We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Staying at ravenstone lodge was the perfect start to our holiday in the lakes.
Mike and all his staff, were extremely helpful and friendly. The food was out of this world, thanks to the chefs James and Val. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anybody, and we will be definitely returning. Thanks guys for making our stay with you an amazing experience.

Adrian & Joanne
Burntwood
Staffs.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 683Adrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

My girlfriend Aileen and I had not visited the North Lakes before and having a liking for quieter more relaxed hotels we lucked on Ravenstone Lodge. We managed to get the last room for last weekend.
Having booked I then received a welcoming e-mail from Mike,our host for the weekend,with some information about the hotel. A lovely touch and indeed Mike was the perfect host. Charming,personable, highly proficient and informative he made us most welcome on arrival and we immediately felt at home.
Let me make it clear here. Ravenstone Lodge is a conversion from 3 cottages,a stables and a coach house. It is not a huge sprawling accommodation block with a catering facility and staff that can barely crack their faces. If that is what you want then look elsewhere. At Ravenstone you will find an unhurried,intimate atmosphere with lovely superior bedrooms that are spacious enough to meet ones needs. No ultra modern,double glazed boxy rooms here! Good old fashioned sash and case that can be cranked open to the max and afford great views towards Bassenthwaite Lake.
What really makes the hotel though is the food and the staff. Food first. A select menu prepared and cooked to the highest standard. This is a hotel that caters for those taking part in outdoor pursuits and who return with healthy appetites. Accordingly portions are generous and after two or three courses guests will feel suitably satisfied. All cooked fresh and most sourced locally every dish is a treat. The Coach House Restaurant is AA rosetted and there is also the Bistro which is the converted stables and has the bar. Before and after dinner sit and relax in the conservatory and enjoy the rain bouncing off the roof (!!) or sit outside on the terrace and take in the sounds and sights of the area round the hotel.
Breakfast is excellent. Fresh cooked and local it sets you up for the day. You wont need lunch! There is also a good continental choice so everybody is catered for. And the coffee is the best ever!
Mikes staff are a delight. Take time to chat to them. We got to know Val,Martin and Sharon (apologies for not knowing the rest of the names!). All the staff are attentive,non intrusive and more than happy to spend a few minutes having a chat to you. They are very easy to get on with and make such a pleasant change from the more formal customer service types.

How would I sum up the hotel? A bit like staying at a favourite aunt and uncles house where aunty is a great cook!! Give it a try. We will definately be back.

The bustling town of Keswick is only 10 mins away and plenty to do in the area.

Room Tip: Book a superior double but you are not going there to spend hours in a bedroom!! Superiors have grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramsay3268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is one of those place where you could enjoy the food and a drink on the terrace and just look at the mountain landscape of the lake district with all its charm. Sheep, horses, green hills and in our case sunshine. The food was amazing, and it was great to sit outside and enjoy a walk through the landscape and the sheep. The room was a bit out dated, but definitely had the necessities. The view from our room was fantastic and we would have liked to stay there longer. The hotel has a restaurant and a bar which is placed in the old stables. The food and drinks are also served outside on the wonderful terrace and also inside.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rombout K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I travel a lot and all over the world and rarely do I find as good of service as we had here. The owner, Mike, was an amazing host and the entire staff was extremely attentive and pleasant. The chefs were amazing and the view is wonderful. We stayed in two different rooms #1 which was on the back corner with a wonderful view. We moved to #4 when we decided to extend our stay. The room was smaller but still quite nice. The entire stay was very peaceful and enjoyable. It's not far from the beautiful lakes and some wonderful hikes. I would stay here again

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

What really makes this place is the location, staff and fantastic food. We were made to feel more than welcome from the moment we arrived. The staff were attentive and friendly. We stayed for 2 nights as we were walking the Skiddaw massif. The brilliant location meant that we could walk straight from the door - a real bonus! We ate in the Coach House the first evening which was more than adequate but this was really was surpassed on the second night in the restaurant. The food was superb. We eat out as least twice per month when we visit the Lakes and can honestly say that the restaurant food was on a par with trendy a la carte restaurants in Bowness. If we had any suggestions for improvement it would be a makeover of the bathroom which was a bit outdated and had a small amount of mould on the ceiling. That said, it was scrupulously clean. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helvellynfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was our first time staying here, I'm so glad we did. The owner Mike made us feel so wecome as soon as we arrived. As did all of the lovely people who work there. The hotel is exceptionally clean, and very comfortable. The food is some of the best I've ever had. My only complaint is I had to come home. We will definitely be returning and staying longer than the three nights that we stayed for this time. Thank you Mike and the team, can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tummertott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We didn't stay at the hotel but went there for an evening meal in the Stables Bistro. Arrived to a warm welcome had drinks in the conservatory. There was some guests sitting out on the terrace with drinks and food. Our order was taken. The bistro is exactly what it says and the tables are arranged in what I would think was once was the stables The food was delicious all made in the kitchen by James. The ambience was very comfortable and we were made more than welcome without being OTT very professional without you noticing.. All in all it was such a great night. Had a quick look in the dining room it was so nice it would be lovely for a special meal. The restaurant has received an AA rosette so big congratulations. The owners and staff were just perfect. Will definitely go again

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank chris6152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
22.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,088 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
488 reviews
3.1 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenstone Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstone Lodge Hotel

Address: Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range: £70 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenstone Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstone Lodge is a converted 19th Century stables & lodge with many original features including the stables themselves which are now the bar. Situated at the foot of Ullock Pike close to Skiddaw with views towards Bassenthwaite Lake and the Northern Fells we are perfectly positioned to explore the Northern Lake District.Ravenstone Lodge is a privately small hotel with just 9 bedrooms and because of this we can provide a uniquely personal service and when you stay with us you are not just a room number but are our guests in the true meaning of the word. Because of this many return time and time again, maybe requesting their favourite room or that a particular dish be put on the menu. Food is very important to us and our philosophy is very simple, top quality locally sourced ingredients cooked to order by our resident chef with sufficient choice to satisfy all tastes.We look forward to welcoming you to Ravenstone Lodge.Mike Cornish - Proprietor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Ravenstone Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing