We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bassenthwaite, Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
AdamHutch
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice cottage”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Good location close to Keswick,
bedrooms comfortable & nice large lounge-diner. Good views from small back garden.

Could do with wifi to bring up to requirements of a family.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2016
Thank You for the review. We are aware that wifi is needed. We did get a new line into both of our cottages last year, however it failed to work with 2 providers! The good news is all wifi in the village is being updated to 'superfast' at the moment, so we hopefully will have a full wifi service within the next few months.
Chris & Viv Bell
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chutneyly...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage,well equipt,clean and comfortable. With a few tweaks it would be very good.
More information required ie. refuse collection days. Wrong info on advert ( states dishwasher & no washing machine).
We had a great holiday with the best weather ever. Enjoyed sitting in the garden in the sun inspite of the constant barking of Billy,the German Shepherd next door but one. His owner's claim was "that he's telling you to go away". Maybe it's her that isn't happy living next to holiday lets.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2016
Thank You for your 'honest' review. We are pleased that on they whole you enjoyed your stay at our cottage. With regards to refuse collection, we don't rely on guests to put the bins out, as after all 'you are on holiday!' the bins are emptied by us every weekend in to the trade bins at the side of the property and these are collected from there. On checking the bins on your departure, they didn't seem to be full at all! We are sorry that 'Billy' the German Shepherd's barked
a lot during your stay, but this is the first time anybody has commented on this and on the whole he is quite friendly to visiting dogs and their owners. We have updated the advert on line to incorporate a washing machine instead of a dishwasher, we had changed and was an oversight on our part.
We hope you visit the North Lakes again soon.
Kind Regards
Chris & Viv Bell
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect.”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you,
for such a lovely stay. Although the weather was not at its best I can honestly say the cottage was. It was perfect in every way & was all it promised to be, in fact better than the pictures. The views were lovely & our stay was quiet and peaceful. Just what we had hoped for.
We didn't get to meet Viv & Chris but they made sure the Cottage was toasty & clean for our arrival on a wet cold day. They kept in touch through e-mail & txt making sure that we had everything we needed & nothing was to much trouble. The cottage was very well equipped , including coffee, tea & sugar with us really just having to bring fresh milk.
A perfect mini break, we would most certainly recommend & hope to make a return visit ourselves sometime in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2016
Thank You for your wonderful review! We are really please that your stay was an enjoyable one and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Best Regards
Chris & Viv Bell
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoeKP
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
“An excellent holiday cottage, set in a fantastic rural setting...”
Reviewed 14 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at the Sun Inn holiday cottage during October half-term 2015.
We stayed in this cottage with our family, friends and our cocker spaniel.
We found this cottage to be very well equipped. This had everything we needed to cater for a large group. Plenty of plates, cups, glasses, cutlery etc.
Our 10year old loved the bunk bed room.
We found the towels and bedding spotless. The travel cot and highchair provided was also in an excellent condition.
The cottage is set in a lovely quiet village, really nice to get away from everything. There is a larger village about 10min drive, where you will find more amenities- Aldi, banks, boots, few more shops and more pubs.
Great visitor information booklet in the cottage.
We had a very warm welcome from the owner Chris, who had popped over to check we had arrived ok, the cottage was nice and warm, just what we needed.
During our stay we visited whinlatter forest park, which is only a 20-25min drive away.
We also took a trip through to bassenthwaite lake which was about 10-15min drive away.
We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend this cottage.
We would consider staying here again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic village location. Friendly local people.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Dec 2015
Thank You for yet another great review! We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Chris & Viv Bell
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taichi100
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Four Night Stay in Sun Inn Cottage No. 1”
Reviewed 17 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Loved the area and the cottage. Both were just perfect for us especially since the weather was good.
We normally eat in so although the cottage was very comfortable and well designed we found the kitchen equipment a bit lacking. Since the cottage sleeps 6 there needs to be more saucepans and casserole dishes. Also 4 of us needed to eat French style due to lack of cutlery. Something for the owner to consider

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of internet/telephone access
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2015
Thank You for yet another great review, We hope to welcome you back again soon! We have taken on board your suggestions re: cutlery dishes etc. and will add more, however we have had large families in the cottage and they seemed to manage! With regards to wifi, we had a new line put into the property at the beginning of the year, however due to the location/size of the telephone exchange, we don't always get a 100% reliable service, something which is both very frustrating for us but out of our hands for the moment!
Chris & Viv Bell
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin B
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect peaceful stay!”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Sun Inn Cottage with friends over a bank holiday. We wanted somewhere peaceful and relaxing but within reach of places of interest which is exactly what we got. We also wanted somewhere to get together for Eurovision night so a decent sized TV with comfortable sofas was also important.

The cottage itself is surprisingly spacious and plenty big enough for the four of us. The living area was comfortable and the dining area big enough for our Sunday evening meal. Additional dining could be taken in the kitchen which was also a nice size. The two main bedrooms were big enough although we used the small bunk bed room to store our bags. The decent sized bathroom had a great shower which was nice.

The best part was the views from the back. Nothing but rolling fields and the garden with outdoor seating was an added bonus.

There are not many facilities around, certainly not within walking distance but Cockermouth is a lovely little village and only a short drive. There's a Sainsbury's just 15 mins drive too so civilisation is not too far away. The coastal town of Whitehaven is about a 30 min drive and so is Carlisle if you fancy a days shopping.

If you get the weather you'd find it difficult to find somewhere better but the cottage is spacious and comfortable if it rains. We would definitely recommend Sun Inn Cottage and are hoping to visit again before the summer is out (assuming it's not booked up!).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views.
Liked least: Internet wasn't working in the area while we were there but this was the whole area not just the cottage.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2015
Thank You for our first review, pleased you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will see you again soon! Best Regards Chris & Viv Bell
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storytell...
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing