We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really good”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We didn't stay at the hotel but went there for an evening meal in the Stables Bistro. Arrived to a warm welcome had drinks in the conservatory. There was some guests sitting out on the terrace with drinks and food. Our order was taken. The bistro is exactly what it says and the tables are arranged in what I would think was once was the stables The food was delicious all made in the kitchen by James. The ambience was very comfortable and we were made more than welcome without being OTT very professional without you noticing.. All in all it was such a great night. Had a quick look in the dining room it was so nice it would be lovely for a special meal. The restaurant has received an AA rosette so big congratulations. The owners and staff were just perfect. Will definitely go again

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chris6152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    107
    26
    8
    4
See reviews for
47
405
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights the room was very nice although the bathroom was in need of updating. The whole place was very clean.We liked the short walk from the hotel to the lake. The food was the best we have had and all the staff were very friendly.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Throughout our stay the staff were very friendly. We booked the signature room which was fantastic, huge bed, huge bathroom and a brilliant view of surrounding mountains. A trail is right on the lodges doorstep great for fellow explorers.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mstoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I can't fault this accommodation from the location to the owner and staff it was first class from arriving until departure. Completely recommend this establishment. The local gin and tonic is a must do. The food was perfect and served on a plate rather than a chopping board !

Room Tip: Perfect location for a romantic getaway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susang800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bures
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights and had a wonderful time. The views from our room were so beautiful. The food was of a very high standard and perfectly cooked. The staff were so lovely and couldn't be more helpful. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaz19640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We did not stay here but we visited to have a drink one night on the terrace. The atmosphere was so friendly and relaxing. The view is absolutely amazing. The hotel is extremely clean and well decorated. It is bright, light and airy. The other guests were friendly too. We decided to eat there the following evening. We were not disappointed by the food, high quality and full of flavour. We had venison and sea bass both meals cooked to perfection. We had three courses and drinks total was £80 which was reasonable given the quality. The only thing I would say is that at one point we were the only people dining and that was a bit strange. I believe some of the rooms are lovely but others are quite "standard." I would like to return and stay as you would feel so refreshed but only if the price was right. Location is also central for drives to Keswick, Ullswater and Cockermouth. All in all a place that is well worth considering for a weekend stay.

Room Tip: I believe no 6 and no9 are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariemacLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed two nights and couldn't have enjoyed it more. We had a wonderful room and truly loved the peace and tranquillity of the place. Wonderful views and everything was immaculate. The staff were down to earth whilst professional and seemed to do all they could to ensure our stay was perfect. Whilst it rained a lot, the hotel was warm and cosy, and I imagine in the sunshine the conservatory and terrace will be sublime.

Breakfast was fantastic, full English for me and eggs benedict for my good lady. Neither of us could fault either and there was plenty to help yourself to should the need arise, including the most beautiful fresh, warm crusty bread. I will say my full English is perhaps the best quality I've ever had.

The hotel has a great location with stunning views and is only a short drive away from Keswick and Cockermouth. The rest of the lakes is easily accessible too. Although there is nothing else on the doorstep, this turned out to be a real plus for us as we chose to eat in the restaurant.

In terms of quality, I really can't complain about the food. The portions were good, the presentation was great, and I have to say the prices are very honest. I include the wine here. Between us, over the two nights, we enjoyed fish pie, slow roasted pork belly, and turbot and prawn risotto. The prok was some of the tenderest meat I've had. The starters matched, beetroot tarte tatin with goats cheese moose delightful. And the puds were spot on too.

With just nine bedrooms we felt the hotel was small enough to be intimate without feeling lonely. The whole team did a cracking job with making is feel special. We will certainly return and if you're looking from an escape from the rat race with real honest food this ticks all the boxes. Perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
22.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,052 reviews
3.8 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,626 reviews
3.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
530 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenstone Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Lodge Hotel

Property: Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Address: Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenstone Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Lodge is a converted 19th Century stables & lodge with many original features including the stables themselves which are now the bar. Situated at the foot of Ullock Pike close to Skiddaw with views towards Bassenthwaite Lake and the Northern Fells we are perfectly positioned to explore the Northern Lake District.Ravenstone Lodge is a privately small hotel with just 9 bedrooms and because of this we can provide a uniquely personal service and when you stay with us you are not just a room number but are our guests in the true meaning of the word. Because of this many return time and time again, maybe requesting their favourite room or that a particular dish be put on the menu. Food is very important to us and our philosophy is very simple, top quality locally sourced ingredients cooked to order by our resident chef with sufficient choice to satisfy all tastes.We look forward to welcoming you to Ravenstone Lodge.Mike Cornish - Proprietor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ravenstone Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing