We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic, friendly, great food, gem of a place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic, friendly, great food, gem of a place”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Have recently spent 4 nights at this amazing little hotel, perfect position, but more importantly the nicest, most helpful and friendly host and staff, nothing was too much trouble and they certainly made our stay peaceful, relaxing and already wanting to return! Can't rate this place enough, its just amazing, the food is fantastic and Mike and Jane are the perfect hosts. Thank you for making my birthday so special!

Room Tip: We went for the superior room and the bed was the biggest we have ever seen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinandjulie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    104
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
45
380
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Our reason for visiting Bassenthwaite Lake was the Ospreys, and Ravenstone Lodge is perfectly placed for this, being less than a mile from the Dodd Wood Osprey viewpoint. The Lodge was easy to find and has a lovely conservatory, from which you can admire the beautiful views. A 15-20 minute walk takes you from the garden of the lodge, across countryside, and down to the Lakeside, which is well worth doing. Our room was pleasant, having dual aspect windows, and a newly furbished bathroom with a decent sized bath and posh toiletries (H2K) which are always appreciated! Breakfast was good, with lovely fresh bread. We had dinner at the Lodge, which I'm afraid I was a little disappointed by. The food was well presented, but "nice" rather than "really good", which is what I would expect given the price (£15-£17 for a main course). The service was generally friendly but lacked a bit of continuity. Overall, we were satisfied with our stay, but were not "wowed" enough to consider a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyJoyNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stayed here twice now and both times were fantastic. I believe the rooms have now been upgraded but even before hand they were always clean and in good order. Breakfast was lovely and there are some nice quiet walks around the hotel to enjoy. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Stayed here on long weekend break attending a wedding locally.
Greeted as a friend and made very welcome after a long drive from Yorkshire.
Although the room was slightly small, the facilities and views more than compensated.
The breakfast buffet was excellent and well presented. There were many choices for cooked breakfasts and I choose the "Walkers Breakfast". Could have walked for miles. Superb

We stayed during the snowy weekend and the view over the lake and mountains were excellent

Highly Recommended
Noel Dobbin FIH

Room Tip: Ask for a room rear facing - views are to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noeldobbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We stayed at Ravenstone Lodge during April and were made to feel welcome from the moment of arrival. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Anthony, the manager, was the epitome of efficiency and friendliness. The room was clean and the views breathtaking. We ate in the Stables bar area for 2 nights and the food was first class. Any questions or advice we asked for was answered. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was equally superb with a very good menu.

As in previous reviews, we would totally endorse a stay here. The owners should feel very relieved they have such excellent staff and the hotel is in such reliable and experienced hands.

Room Tip: The four poster room was spacious and the views a delight
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace_Young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Second time of visiting Ravenstone Lodge and Anthony and Claire who were there the last time we visited are still there along with a few new members of staff all who are very friendly and make everyone feel welcome. We had a very nice room (room 7) which overlooked the garden, it was very clean and although the shower was small it was adequate for our needs.
The food we had there was very good although I was disappointed the crab which was on the specials board when we arrived was taken off before our dinner and I was looking forward to that. Also the specials did not change after that for the 2 nights we stayed and I found it difficult to choose something from the specials board or the menu although the chef did make me a beautiful steak which was not on the menu so if no there just ask, you never know. What we did eat was first class. Last year we received a 5% discount on our meals but that did not happen this year so although not cheap it was very tasty and the puddings were just as good.
Anyone who stays here can be sure of good food and friendly service so I would recommend to anyone, in fact I already have.

Room Tip: upgrade to what you can afford but even the small rooms are ok unless you intend to spend a lot of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank y0rkshirechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We enjoyed a great stay here, such a shame it was for just one night. Ant made us feel very welcome from the outset and continued to throughout our stay. Thank you!! Even when it became mad busy with the restaurant on overdrive, he still took the time to make sure we were happy. Rob your food is to die for, melt in the mouth. Our room was lovely and clean with the most amazing views. And Ant, thanks for making us feel special. We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoannaEllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.0 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,019 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
3.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,568 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
577 reviews
22.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenstone Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Lodge Hotel

Property: Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Address: Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenstone Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Lodge is a converted 19th Century stables & lodge with many original features including the stables themselves which are now the bar. Situated at the foot of Ullock Pike close to Skiddaw with views towards Bassenthwaite Lake and the Northern Fells we are perfectly positioned to explore the Northern Lake District.Ravenstone Lodge is a privately small hotel with just 9 bedrooms and because of this we can provide a uniquely personal service and when you stay with us you are not just a room number but are our guests in the true meaning of the word. Because of this many return time and time again, maybe requesting their favourite room or that a particular dish be put on the menu. Food is very important to us and our philosophy is very simple, top quality locally sourced ingredients cooked to order by our resident chef with sufficient choice to satisfy all tastes.We look forward to welcoming you to Ravenstone Lodge.Mike Cornish - Proprietor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ravenstone Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing