so thumbs up from us!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garygnuttall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebcornish, Owner at Ravenstone Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2011

Many thanks for your TripAdvisor review Gary. I'm sorry about the bed but thanks for bringing this to our attention. A replacement mattress has been ordered today! Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2011

We stayed at the lodge for the first time this April. The reason for picking it was Trip advisor. Mike the owner was extremely friendly and talked about anything you asked. The staff were great and the service was spot on.

Food was great and quality was 100%. Only a few miles from Keswick you have the amenities and can re-treat back to peace and tranquility.

We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maj0rB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

We stayed for our honeymoon and the hotel, staff and service was absolutley great. Really friendly, but not intrusive, staff helped make our stay very memorable. This is our 2nd visit to the hotel and it certainly won't be our last.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catterickmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Well what can i say ?? EXCELLENT This was our 2nd stay at RAVENSTONE LODGE within 6 months The staff are excellent, The food is excellent, The view is excellent, I would like to thank you all at the lodge for YET another lovely stay, We will defo see you all again, Weve never been looked after so much, If you want a lovely, quiet, weekend away book this lodge and you will love it, ALLAN & MANDY OF SOUTHPORT

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love-Footy-and-Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

What drew us to pick the Ravenstone Lodge? The reveiws on Tripadvisor! This was backed up by an excellent two night stay. We were welcomed by the owner and looked after by Mike and his staff for 48 hours. The bad side is, we will now have to compare all our future hotels to Ravenstone! The food is outstanding, Thanks Rab! The waiter Anthony is polite and considerate and therefore worthy of an award for service. Parking is unrestricted. The ratio of facilities to guests is almost 1:1 (tables, seats in the conservatory etc..) Excellent for walkers (try the Walkers Breakfast) as right behind the lodge is Skiddaw - Ullock Pike, Long Side, Carl Side and Dodd walks (climbs!). This gives you an excellent view of Keswick as a whole and Derwentwater. Also, a strange minituarised view of the lodge car park from about 800ft. Most of the rooms would not suffer from road noise (2 and 1 for sure) although the road past the lodge is not all that busy anyway. Altogether a VERY enjoyable stay with a welcomed personal touch. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkTortworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

The Ravenstone Lodge, not to be confused with the Ravenstone Hotel across the road, is a beautiful place were you are made to feel very welcome. On arrival we were greeted by Mike the owner and unlike many places we have stayed he didn't want to get us checked in and shown to our room but instead wanted to show us the facilities and provide a brief history of the place.

We stayed in Room 7 and enjoyed 2 nights of fantastic sleep in an ever so comfortable bed, awakening each morning to beautiful views. Excellent quality bedding and fluffy towels compliment the room. Our bathroom in fairness didn't match the quality of the room in that although being perfectly adequate wasn't shiny and new but this detracted in no way from our stay.

We stayed for evening meal both nights which had the owner of the Ravenstone Hotel across the road not of been so churlish on our mutual mistaken attempt to check in would have gained our custom on one evening out of curiosity and close proximity to the Ravenstone Lodge. Maybe this was to our benefit though as the food at the Lodge is excellent, enjoying mallard breast and venison on one evening and very succulent steaks the second. I understand food is locally sourced, its certainly well selected and the menu well chosen.....we would have happily eaten any of the dishes as they all sounded good.

Breakfast is really so very good with 3 sizes of a cooked breakfast to choose from - opting for the medium size both morings it really set us up for the day and we certainly ate nothing again until our evening meal..............I'm not a great bacon fan but I can honestly say this was the best bacon I have tasted. The quality of produce is certainly not scrimped upon......please Ravenstone Lodge never change your bacon supplier! Cafetiers of coffee also greatly appreciated and much nicer than the normal filter coffee you come to expect from hotels.

You can't review this place without mentioning Anthony, Ravenstone's waiter...............a lovely young lad who has the confidence to let his personality show which is a rare quality to be found in the hotel industry were waiting staff seem to be from the same charcterless mould.

Everyone here is friendly, even the chef says a cheery 'Goodnight' to guests when he finishes for the night, walking passed well fed guests relaxing over their drinks in the conservatory.

There is a lovely terrace available for alfresco dining or just relaxing with afternoon tea whilst enjoying the views and when we visit again in the Summer we certainly hope we are blessed with the weather to do both!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gruffalo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

We booked a last minute weekend break at the Ravenstone Lodge hotel and had a wonderful weekend. All staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, which made a very enjoyable stay. We stayed in room number 1, a superior room with a fourposter bed, we had lovely views across the fields and peaceful.The hotel was very clean and warm ... too warm at times. Excellent breakfast is served. Hotel is just 4 miles away from Keswick and there's plently of nice walks on the door step. Good valve for money. Would go back again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daroberts61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
22.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Ravenstone Manor Hotel
Ravenstone Manor Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,098 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,721 reviews
3.8 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
518 reviews
18.6 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenstone Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Lodge Hotel

Address: Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Price Range: £58 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenstone Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Lodge is a converted 19th Century stables & lodge with many original features including the stables themselves which are now the bar. Situated at the foot of Ullock Pike close to Skiddaw with views towards Bassenthwaite Lake and the Northern Fells we are perfectly positioned to explore the Northern Lake District.Ravenstone Lodge is a privately small hotel with just 9 bedrooms and because of this we can provide a uniquely personal service and when you stay with us you are not just a room number but are our guests in the true meaning of the word. Because of this many return time and time again, maybe requesting their favourite room or that a particular dish be put on the menu. Food is very important to us and our philosophy is very simple, top quality locally sourced ingredients cooked to order by our resident chef with sufficient choice to satisfy all tastes.We look forward to welcoming you to Ravenstone Lodge.Mike Cornish - Proprietor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ravenstone Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing