We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and food, room needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2011

The service from when I first arrived was very good as was the food.

The room however was a mixed bag, the bed was comfortable and the room warm however the bathroom needs renovating, the ceiling in the shower was covered in mould as was the sealant around the shower. This place could be really nice if a little money is spent on keeping it up to date.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike-cheshire-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikebcornish, Owner at Ravenstone Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2011

You are quite right, after a very busy season we were too slow in getting round to the periodic deep-clean of this room. The shower has now been thoroughly cleaned and will be kept that way in future! This is one of the rooms scheduled for refurbishment this winter. Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.
Mike Cornish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (543)
There are newer reviews for Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 543 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2011

Well our 3rd stay here within 14 months, We love the place, Yet again had a lovely stay, THE FOOD WAS EXCELLENT AGAIN, THE LODGE WAS WARM AND WELCOME, Its just as nice in winter as it is in summer, but the only down side about winter is it goes dark early to see all the lovely views. If you want a lovely quiet stay in the lakes, WELL DONT LOOK ANYWHERE ELSE TILL YOU TRY HERE!!!!! YOU WILL LOVE IT.... THANKS AGAIN TO YOU ALL AT RAVENSTONE LODGE.... ALLAN & MANDY.... SOUTHPORT

Room Tip: If its a special weekend and you want to treat your loved one..... WELL BOOK ROOM 9 YOU WILL BE...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love-Footy-and-Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

What a find, over looking fields down to the lake at Bassenthwaite, on arrival plenty of parking, arrived in the semi dark and the lodge had lamps on all over which made it very cosy indeed.
Were shown to our room which was nice but quite small with a lovely view,we were then offered an alternative (7) which was the old barn, this suited us much more as it was huge but with no view but since it was Nov and dark at 4 a view wasn't essential.
Dined that evening and the food was excellent, specials board seabass could not fault.
After a full day out visiting nearby church, lake and mirehouse and a partial walk into Keswick until the path came to the busy road which was pathless so we got the bus the last 2 miles!
Breakfasts excellent, a big choice and if your choice was not on the menu the staff would cook food to your desire.
The staff we met were welcoming, friendly, and attentive but not intrusive.
All in all a fabulous find.
Excellent staff, food, location.
Will definately return in the summer when the nights are longer and would be a pleasure to sit on the terrace overlooking the hills and country.
Thankyou to all the staff involved.
Gill and Richard
X

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillybobsManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

I would urge anyone to try the Ravenstone Lodge.

The Lodge is very affordable but in no way compromises on quality and style. The owner (Mike) is just the most welcoming of hosts. The staff were amazing with us and did everything during our stay to make us welcome. The breakfast menu is superb. It offers everything and not just the huge "walkers fry" that you would expect. The location is excellent for a stress busting getaway based on the side of the lake with sweeping views of the surrounding hills.

Room Tip: We had a look around and all of the rooms are superb.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We strongly recommend this place, it's one of the best we have stayed at. The hospitality cannot be bettered and it is hard to find anything about the service, food, accommodation, welcome, etc that can be faulted. We stayed for two nights - wish it could have been longer - & we will most certainly return. The breakfast choices are well thought out & we ate dinner there both nights from a really fine menu at a very reasonable price.

Our room was excellent with a great view over the valley.

10 out of 10 from us!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We booked Ravenstone Lodge as a value-for-money short walking break and weren't really sure what to expect. We came away absolutely delighted - Ravenstone offers so much more than value-for-money; from the moment you arrive you are assured of a warm but non-intrusive welcome from staff who genuinely want you to relax and enjoy the place. The food is superb; you could not wish for a better breakfast in terms of choice, quality (and quantity!). The evening menu is a treat too - local fresh produce with a great selection across all courses and daily specials. Service was spot-on too. The rooms vary in size and standard (room by room refurb. in progress I believe) hence my 'room tip'. We have already booked a return visit, this time staying in the signature room, No. 9 - can't wait!

Room Tip: Talk to the staff - they will help you choose the best room for you.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

This is my first review on TripAdvisor however I do have extensive experience in the hospitality sector through my line of work and the travelling I do as part of it.

From the very outset - arriving at the gorgeous Ravenstone Lodge, I was welcomed by a young gentleman with a big warm smile and a fast and easy check in. Walked to my room (number 4) I was shown all the facilities, asked if I would like to dine with them and even offered a hot sandwich (if I had ordered after the kitchen had closed) - seriously, you just don't get that kind of offer very often these days! Normally it's a "kitchen is closed - sorry" -well not at this hotel!

The room, is warm, clean and extremely well equipped - no faults what so ever.

The bar serves a good selection of beers, whisky and wine and although I did not dine at the hotel, the restaurant part looks lovely.

Even little details like the television in the bar not being too loud - and soft lighting wherever you go.

As I say, I have not written a review before - I just can't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spartak A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
22.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,072 reviews
17.2 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
478 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
2.4 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenstone Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Lodge Hotel

Address: Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#1 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range: £76 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenstone Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Lodge is a converted 19th Century stables & lodge with many original features including the stables themselves which are now the bar. Situated at the foot of Ullock Pike close to Skiddaw with views towards Bassenthwaite Lake and the Northern Fells we are perfectly positioned to explore the Northern Lake District.Ravenstone Lodge is a privately small hotel with just 9 bedrooms and because of this we can provide a uniquely personal service and when you stay with us you are not just a room number but are our guests in the true meaning of the word. Because of this many return time and time again, maybe requesting their favourite room or that a particular dish be put on the menu. Food is very important to us and our philosophy is very simple, top quality locally sourced ingredients cooked to order by our resident chef with sufficient choice to satisfy all tastes.We look forward to welcoming you to Ravenstone Lodge.Mike Cornish - Proprietor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Ravenstone Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing