We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From Home to Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We booked 2 nights in this hotel just to find that Hotel.com didn't actually booked the room for despite receiving a confirmation ref. This is a good lesson you guys ' do not book with Hotel.com'.
back to this lovely place. This is a truly enjoyable place to stay in. very friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast was one the best we have had. Mike, the owner, couldn't do more to help us. Everything about this place says ' you are at home'. Great location and very accessible. well recommended place. Go there and enjoy it.

Room Tip: Pay extra and stay in room 9. fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Villa57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

We booked Ravenstone Lodge after recommendations and the setting did not disappoint. The room was fine, although bathroom a little tired. Breakfast was great, with lots of choice on the menu. However I dont know if there was a problem with a chef but the bar menu was poor and the food equally disappoining. The restaurant was closed Mon and Tues so we ate out after our Mon experience, and did not try the restaurant on Wed.
The staff were very friendly and helpful so I hope the problem is a temporary one.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed in luxury room 9 which was a lovely large room, has two seats, huge flat screen tv, tea & coffee, trouser press, pack of tissues! The bed is enormous and we are used to sleeping in a kingsize! Spotlessly clean. Fab views and huge wet room with lovely bath and shower. Room service if you want it for a small charge, the owners have certainly thought about everything you might need! There's a small restaurant and an informal stables bar, relaxing conservatory and outside terrace which catches the last of the sun on an evening. We ate in the stables bistro, the meal was freshly made and delicious. Breakfast was also lovely, although as often so, did feel a little awkward..a little radio/music would probably fix that in the breakfast room. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would return sometime in future.

Room Tip: Luxury room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christiner476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed here for 5 days, having found the hotel online. It did not disappoint and we enjoyed our stay very much. Our room was the largest on offer and was very comfortable, clean, spacious and nicely furnished with plenty storage space. It had a good view over the grounds. The ensuite was very modern with a wet room shower. Only trivial thing I would say would be a box of tissues In the room would be a good touch. The owner and staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. The food was excellent, both in the bistro and the restaurant. So much so that we ate in the hotel each night, when normally we would try different restaurants in the vicinity. All food we had, both dinners and breakfast were of good quality, locally sourced and very good value. The bread was freshly baked and delicious. We will return, hopefully in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed here for a bank holiday weekend and this was our first time to the Lake District. We arrived to the Lodge and were excited as most reviews were brilliant and the locations looked amazing. What we saw when we arrived was lovely and the grounds are great but thats where it all sort of stopped.

The room although a good size was noisy, boring and the bathroom very average. We could hear almost everything next door and didn't help they were a rough couple looking to get boozed every night. We could hear all noises from the kitchen and the window was so small we had basically no view.

Breakfast was average again, although great portion and great menu, the food was poorly cooked. The room although nicely finished is crammed and the atmosphere is awkward and you don't get the peaceful country feel at all.

The prices are O.K for what they say the give you but the experience doesn't match up. The bar at the time smelt like a toilet that had just been cleaned with bleach and we didn't go in there.

All and all quite disappointing and I would not recommend, I feel you could get more for the same price which is not high just not good value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwijared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Excellent room food and hospitality from a very friendly and helpful owner
After a poor start to our holiday in a different hotel Ravenstone Lodge was a real haven and a very lucky find
All the staff were particularly helpful and helped us to have a memorable tie . We shallreturn as soon as possible

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derekbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had a great stay. Welcoming without being intrusive; high quality but not snobbish; breakfast maybe the best i've had in a hotel and evening meal was excellent quality and good value. The setting was second to none 10 minutes from keswick but a really peaceful country setting.

Only 9 rooms so intimate and personal service but as i say allow a great degree of privacy.

We paid for the superior room which did not disappoint and worth the extra money.

A great place to stay and worth a vist we will be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alunited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
0.1 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,090 reviews
22.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,693 reviews
3.8 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
502 reviews
17.2 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenstone Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Lodge Hotel

Address: Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range: £59 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenstone Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Lodge is a converted 19th Century stables & lodge with many original features including the stables themselves which are now the bar. Situated at the foot of Ullock Pike close to Skiddaw with views towards Bassenthwaite Lake and the Northern Fells we are perfectly positioned to explore the Northern Lake District.Ravenstone Lodge is a privately small hotel with just 9 bedrooms and because of this we can provide a uniquely personal service and when you stay with us you are not just a room number but are our guests in the true meaning of the word. Because of this many return time and time again, maybe requesting their favourite room or that a particular dish be put on the menu. Food is very important to us and our philosophy is very simple, top quality locally sourced ingredients cooked to order by our resident chef with sufficient choice to satisfy all tastes.We look forward to welcoming you to Ravenstone Lodge.Mike Cornish - Proprietor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Ravenstone Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing