We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing, friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
sunderland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing, friendly hotel”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed in luxury room 9 which was a lovely large room, has two seats, huge flat screen tv, tea & coffee, trouser press, pack of tissues! The bed is enormous and we are used to sleeping in a kingsize! Spotlessly clean. Fab views and huge wet room with lovely bath and shower. Room service if you want it for a small charge, the owners have certainly thought about everything you might need! There's a small restaurant and an informal stables bar, relaxing conservatory and outside terrace which catches the last of the sun on an evening. We ate in the stables bistro, the meal was freshly made and delicious. Breakfast was also lovely, although as often so, did feel a little awkward..a little radio/music would probably fix that in the breakfast room. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would return sometime in future.

Room Tip: Luxury room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christiner476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    105
    26
    8
    4
See reviews for
46
400
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed here for 5 days, having found the hotel online. It did not disappoint and we enjoyed our stay very much. Our room was the largest on offer and was very comfortable, clean, spacious and nicely furnished with plenty storage space. It had a good view over the grounds. The ensuite was very modern with a wet room shower. Only trivial thing I would say would be a box of tissues In the room would be a good touch. The owner and staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. The food was excellent, both in the bistro and the restaurant. So much so that we ate in the hotel each night, when normally we would try different restaurants in the vicinity. All food we had, both dinners and breakfast were of good quality, locally sourced and very good value. The bread was freshly baked and delicious. We will return, hopefully in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed here for a bank holiday weekend and this was our first time to the Lake District. We arrived to the Lodge and were excited as most reviews were brilliant and the locations looked amazing. What we saw when we arrived was lovely and the grounds are great but thats where it all sort of stopped.

The room although a good size was noisy, boring and the bathroom very average. We could hear almost everything next door and didn't help they were a rough couple looking to get boozed every night. We could hear all noises from the kitchen and the window was so small we had basically no view.

Breakfast was average again, although great portion and great menu, the food was poorly cooked. The room although nicely finished is crammed and the atmosphere is awkward and you don't get the peaceful country feel at all.

The prices are O.K for what they say the give you but the experience doesn't match up. The bar at the time smelt like a toilet that had just been cleaned with bleach and we didn't go in there.

All and all quite disappointing and I would not recommend, I feel you could get more for the same price which is not high just not good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwijared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Excellent room food and hospitality from a very friendly and helpful owner
After a poor start to our holiday in a different hotel Ravenstone Lodge was a real haven and a very lucky find
All the staff were particularly helpful and helped us to have a memorable tie . We shallreturn as soon as possible

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derekbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had a great stay. Welcoming without being intrusive; high quality but not snobbish; breakfast maybe the best i've had in a hotel and evening meal was excellent quality and good value. The setting was second to none 10 minutes from keswick but a really peaceful country setting.

Only 9 rooms so intimate and personal service but as i say allow a great degree of privacy.

We paid for the superior room which did not disappoint and worth the extra money.

A great place to stay and worth a vist we will be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alunited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay here. we were made to feel really welcome and enjoyed our stay. The hotel was having problems with a disappearing chef, they did everything they could to resolve the problem even putting on a BBQ for people.
would recommend a stay here as it is comfortable and home from home atmosphere, with wonderful views.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Having stayed at Ravenstone Lodge last year and been totally satisfied we booked for three nights on our way back from Mull. Our first surprise was NO Anthony,Sadly he seems to have moved on. We were greeted instead by the owner/manager? who showed us to our room and left us to settle in. That evening we had dinner in the restaurant and we were well looked after by a young man from Spain. Very good, very efficient, who did his utmost to pleased and see every one was well looked after. However throughout our stay there were ominous rumblings from the kitchen which created a tense atmosphere among the staff and made us uncomfortable. I do not know what the chefs problem was but it needs sorting out quickly. He certainly leaves a lot to be desired when it comes to customer service. When asked, politely by the waiter if he could see that some diners had their meals within the hour, as they were going out his reply for all to hear was `That`s not my problem` Shame as he really is a talented man and produced great meals but what a terrible attitude.Felt terribly sorry for the waiter who tried so very hard to please but got no back up from the chef at all .

Room Tip: Ask for signature double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.1 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,044 reviews
22.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
456 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
2.4 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenstone Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Lodge Hotel

Property: Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Address: Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenstone Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Lodge is a converted 19th Century stables & lodge with many original features including the stables themselves which are now the bar. Situated at the foot of Ullock Pike close to Skiddaw with views towards Bassenthwaite Lake and the Northern Fells we are perfectly positioned to explore the Northern Lake District.Ravenstone Lodge is a privately small hotel with just 9 bedrooms and because of this we can provide a uniquely personal service and when you stay with us you are not just a room number but are our guests in the true meaning of the word. Because of this many return time and time again, maybe requesting their favourite room or that a particular dish be put on the menu. Food is very important to us and our philosophy is very simple, top quality locally sourced ingredients cooked to order by our resident chef with sufficient choice to satisfy all tastes.We look forward to welcoming you to Ravenstone Lodge.Mike Cornish - Proprietor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ravenstone Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing