We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We enjoyed a lovely weekend at this hotel. Adam, the manager, was really welcoming and gave us lots of info on places we could visit. We had planned on walking but I had forgotten the walking boots!!! Adam was kind enough to lend his. The food both at breakfast and in the evening was really good. All the people that we met, Mike, Adam, Roz and Anthony were kind and helpful.We definitely intend to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rozig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2011

We booked this hotel last minute due to a change in our plans. We arrived and we were met by a very friendly member of staff who explained everything we needed to know and then showed us to our room. We had a few drinks in bar and then had an outstanding meal in the restuarant. The owner even came to introduce himself to us which we thought was a lovely touch! The area is stunning and Keswick is only a short bus ride away. We ended up eating at the hotel on the Saturday night too because it was that good!!! Cant wait till our next stay which we have booked already. Would definately recommend!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room and it was lovely!! Very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My husband and I stayed there on a 4 night stay what a lovely place to be in food out of this world nothing to much trouble rooms very clean and comfortable after a hard days walking it was such a pleasure to go back and chilli out.the people who own and work there are so wonderful and you did not need your car to do walking as the dodds are just across the road.we will be going back too good to be true

Room Tip: all rooms are good and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tracie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

The hotel was welcoming, warm and friendly. Bedrooms were very comfortable; bathrooms fine, though a more elegant shower might have been nice.
Breakfast was great; really set us up for the walking.
We were able to relax, walk, chat all in real comfort. Definitely a hotel to go back to on a regular basis for walkers.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank laura c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Beautifull surroundings, very friendly and helpfull staff. lovely room, facilities and the food were lovely. cannot fault stay at all. Lovely walks in imediate surroundings and 5mins away from keswick. We had a perfect annaversary, we will definatly be coming back again and would reccomend to anyone!

Room Tip: Beautifull views from four poster room, overlooking gardens and mountains. Lovely even in the rain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jonathan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

What an unexpected joy. The hotel and location are superb and plenty of walking can be found without having to use your car. Its worth taking the short walk down to Bassenthwaite Lake and the little church, it was so tranquil down at the lakeside. It was the staff however who really made the stay memorable and so enjoyable. Don't usually return to the same place as like to try different things but can't wait to go back here! Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

My husband and I stayed there on a 2 night stay and I must say all the staff went out of their way to ensure we had a comfortable and a very pleasant stay at this lodge/hotel . Went to chill out and relax and we were so impressed with the cleanliness and friendliness that greeted us . We will be back again without a doubt . ********

Room Tip: Room was slightly smaller than we expected but clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teresa62635927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.1 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,090 reviews
22.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,702 reviews
3.8 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
505 reviews
17.2 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenstone Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Lodge Hotel

Address: Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Price Range: £59 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenstone Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Lodge is a converted 19th Century stables & lodge with many original features including the stables themselves which are now the bar. Situated at the foot of Ullock Pike close to Skiddaw with views towards Bassenthwaite Lake and the Northern Fells we are perfectly positioned to explore the Northern Lake District.Ravenstone Lodge is a privately small hotel with just 9 bedrooms and because of this we can provide a uniquely personal service and when you stay with us you are not just a room number but are our guests in the true meaning of the word. Because of this many return time and time again, maybe requesting their favourite room or that a particular dish be put on the menu. Food is very important to us and our philosophy is very simple, top quality locally sourced ingredients cooked to order by our resident chef with sufficient choice to satisfy all tastes.We look forward to welcoming you to Ravenstone Lodge.Mike Cornish - Proprietor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Ravenstone Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing